We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorely Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Lovely setting and above average breakfast, but the rest was very disappointing. Shabby and dirty room (White Room) and bathroom, with bugs on the floor. I find this B and B quite overpriced and definitely in need of refurbishing. The photos are deceiving.

Room Tip: Avoid the White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I have made a hobby out of touring the northeast one Bed & Breakfast at a time and Trumbull House is right up there on the list of excellence.

The location is secluded enough to have the windows open without having to wake up to a semi or a drunk college student (Dartmouth is nearby) but yet it's a quick drive into town. By my standards no such drive is needed. The grounds are beautiful, there's a walking path through the trees, and the breakfasts are so to die for that next time I come here I'm skipping dinner altogether. The rooms are also so private and romantic that our favorite activity was to look at the leaves changing from the comfort of our bed.

Highly recommended for all the reasons above and the bonus is that it is run by the nicest family south of the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kklone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This Bed and Breakfast needs improvement. The room was musty, the decor antequated (and not in a quaint way), and some things weren't maintained. The family is nice and the breakfasts are good but there is an atmosphere of casualness that is not appropriate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

First let me say that the grounds are lovely, the family welcoming, the breakfasts outstanding and generous. These things all add up to a wonderful stay in general. The house is 5 minutes outside of Hanover, an easy drive that leads you through some lovely areas.

What needs to be addressed is an overall need for a VERY deep clean. Our room was musty, cobwebby and as we found out, had dog hair all over the carpet (it was all over our black canvas luggage). It also had a few ants, lots of spiders and wasps nests all around our patio.

We fell under the charms of this B&B after an evening, but initially were pretty unhappy with the place. It's billing as a luxurious home is just not accurate. The rooms are what is sometimes termed as "inn-style", meaning shabby and quaint. That is definitely not the same as luxurious.

The family we dealt with were absolutely charming and provided an incredible array of breakfast selections that we've not seen at other B&B's and that should be their selling point for travelers. That, and the ability to step out and sit by the pond and watch the turtles and dragonflies.

Attention should be paid to a few key spots to really provide what they are selling in order to avoid disappointing their guests. I couldn't recommend this place without several caveats, and that makes me sad to say.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarybnb, Owner at Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

We took this review to heart as most of our guest reviews praise the cleanliness of our rooms .

These guests must have been in our Guest Cottage, a separate building behind the main house, and it is the only room in which we allow dogs. We have replaced the vacuum back there, as there is no excuse for dog hairs! The carpet has been professionally cleaned (we do this once a year anyway but are increasing the cleaning schedule for the cottage to twice a year). Musty and cobwebby is most unusual and our wonderful housekeeper was aghast at those comments. I'm sure that she will never allow it to happen again.

We always appreciate constructive criticism and appreciate the reviewer's positive comments as well. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

A relaxing and comfortable place to stay. We were in the Terra Cotta room on the third floor. The room was clean (as was the entire house) and the queen size bed was quite comfortable. There is a cozy sitting room on the first floor with a fireplace, games, books, maps of the area, and DVDs to take to your room. The property is beautifully landscaped with a large lawn surrounding a small pond. There were many flowers in bloom which made it a wonderful setting to relax with a cocktail and read a book. The bugs do come out at night, so take advantage of it during the daytime. The breakfast was amazing! We were actually given a menu that included pancakes, French toast, eggs cooked to order, omlets, and more. A fruit cup, juice and pastry are also included.
The owner was very gracious and intent to make your stay enjoyable. Overall, a wonderful experience.

One caution - Although we did not need it, the room did not have air conditioning. So you may want to check if they install a window unit during the warm weather.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank duke43j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilarybnb, Owner at Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Many thanks for your kind comments!

The window air conditioners were installed in all the bedrooms earlier this week.

Hurry back, please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Hillary and her Daughter Margaret Pridgen are the utmost when it comes to courtesy. The Blue room was very nice. We have stayed here previously in the Terra Cotta Room. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is the greatest. You have your choice of several freshly made items and it starts out with fresh fruit and scones or muffins. There is great value and qulaity for the price you pay. A stay here is an exquisite time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trainman413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I sometimes approach B&Bs with dread. Over-the-top decor, intrusive questions...the B&B that offers a warm welcome while remaining 100% professional is a rare gem. In my recent stay, I found The Trumbull House a haven: my room was spacious and beautifully decorated; the food, spectacular; the setting, park-like. What I liked best, however, was that I was given ample support, yet I was allowed to set my own pace and style. It takes very special hosts to be able to anticipate guests' needs and provide them discretely and generously. A class act all around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RPF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
3.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
477 reviews
3 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
17 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 40 Etna Rd, Hanover, NH 03755-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range: £175 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trumbull House B&B offers luxury country lodging just four miles from Dartmouth College and three miles from the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. The first and finest B&B in Hanover has six spacious rooms with private baths, sumptuous breakfasts served when you wish, 16 acres with trails linking to the Appalachian Trail, and free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing