We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Breathtaking - the Photos Don't Do It Justice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Oak Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I spent three days here this week, and reached new levels of relaxation as we swam, canoed and kayaked the gorgeous White Oak Pond. We were here Sunday-Wednesday, and the handful of White Oak residents were pretty much the only people on the entire (surprisingly large) pond. Carol (the owner) was incredibly sweet and gave us some good tips on beautiful hiking trails close by, the history of the cottages, and the story behind the family of loons that lives on the lake.

The cottages are really cute and very well-kept – we loved ours.

What we loved most was the quiet. Somehow, even though our neighboring cabins had kids in them, it was eternally silent here. It almost felt like a retreat, it was so quiet. We would take a few books down to the lake's sandy beach, sit in some lounge chairs and read – or just sit and take in the beautiful, serene pond.

We can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pareboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband booked our reservation for a stay here to celebrate our 32nd Wedding Anniversary and it was a wonderful time! We enjoyed 3 nights on July 19, 20 & 21, 2013. We were greeted at check in by Carol (Owner) and found the cabin to be clean and well appointed when we stepped inside. The property is just beautiful, with a breathtaking view just outside our cabin of the water; a short walk to the beach front and we relaxed, swam and enjoyed the sunshine! It was wonderful to see and hear the loons, too! BTW, On the 2nd evening we wanted to catch a show on cable TV since we don't have it at home and the TV went on the fritz. Early the next morning we reported it to Joan, one of the staff who was passing by. Joan saw to it that another TV was brought over & the broken one removed by the maintenance staff. No fuss at all, just friendly smiling faces and quick attention! We're both from NH and have stayed at a number of places like this one, but we definitely want to return to White Oak and have told our family and friends they need to check it out, too! Definitely a great value for the money and lots to do in the area if you're so inclined, or if you want to relax with a book/kindle, this is just the place to do that! The setting here is quite and serene...You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a cottage with a water view vs. water's edge and it was great! Had a screened in por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeandSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry I didn't respond sooner. I am so happy you decided to do your Anniversary at White Oak. We have many people who come back year after year. We also have had weddings overlooking the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Beautiful location on a small and scenic lake with a variety of lodging options. We chose the motel room, but others in our party had a poolside or lakeside cabin. All were exceptionally well maintained, attractive, roomy and clean. The owners are terrifically hospitable and accommodating. The grounds couldn't be more inviting with a beautiful lawn, pool, swimming beach, kayaks, canoes, paddle boat and rowboat available for exploring the water . You feel like you're On Golden Pond (actually are close by!) listening to or watching the loon family on this lovely lake. Prices are moderate and the flexibility of being able to stay a night or a week makes this a traveler's dream in one of New Hampshire's most gorgeous regions to visit. Great find!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoGoSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We chose this as a place to stay for a sibling gathering and Loon Cruise on Squam Lake! We were in the area to lean about the Loons of New Hamshire. Little did we know that that we would be treated to watching and listening to White Oaks own Loon family as we sat on the beach , swam, and kayaked!
Carol was very pleasant and helpful. From the first time we talked on the phone, she made me feel like family. Her suggestions for activities in the area were very helpful. We especially enjoyed the hike on Rattlesnake Mountain with its beautiful view of Squam Lake. We had a great meal at Walter's Basin Restaurant.
Thanks Carol for calling to let us know we had left our camera! Gave us a chance to turn around and come back for one last look! We all had a terrific time!

Room Tip: Wonderful place whether choosing an affordable motel room, poolside cottage, or lake front cottage w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayakher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights/3 days. It was an excellent place that I would recommend to any family or friends. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. All the advertised amenities were available. The owners seemed like very pleasant people who were willing to put in extra effort to be accommodating. After making the initial reservation, I inquired about bringing our dog. The WO motel does have pet friendly rooms, but the one we booked happened not to be. One of the owners (Carol) offered another room and eventually even offered to let us keep the dog in the initial room we booked, even though it wasn't necessarily for pets. We ended up kenneling dog for the stay, but this had more to do with our schedule than with considerations about the hotel (although we were informed that pets were not allowed to be left in the room alone, which I consider a perfectly reasonable and understandable policy).

I should add also that the quiet WO pond on which the Motel is located is a relaxing alternative to Winnipesaukee, which can get a little hectic. WO also offers paddled water craft at exceptionally good rates.

This is a really great find for any family wanting to explore the lakes region. We will definitely look forward to future visits.

Room Tip: Cottages look like they are worth a try, but we stayed in motel room which was great for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dma2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

On short notice we decided to head up north for a last minute fourth of July vacation. I was concerned our pickings would be slim making reservations on July 1st. I was pleasantly surprised to find a room available at the White Oaks Motel. I really wanted my seven year old son to experience a simple, old school get away. I couldn't have been more pleased. The aerial view on the website helped sell me.

The location was really convenient, only about 2.5 hrs from Boston, and about 10-15 min off the highway, but far enough to feel like I was in the lakes region. The spot itself is on a pond/lake that doesn't have large motor boats so the beach located on the property is quiet and just lovely. It had everything that a seven year old would love, paddle boats, canoes, a floating dock and sand. We could hardly drag him off the property for dinner and amusements and he actually hugged the beach before we left :)! The other thing is that it is a short drive to Meredith and Weir beach if that is your thing. But we really liked how it felt like the vacations of our childhood, simple and uncomplicated.

One other note, the owners were very friendly and accommodating and readily available for any requests. And our only regret was that we didn't book in time for a lake front cottage. My son made me promise that we would come back again and this won't be a hard promise to keep.
Loriann, Mark and Samuel

Room Tip: Reserve a beachfront cottage if you can, the view is really lovely, but if you can't you have ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry it took so long for me to respond. We enjoy watching children grow. We are now seeing 3rd generations.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from our third bike week and got the same cabin, and as usual Carol was the best. She is so easy to get along with and goes out of her way to keep everyone happy. She makes sure that it remains quiet and peacefull so we can get a good nights sleep after riding all day. She always likes to hear where we ride to and what we've done on our trip. The best this year was her suggestion of going to the Maine coast for lunch. Thanks for everything Carol, see you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnany, Owner at White Oak Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your review. John and I couldn't do this without our wonderful staff and great customers. We are so happy you enjoyed your ride to Maine. We look forward to seeing you next year for Bike week in your favorite cottage.
Carol & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
113 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
168 reviews
9.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
340 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Oak Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Oak Motel & Cottages

Address: 435 US Route 3, Holderness, NH 03245-5764
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Hotel Class:3 star — White Oak Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Oak Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Oak Hotel
White Oak Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing