We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel was just renovated so the rooms were quite luxurious. Service is terrific, and the location is right in the middle of Dartmouth campus. Food in the restaurant was OK, but it's very close to a number of terrific restaurants and a fabulous coffee house just across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts of our newly renovated property. We are thrilled you had the opportunity to experience the fresh and exciting changes. We are saddened that you did not receive the exceptional dining experience guests have come to expect from our on-site restaurant. While there are terrific dining options just steps away, we hope you'll consider dining with us again. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back to the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised by our stay. Very nice room with comfortable pull out sofa bed and king bed . Nicely decorated, as were the common areas. Also, the hotel is right on Dartmouth's campus, so super convenient!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your generous review of our Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. We are always happy to read when our convenient location works out perfectly for a guest's visit. Our staff will be pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay. We hope you'll visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Yes it is expensive compared to some of the other properties in and around Hanover, but it is definitely worth the splurge. Nothing beats its location, which overlooks the Green of the Dartmouth campus and is just a few short steps from the Dartmouth Coach bus. Freshly decorated rooms. Convenient workout room in the basement. Eager to please service all add to the mix.

Room Tip: If price isn't an issue, go for a Campus view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review and loyalty to our Inn. We are humbled by your kind words and greatly appreciate your enthusiasm for all that our Hanover Inn has to offer. We hope we can continue to welcome you back in the future, as it's always a pleasure to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I went to the Inn for a 4 day (3 night) conference. At $290 (incl tax) per night I thought it was absurd. Minimal amenities, stale odor to pillows, tiny bathroom where door didn't close properly. No view. $20/day for parking. Wi-Fi was the only perfect element!
The conference part at the hotel was excellent and the restaurant is terrific. But I don't think I'll stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank LT62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent experience with us. It is disappointing to know that we have missed an opportunity to make your stay with us more enjoyable. Many of our accommodations offer scenic views of Hanover and Dartmouth and we are saddened to learn that we did not have the opportunity to relocate you to a more suitable room. We always strive to ensure that each of our guests enjoy a positive experience here in Hanover.

If we have the pleasure to welcome you back, please don’t hesitate to share your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Yes, the Hanover Inn will cost a little (ok, maybe a lot) more than the various properties in Lebanon NH by the freeway. But the experience is well worth it.

For starters, Dartmouth is right outside your door so if you have a student there, it's ridiculously convenient. Our room overlooked the green/college and was a corner jr suite - you'll need that if you want a pull-out sofa which we did.

They manage to take the quaint New England vibe to a tasteful, contemporary, luxurious level. The property's online pics belie the feeling you get when you're there. I noticed that the room furnishings didn't have that chain look or feel so I turned over a chair to see where they were from - handcrafted by Pompanoosuc Mills of Vermont. Love touches like that. Bathrooms are small but beautifully finished with exceptional amenities.

Didn't get a chance to use the workout room (yes, they have one) because spectacular running/walking/biking is right outside the front door. So is Main Street shopping. So is Dartmouth's Hood Museum with its wing of Picasso's and so much more.

We were fortunate to have a package that included breakfast in the small dining room. Honestly, it was one of the finest omelets I've ever had. Perhaps it's the locally sourced ingredients? I don't know but it was excellent. It's obviously not like Lou's - the famous breakfast place around the corner which is a must-do - but the food and ambience were really good. Dinner at Pine in the hotel also should be on your list. Hanover has a number of good to excellent restaurants. I've eaten at Pine twice now and the food/ambience/service has been exceptional.

You may be tempted to try to find parking yourself and avoid the valet fees. Don't. Parking in Hanover is very limited and they are extremely good at writing tickets. You've been warned!

Hope you enjoy the Hanover Inn as much as we did.

Room Tip: Try to overlook the campus if at all possible. It's quite beautiful. Ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your sincere appreciation towards our amenities and the special touches that we provide to our guests. We take great pride in our property and service and are always grateful when a guest takes the time to acknowledge our extra efforts. Our season-fresh ingredients guarantee a unique and memorable dining experience at our Inn and your encouraging feedback is very much appreciated. You have summed up an experience that we hope each of our guests has while with us and we hope we’ll have the pleasure to welcome you back to our Hanover Inn at Dartmouth sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We made our reservation just days before our arrival, to celebrate our already late wedding anniversary. Misty/Reservations booked us into a fantastic room we previously stayed in on the fifth floor. A corner room, with a terrific view of The Green, Webster Library, Main Street, and the hills of Vermont. All these amenities without the noise you would think would be present on a main street. The general manager, Mr. Mellia, greeted us in the lobby, and spent time talking to us. While we didn't have dinner in the relatively new Pine Room, we enjoyed cocktails and a light snack there in the afternoon ... both terrific. Spent the day walking, shopping and enjoying the quaintness of this classic New England town. Upon our return from a night out, a terrific bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room ... a nice touch for our anniversary. Room was spacious and extremely comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was fantastic ... the omelet was simply perfect. In addition to Misty, other staff were all very friendly, especially Carlene & Doug. Can't wait to return to the Hanover Inn for another stay.

Room Tip: Wouldn't stay anywhere but the corner suite! Street noise does not impact stay ... and we kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Above-the-Notch-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for celebrating your wedding anniversary with us at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. It is always pleasing to know when we can meet or exceed our guests' expectations, especially during such a momentous occasion. We appreciate your beautiful description of our corner room view and central location. We are happy to know that our staff was able to make the day extra special with a complimentary bottle of wine and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here 1 night to visit family. This place has been beautifully remodeled. Lobby impressive, rooms nicely appointed. Our regular dbl/dbl room was spacious, and had a large workdesk. Wifi was fast [fast enough to stream video online]. Service exemplary; the doormen greet you nicely on your way in our out of the hotel. From what I understand, the college paid for the renovations but operations have been turned over to a private company. We did not eat in the restaurant, so can’t comment on that. We also didn’t use the valet; we were there on a Saturday night, and Hanover police won’t ticket on Sundays so we parked right across the street. Complimentary coffee service [unsure if this is daily each a.m.]. Dartmouth alums currently in the hotel are listed on a board near the elevators. There was private security on our floor who looked us over; likely some foreign dignitary was around.

Location is ideal; the hotel borders the big green quad. You’re in the middle of campus. Athletic fields are a long walk. This is definitely ‘the’ place to stay in Hanover. The hotel's exterior hints that its an old hotel, but it is brand new inside. Our one complaint is that the streets were noisy at night, and the student’s party noise [from bars across the hotel the way our room faced] was clearly audible through the closed window. Not the hotel’s fault, they can’t control the noise on the street.

Room Tip: Might be slightly cheaper to use one of the online travel engines rather than the hotel's websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT-Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hanover Inn for your overnight visit in Hanover. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated property and regret if any aspect of your stay was amiss. We never like to learn when a guest experiences noise disruptions during a visit and hope these disturbances were minimal. It is encouraging to know that you consider us to be the best place to stay in Hanover. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy a fine dining experience in our PINE restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range: £131 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing