We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, disappointing food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daniel's Restaurant

Daniel's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Henniker
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great view, disappointing food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stopped by at Daniel's because I remember thinking that it had pretty decent reviews on Tripadvisor. We sat at the outside at the back. The view was beautiful which was only good thing there. They brought us bread, which was still ice cold in the middle, which means that they were frozen rolls. I also had French onion soup, and it was so salty, it was almost not edible. I also had to ask for soup spoon, which they forgot to give me with the soup. It arrived about whole five minutes later. I had ruben which was ok. My husband's meal was just ok also. Also their french fries are not actually fries but fried potato chips. We wanted to like the food, but it was such a disappointment. If it weren't for the view, it would have gotten two stars at best. We probably never go back again. Food just wasn't worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sat. evening meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I decided we hadn't been to Daniel's for awhile and after checking the menu online I decided this would be just what we were looking for tonight. We took the "old" road from Hillsborough to Henniker which is a really nice off the highway ride. When we arrived at Daniel's we were a bit concerned by the number of cars, thinking maybe we would have a wait. That wasn't the case. There really is a lot of seating including a deck, pub, and restaurant. We chose the restaurant and was seated by the window with the river view. Nice. Our waitress - Aimee - was wonderful. Smiles, a bit of chatting, just the right amount of attention. Then the meal! ! ! It was sooooo good. I wasn't really very hungry and chose the Caesar Salad with the added Salmon - YUM! ! ! My husband had London Broil with a mushroom, burgandy sauce - he LOVED it. We usually eat only half and take the rest home for another meal but this time we ate it all. Really good dinner experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We eat here whenever we visit New Hampshire. The food is excellent and the service is always top-notch. The drab cakes are my favorite. The soups and salads are great, too. The lovely view of the river adds to the dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyeclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

You must try the strawberry salad, it's to die for. We also had the salmon and haddock which were both excellently cooked. The service was efficient and friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
406 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Lovely River View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The river view is absolutely amazing. Such a beautiful setting! The menu is pretty big. I ordered a french sandwich and my partner ordered a Mediterranean wrap. Both sandwiches came with chips and a pickle. Our waitress was nice, and checked on us a few times. They had a good selection of beer. We tried one from the local brewery and it was pretty good (enough to prompt us to visit after we ate). Prices were a bit high for the amount of food but you really cannot beat the view. I'd love to stop in again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank quiet_wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Daniel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing