We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good cup of coffee.”
Review of Dirt Cowboy Cafe

Dirt Cowboy Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Hanover
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Individually brewed coffees. Full espresso menu. Coffees roasted daily. Home-made pastries and desserts. Light-fare lunch menu. Home-made ice creams and gelato. Home-made confections. Large smoothie menu made with our own frozen yogurt and fresh fruit. Juice Bar.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really good cup of coffee.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stopped here to get a cup of coffee and a treat for the ride home after a weekend away together. We both commented several times as we drove out of town, "this is a really good cup of coffee!".
The pastry (brioche with fruit?) was also very, very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Owner at Dirt Cowboy Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your praise. The pastry was most likely our "vol-aux-vent" which, like all our pastries is made from scratch in our bakery and baked fresh every morning. It is a brioche-style danish dough with a tablespoon of vanilla pastry cream topped with either blueberries, raspberries or blackberries. "Vol-aux-vent" means "fly with the wind." Done correctly, the dough should be so light and airy that a wind could take them.
The coffee, of course, is exceptionally fresh since we roast our own 5 days a week and then each cup is brewed individually, producing and exceptionally smooth yet strong and flavorful coffee.
Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    44
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The best coffee, muffins and chocolates in town. Great for morning or afternoon pick-me up. Best location too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

When we want a great cappuccino we come here whenever we're in Hanover.Highly recommended.Nice atmosphere

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Quiche!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

They had good coffee, great sweet and savory pastry choices, and excellent staff. They were so friendly and the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
553 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Weak coffee, friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very weak coffee. Very friendly staff. Great location. Prompt service. Very tasty pastries. Good prices on bulk coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Owner at Dirt Cowboy Cafe, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback and thanks for noticing our friendly staff. Sorry that your coffee was weak on your last visit. As you hopefully know, we roast the coffee ourselves and brew each cup ordered individually, which (if done correctly) makes a very good and usually quite strong coffee... but it is a very manual process with a few variables involved and sometimes we do goof. It might have been the coffee measure, the rate of pour or even the fineness of the grind. Clearly, something went wrong with your cup, but please believe me that our coffee normally is quite strong. Our tourist customers from Europe usually remark that ours is the only real coffee they've had in the States (they like it pretty strong). I hope you give us another chance and would like to make that more likely by offering your next cup on the house... please contact me at dirtcowboycafe@aol.com so I can take care of you.
PS Since we do brew each cup individually, we also can easily make your coffee extra strong, so just order it that way next time. Again, sorry for the bad luck.
Sincerely, Tom -Owner, Dirt Cowboy Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirt Cowboy Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dirt Cowboy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing