We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fancy Camp”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first trip to the area and we had limited expectations. What a lovely surprise both the town and the Inn proved to be! The Hanover Inn is perfectly located between the college and the town's main street. A fine array of restaurants and shopping are within walking distance…this was a pleasant surprise. The Inn itself was very, very nice. A modern, luxurious takes on woodsy and campy. The rooms were well appointed with high thread count sheets, duvets and a darling plaid blanket at the foot. Bathrooms were also quite up to date with white marble and polish nickel. We dined downstairs and it was busy for good reason… the food was delicious. Wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your terrific review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. It is always our pleasure to provide all of our guests with exceptional comfort and amenities to ensure their stay with us is unforgettable. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to the area attractions and our on-site restaurant, PINE. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    80
    18
    15
    1
See reviews for
195
80
10
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Inn was being worked on and the outside area was most ineffective.I had a hurt leg and attempting to maneuver through the facade/exterior work was almost ludicrous. Unfortunately,someone fell down before my very eyes on part of the part being reconstructed.Others felt sorry to have such a nice hotel with such a crummy way to be refurbishing it for its clients.

Room Tip: The room we had was perfectly adequate. Full up at the inn means just that,so I don't know any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is extremely disheartening to read a review such as yours as this is not the impression we expect to deliver to our guests. The Hopkins Center for the Arts building across the street from our inn is currently in the process of undergoing updates to the outside of the building and we hope that you’ll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back for a cozy and relaxing visit once their updates are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at the Hanover Inn many times, for camp drop off and visiting weekends. It is always such a lovely suprise! The rooms are beautifully decorated and bright, the restaurants downstairs, the lobby, and the porch are great places to meet friends and relax. The staff is always welcoming and very helpful. And the location can't be beat! Hanover is a step outside, as is the Dartmouth Campus. It is hard to get a reservation at the Hanover Inn, but well worth the effort. I highly recommend this hotel for any and all travel group sizes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and continued loyalty. We are pleased that you enjoyed the beauty and comfort of our hotel as well as our friendly staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I grew up in the area and never stayed here. Until now. This is easily one of my very favorite hotels now. Everyone that we encountered that worked here was extremely friendly. ( although the same can not be said for some of the guests). I made the reservations online and had requested a king room. I had also requested a view and a quiet room, since they gave me those options. They actually listened to that and gave us an amazing room... a suite actually. It was on the corner of the main street and the green. I was blown away. We had just come from a stay at another hotel with a bad experience, and it was suddenly forgotten. We have stayed at the Woodstock Inn not far away several times, and this beats that hands down in my opinion. Very few places deserve a great rating, but this place does.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvenneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your great review of your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. Providing guests with great service and comfort are top priorities for us as we wish to create an unforgettable experience for everyone. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the beauty and coziness of our inn. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Excellent accommodations. Pleasant and helpful staff. Beautiful and spacious room. Very comfortable and quiet. Central location right in the middle of Dartmouth campus. Close to restaurants and shopping as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Hanover Inn Dartmouth. It is our pleasure to provide all of our guests with outstanding customer service and terrific accommodations to ensure their stay with us is memorable. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location to the area attractions and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A great place to stay when you visit Hanover, right in the heart of the small downtown and across the street from the college. Friendly, helpful service from the hotel staff. Cars are parked off site but they retrieve them quickly for you. The restaurant is adequate, but there are better choices within walking distance, especially Lou's for breakfast. No better place to stay in Hanover.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmondb1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Hanover Inn Dartmouth. It’s great to hear that the comfort and outstanding location of our inn provided you with just what you needed during your visit. Our central location makes it easy to explore the area attractions yet offers a serene place for our guests to rest their heads at night. Our PINE restaurant offers many delicious options that are sure to satisfy your appetite. We hope that during your next visit we can provide you with the outstanding experience that PINE is known for. It was wonderful to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on a college visiting trip to Dartmouth. When we drove up the valet pointed out which building the tour started from and the desk clerk gave us a campus map. The room seemed freshly decorated with a separate sitting area as well as a full and half bath. There were fresh cookies in the lobby during the afternoon as well as apples. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for letting us know how much you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at the Hanover Inn Dartmouth during your visit to Dartmouth College. We are delighted to read comments such as yours as this is the experience we strive to deliver to our guests. It meant a lot to us that you mentioned how accommodating and how responsive our staff was to your needs. The next time you are visiting the area, whether for another college visit or for leisure, we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanover
0.1 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
358 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Property: Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Address: 2 E Wheelock St, Hanover, NH 03755-1549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing