We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must visit the farm when at the lake”

Longhaul Farm at Squam Lake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Not just a working organic farm! At our "Farm Stand & Cafe," purchase from the bounty of our harvest along w/locally sourced meats, poultry, produce, ice cream, and more. We also create eat-in or carry-out meals. The "Pavilion in the Woods" welcomes the public to "Real Food Festivities" (summer BBQs and Brunches and winter snowshoeing w/hearty lunches or suppers). Other activities include garden workshops, music events, and more. Pavilion also may be reserved for your wedding.
York, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“must visit the farm when at the lake”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My teen son and daughter love to drive up and choose goodies from the farm store. We have
even taken the time, in the past, for a relaxing sit on the porch or a game of checkers. Love the fresh produce, corn is a splurge due to price, but very good. It can be a bit pricey, which is to bad considering many things are being brought in right on the premises. You do pay for the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirlybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Imagine driving up a dirt road and seeing the welcoming smoke from a wood stove atop a cozy little pavillion nestled amongst the trees. Then, your quest for a comfort-food Saturday lunch reveals homemade shepherd's pie and a tasty salad - all made with locally sourced ingredients and perfectly seasoned with fresh herbs....

Welcome to Longhaul Farm! This was our exact experience when we stopped here in the midst of a relaxing weekend getaway to Squam Lake. Not only was the food and atmosphere absolutely delightful, we thoroughly enjoyed hanging out and chatting with our hosts, Lorri and Lenny. It is the kind of place where as soon as you leave, you can't wait to come back. We're looking forward to taking in some live music and a Sunday summer barbecue, or maybe returning for some snowshoeing in the trails out back. Longhaul is just a perfect place to kick back and escape the usual. And Tucker the sheepdog is a sweetheart!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtrippin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wedding planning nightmare”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Lorri and H.O. really thought they pulled a fast one on us. We planned on having our wedding there and they totally took advantage of us. They led us to believe that they could meet any budget and that it would be cheaper to have our wedding on their farm than other places because they grow a lot of our their food and do the catering. YEAH RIGHT. We gave them a deposit and then they started cancelling meetings with us, not responding to emails or phone calls, and not providing a detailed cost breakdown of the event. (To be fair, I should have demanded this before we gave them the deposit, but I guess I was so excited that it made me a little naive.)

When I finally demanded the budget, it was nearly $12,000...for a wedding on a farm that has barely any experience hosting weddings. And that only included the food and the venue...not the band, photographer, cake, tent, dress, etc. When we cancelled, only 3 weeks after giving them our deposit, they basically made up excuses why they couldn't pay us and ignored us until we took them to court and ended up with a ruling in our favor...3 days before the wedding.

My advice? Don't plan you're wedding here. They come off at first as really nice, laid back hippies, but I don't think they ever planned on paying us back if we hadn't taken them to court. A total wedding nightmare, a mediocre location, and two business people that have no idea what they are doing. I hope they don't do this to anyone again, and that's the only reason I'm sharing this story.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquamLake, Owner at Longhaul Farm at Squam Lake, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Oh... How silly it has been not to get into Trip Advisor ....earlier to respond to this "love mail" from the past! We all so understand that there are always two sides to every story! Sadly this young couple was excited to reserve a date and then.... begin talking details after the fact. No one really understands what the expense side of a private gig is until they start to take a look at the lay out of all items rented and extra details they wish to add on... Due to the fact that we are a Farm we have found many folks are really feeling the cost should be cheap and inexpensive. We offer great food from local sources and if... extras need to be rented as in tents, tables, chairs, linens and other assorted gear the price tag of course goes up along as the list of add ons grows. We have begun to realize we are really better fit for smaller type events when the extra tents and set up are not required. Unless people really understand that all those add ons cost $. As a side note it is so important to note that this young couple is not alone in this ordeal. We too as a small independent business striving to eek out an existence entertaining good people for their private events. (Heck.... I haven't ever been called a hippee !!! I kind of like that concept! ) They should not feel they were neglected deliberately. We plow and sand in the winter months and we began talking with them right in the middle of our busy snow season. Even though they were told that the deposit was non refundable and we made plans to return the deposit when the lean months were upon us! (A bad decision on our part) A gentlemen's agreement was made without visiting any judge .... and we are well on the other side of the adventure! We wish them both well and understand that they opted to hold their event at their own home to make it work with the budget that they had to work with! Every story has two sides...The key is to use each experience as a learning curve!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BBQ Heaven in the Woods”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

There's no cooking in our cottage ('camp') on Saturday night anymore because everyone wants to go to Longhaul for Len and Lorri's fabulous BBQ. The ribs are ridiculously good, as is all the food. But the setting is well beyond 'ridiculously good'. Len's simple, gorgeous, post-and-beam pavilion makes it feel as if your cook-out has just gone 'five star'. It's elegant, actually. Elegance in the woods with the nicest people you can imagine and hosts that take their hospitality seriously.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank debtall289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHI, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four Carrot dinner”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

While driving in Holderness, NH we spotted a sign advertising a "Four Carrot dinner". Sounded interesting and we enjoy eating local foods-so we went and so glad we did!! The dinner was excellent-wonderful food-nice presentation and delightful hosts. The roast chicken was moist and tender, the veggies nicely prepared and the yummy dessert of raspberry shortcake topped off a real treat! Hope to try out their Sat evening bbq soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ilikedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longhaul Farm at Squam Lake also viewed

 
Holderness, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 

Been to Longhaul Farm at Squam Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing