We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Day for a Nature Cruise on Squam Lake”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden Pond Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Day for a Nature Cruise on Squam Lake”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

While visiting in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, we decided to try something a little different for us. We had been to this area several times and never done the Squam Lake Cruise. Anyone who gets the opportunity, should definitely take this cruise. The guide was very fun and new so many facts about this Lake. We did get to see from a distance several Loons. They did not want to cooperate and get up closer to the pontoon boat. Still a great 90 mins.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your cruise and we hope you'll be back to visit us again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    53
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and education”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great experience for young kids and adults. There are informative, interactive and fun things for everyone to do. The mountain lions were a highlight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We agree that the mountain lions are amazing animals. Did you know that mountain lions are the closest living relatives of cheetahs? We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What Kids Want”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Kids do not necessarily want thrill rides and sugar--at least not all the time. This is a place where someone has put a great deal of thought into what kids want. The paths are easily walkable with a stroller or to let them loose to run from place to place. The animals are amazing, well cared for and their enclosures are spacious and beautifully done. Each little hut has interactive educational opportunities that take the experience from a toddler giggling at the otters to older kids who can read, ask questions and need more information. And every now and then, there's just a place to play. The adjacent garden is breathtaking and food in the little cafe was perfect--quick and tasty. We would never have gone if we didn't have two toddlers but that would have been our loss. Wonderful, all around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful comments. We're so glad you visited us and enjoyed your day here. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Spend a Day!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have visited the Science Center three times in the past 7 years, and each visit was better than the last. Most recently, I went with two children 7 & 10 and a guest from out of town. We spent 4 hours there and also did the gardens attached to the Center. It was a wonderful time, and very educational. All the animals were lively on this warm July morning and we got up close and personal with otters, bobcats and a mountain lion. The trails are easy to navigate and can be longer or shorter depending on your path. Kids area half way through is a great way for them to blow off steam, and every exhibit has hands-on activities for the kids. Naturalists throughout give you more information about the animals, we were able to pat a turtle and see an owl up close. Don't skip the gift shop, they have neat things and even the Tshirts were better than usual quality and some really neat designs. Worth the trip!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lytlex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thanks so much for your nice comments! I find that bringing visitors with me to the Science Center gives me a new appreciation for everything here. It sounds like you had a full and very good day. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best for younger children...”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I recently went to the Natural Science Center with a friend. We just wanted a quiet leisurely day. I had been here once before 10 years ago with my 11 year old daughter and her friend. It is a fun, clean place. There are many animals and birds. It is clean and easy to walk the paths. I have to say that this attraction is probably most appropriate for anyone 12 and under. I believe teens would be bored. As adults we were amused...but like I said...I had been before and knew what to expect.
The staff was very friendly.
This is a great family place. It is a learning experience with many displays. At certain times during the day staff will gather people at sitting areas and bring the animals and talk about them and answer questions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We're so glad you returned for another visit. Little kids certainly get a lot out of the animals and exhibits but our goal is for all ages to do so. We hope you'll be back to visit us again soon. Maybe a cruise on Squam Lake would be something new!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Rumney, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing