We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Nelson NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have been staying at the Trumbull House regularly for two years and have always enjoyed the stay. The rooms are nicely furnished, spacious, and the beds are comfortable. My favorite room is the "White Room" which received an inexplicably poor review recently, which I disagree with. The room is very appealing and has always been clean during my visits, not shabby or dirty as mentioned in the other review. Really can't say enough about the place - the hosts are friendly and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable. I would recommend this as the best place to stay in the Hanover area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
50
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We had been traveling all day and as we usually do, it was by the "seat of the pants". We arrived in Lebanon, NH and started chaecking around. Called Trumbull house first. . We were quoted a reduced price for the only available room, a suite. It was $206 which was a good bit more than their cheapest room, of $139 so we called around. Days Inn was only about $50 less, smoking only, and no breakfast so we opted for Trumbell house. Good choice. Finding it was a bit tough because street signs aren't a high priority in the north east, but I digress. We arrived and it was picture perfect. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. If you are expecting cutting edge chic elegance this isn't it, but if you want the genuine New England experience, stay here. Our hostess recommened several restaurants in Hanover but we wound up eating at Molly's. The carrot cake there is amazing. We ate on it for three days. Pizza was good too! When we left Texas it was 106 degrees, dry and dusty. When we arrived at Trumbull house, it was 60 degrees. cloudy and misting. How wonderful! We slept with the windows open. The babbling "brook" across the street had more water in it than the Pecos river. Open windows, down comforter: we slept like rocks, but not without romance! Did not get a chance to use the Jacuzzi tub, though. The next morning broke clear and blue. Breakfast was stellar! A menu that included among other items, scambled eggs and smoked salmon. The grounds were immaculate and I would have enjoyed staying longer. Feel free to negotiate price in the off season, but it's worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblair441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I don't know what the negative reviewers are thinking...I stayed in the Terra Cotta room, on the third floor. Very spacious, lots of windows, squeaky clean, comfortable bed and a great breakfast with lots of choices...what more could you want?! Situated on a back road near Hanover Center 15-minutes from Dartmouth. Lovely grounds, rushing brook across the street. Only negative is very poor cell service...your text will go, but probably not your phone call. Excellent wireless, and a shared computer (on the second floor landing). Highly recommend for anyone visiting the area who wants a nice alternative to a boring hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Trumbull House B&B. The room I had was great, clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBrooks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Lovely setting and above average breakfast, but the rest was very disappointing. Shabby and dirty room (White Room) and bathroom, with bugs on the floor. I find this B and B quite overpriced and definitely in need of refurbishing. The photos are deceiving.

Room Tip: Avoid the White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I have made a hobby out of touring the northeast one Bed & Breakfast at a time and Trumbull House is right up there on the list of excellence.

The location is secluded enough to have the windows open without having to wake up to a semi or a drunk college student (Dartmouth is nearby) but yet it's a quick drive into town. By my standards no such drive is needed. The grounds are beautiful, there's a walking path through the trees, and the breakfasts are so to die for that next time I come here I'm skipping dinner altogether. The rooms are also so private and romantic that our favorite activity was to look at the leaves changing from the comfort of our bed.

Highly recommended for all the reasons above and the bonus is that it is run by the nicest family south of the White Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kklone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This Bed and Breakfast needs improvement. The room was musty, the decor antequated (and not in a quaint way), and some things weren't maintained. The family is nice and the breakfasts are good but there is an atmosphere of casualness that is not appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
3.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
3.0 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hanover Lebanon
6.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 40 Etna Rd, Hanover, NH 03755-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trumbull House B&B offers luxury country lodging just four miles from Dartmouth College and three miles from the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. The first and finest B&B in Hanover has six spacious rooms with private baths, sumptuous breakfasts served when you wish, complimentary 24-hour access to our Business Center and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing