We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Indian!”
Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
Ranked #20 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Indian!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Chicken mango and lamb vandoola were my experimental test for my trip to jewel of India.
Walking in, I noticed nice decor and the restaurant was playing nice Indian music. We were given a couple pieces of fried curry biscuit while we were waiting for our food which was very good.
My favorite meal was the mango chicken. I can really taste the mango sauce in the curry. The lamb was okay. I think the mango just overpowers the lamb. It's not too big of a plate but a good value for lunch at around $7 a plate.
Overall a good experience.
I would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2muchdrunkennoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    14
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, unpleasant service”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Indian food is probably the last ethnic cuisine American people will be exposed to. Partly due to its availability and reputation. Visually it really isn't much to look at. That being said, the flavors are wonderful and unexpected. It really is something different and worth trying.
Jewel in Hanover does the food part well, although appetizer was a fried sampler that wasn't great, main dish curries were delicious. Service is functional at best. Food came out promptly, but our server was curt and unfriendly, barely uttering a word the entire time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gtpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westchester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reliable Indian food”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Good Indian food in a college town, down a back street so less crowded than the main street places. Nice and quiet, even romantic if what you want is the chance to talk to each other.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank marysidneyherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I would recommend this place for indian food. Their food and service is awesome. I go there more than once a week. I am almost addicted to their food because it tastes wonderful people there are very kind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sung Je K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food is OK, service unbelievably awful”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Nowhere else within 60 miles probably to get Indian food, so if you must have it, get take out. But don't dare call before 4:30 pm or they will literally yell at you that they are on break and then hang up, even though the restaurant is open 11:30am-10pm.
Unpleasant at best service in the restaurant. I lived in India for several years and can say this is not a cultural misunderstanding at all; these are just resentful business owners/staff who clearly wish they were doing almost anything else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing