We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmatched Family Vacation Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Oak Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
East Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unmatched Family Vacation Location”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

25 years ago we began our yearly summer stays on beautiful White Oak Pond. We have stayed in a good number of the hotel rooms and cabins of White Oak down through the years. We consider this place our family's summer home. The cabins and hotel rooms are wonderfully efficient, functional and even improve every year. Every year we arrive and get a kick out of what new improvement has been made, new tv added, new mattress, roof, refrigerator, even AC! The McHughs do a fantastic job. We have many great memories of rainy day fun in the cabins. One cold summer day my wife even cooked a full turkey!

BUT the place is not about the cabins - as fine as they are. It is about the pool and the fantastic White Oak Pond! I am a kayaker and small sail-boater from Rhode Island. No location beats White Oak for kayaking. Boat motors greater than 7 horse power are not allowed so many summer days I have had this pristine lake all to myself although the secret is getting out and other kayakers are often joining the fun. There are at least 10 beaver lodges. A least a couple of families of loons. Turtles, stunning waterlilies. You can glide over the shallows and look down and see fish tending their nests. If you like you can swim across the lake undisturbed and my kids have often grabbed the floaters and all done so! No big boats creating wake or jet skies. Yet it is big enough for a Sunfish or similar small sailboat. I bring my Sea Snark up every year and 2 kayaks. I have sat in my kayak on this lake when the sun was setting, a loon was calling and the surface was like glass and I know there is no better place to vacation. If you are a biker then the 7 mile route around the lake is fantastic. Some of it is still dirt so be prepared. If you are a road biker there are unmatched hills to climb and country roads to explore. I have brought both types of bikes at times.

Our children are all grown and return now with us bringing the grandchildren and spouses. We have hours and hours of video tape documenting pool fun and lake fun. Loons swimming up close. Turtles staring at us. The kids catching crayfish. My wife and I have sat for hours reading, chatting with friends, and grabbing the binoculars for a loon sighting. Each night we have several soft serve ice cream options - a family tradition we have kept.

White Oak is also very strategically located. You can get to all the major lake towns quickly. Center Harbor, Meredith, Wiers Beach, Ashland are all close by. Route 93 is also not too far away when you want to zip up to more northern locations or south to the "outlets".

I am not exaggerating when I say the our summers at White Oak have helped make our family better and given us the relaxing vacation we need as we face our responsibilities back home. Give it a try and discover New Hampshire at its best!

Room Tip: Note that some accommodations have AC and some do not. If you enjoy a pool - go for pool site cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    24
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We have been going to White Oak for the last 20 years. We have stayed in a few of their cottages and hotel rooms. We have not had a bad time. We spend at least two weeks in the summer months and have been know to celebrate our wedding anniversary and special birthdays up there. My husband enjoys fishing and I enjoy reading while he fishes. It has been the best find we have discovered. We have also invited other family members in the past and they also enjoyed themselves. We look forward to going every year!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I can imagine the White oak lodge motel was nice……….30 years ago. It is a motel that is in dire need of an update, which is a shame really given its location looking over an amazing lake.

We first stayed in cabin number 15. Our stay in this cabin only lasted 1 night, let’s just say it was akin to staying on a small boat. The floor was not level nor was it stable. The shower and toilet facilities resembled that of a caravan (an old caravan at that). The final straw was the bed which was like sleeping on a bouncy castle, this might have been fun had the bed not had fleas / bed bugs. We spent the whole night either itching or trying to lie as still as possible so we didn’t bounce the other one out of the bed.

We informed the owner and she promptly moved us to another cabin. This was a larger, more stable cabin and was much better. Although the cabin was an improvement on Cabin 15 it was still old and in a poor state of repair that needed a complete gut and refit. The shower situation did not improve.

They now charge for the canoes and kayaks, although the row boat is free.

Overall, to stay at the White Oak really isn’t value for money, it was one of the most expensive places to stay on our entire stay in New England. There is rustic and there is rustic, this place is just tired and in disrepair. I wouldn’t recommend staying here.

For the record Cabin 15 was not used for the rest of our stay it was fumigated with all the windows left open.

On a positive note away from White Oak you must have lunch and walk around Castle in the Clouds, take a boat tour around Squam Lake and walk the Rattlesnake Trail (amazing views).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guildford_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleasant valley
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I loved everything about the lakefront cabin. ! The view was just as pictured on the website, couldn't get enough of it. Went at peak leaf season so the view was particularly gorgeous. Liked the setup of the rooms , allowed for privacy. The mattress was pretty comfortable, slept on it for 3 nights with no problems. Kitchen was tiny , not conducive for cooking big meals so we cooked very simple meals. Carol was very warm and friendly and accomodating by letting me using her phone since my cell phone couldn't get service. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: get a lakefront cabin for a wonderful, unimpeded view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercPleasantValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We recently took a trip to New England and found the White Oak to be clean and reasonably priced. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Centrally located motel near Weir Beach, Holderness, and Center Harbor. On White Oak Pond and we could hear the loons during the evening. Our room was very clean and adequately appointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penobscot, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Looking for a place near Weirs Beach in Laconia.We found this place in Holderness and decided to stay.People were very nice and friendly.The rooms were very neat and clean.Maid was in to tidy up every day.The place was close to everything we wanted to see,so peaseful and relaxing.We will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
7.2 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Motel & Cottages

Property: White Oak Motel & Cottages
Address: 435 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5764
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel
White Oak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing