We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are so happy we climbed Rattlesnake Mountain!!!”

West Rattlesnake Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We are so happy we climbed Rattlesnake Mountain!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

While visiting Squam Lake, we climbed Rattlesnake Mountain. It was an easy climb. We passed many families with young children, either walking or being carried in packs. It is a climb, but can be done by all ages. It is worth the climb. The views of Squam Lake will take your breath away. Take a drink or snack and sit and enjoy the view!! Recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank coyotepack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Plenty of parking and a well traveled and well marked trail- bit of a huff and puff on my part (I hike very rarely) and absolutely stunning views!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hike to an awesome view”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A lot of reviewers have said that this hike is very easy. I am in good shape and love to hike so for me it was a great experience. The way up is almost all uphill with a lot of steps and roots to navigate around. I would say that if you are not in the best of shape, you might want to take it slow. we had a good size party and some were definitely gassed going up. Also my 80 year old mother in law fell while climbing some high steps and hurt herself. I can tell you that the views at the top are magnificent! Squam Lake can be seen in its entirety spread out before you. Definitely got some breathtaking photos. So I would say go for it but keep in mind your own physical limitations if any and plan accordingly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KillerB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short hike to a great view”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Did this with my 5 year old daughter. For the most part it was a pretty easy hike to an awesome view of Squam Lake and the surrounding area. The trail is pretty well maintained, however, there were a ton of exposed roots. We left the mountain with a skinned knee and some tears but nothing serious. If we ever get back to the area I'd definitely consider doing this hike again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank natron06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Minimal effort - maximum rewards.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've hiked Rattlesnake Mountain in Holderness many times over the years, having grown up in New Hampshire. It is a very easy hike for all ages and experience levels. It's about a 450 ft elevation gain, very gradual. It can be very crowded on the weekends as it is a popular "tourist" mountain, so if you don't like "highway hiking" I'd recommend a different trip on the weekend. The parking lot is on the same side of the mountain and across the street is another parking lot for Mt. Morgan, both of which fill up quickly, so don't be surprised if you have to park on the side of the road.

Be sure to check out some of the other trails that lead off the peak, some are quite a bit more challenging than the actual hike itself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Rattlesnake Mountain also viewed

 
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to West Rattlesnake Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing