We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent NH Nature Center for Many Reasons”

Squam Lakes Natural Science Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Squam Lake Science Center Tour plus On Golden...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Squam Lakes Natural Science Center is a fun and enlightening place for everyone to enjoy. Here at the Science Center, we house and exhibit many different wild animals, including river otters, mountain lions, bobcats, deer, bears, birds, foxes, and skunks. The wild animals at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center are ambassadors of their species, here for the purpose of educating our visitors about New Hampshire's natural world. Most are orphaned, injured, or otherwise unable to survive in the wild. Observing these animals up-close, together with experiencing our hands-on exhibits, offers visitors the opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of our native wildlife and appreciation of the natural world.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We live in NH and buy the family pass every year for many reasons. 1) The Science Center is dedicated to the preservation of NH wildlife 2) The Science Center is an instructional facility enlightening to all regarding NH plants/forests/animal life. (Kirkwood Gardens is also accessible from their grounds. At Kirkwood, you will find a craft shop and gardens to explore) 3) Location is perfect; close to Squam Lake where you can also take one of their guided pontoon boat tours on beautiful Squam Lake for a reasonable price NOTE: This may not be of interest to some young children. They have to remain fairly immobile for the tour which is about 1.5 hrs. However, GREAT for adults and older kids.
4) you can bring lunch in and use one of their picnic tables; OR, you can grab lunch at the very reasonably priced Lakeside Restaurant which is a seasonal "order at the window" restaurant directly across from Squam. There's also the famous Walters Basin directly on the lake next to the Pontoon Boat dock 5) There is an activity house geared for young children where they can be turned loose and experience tons of climbing, crawling, and sliding fun 6) Did I mention the animals? Mountain Lion, Bobcat, Bear, Deer, Otters, Birds of Prey, Fox, etc 7) A great walk all on a well manicured walking trail through the woods 8) Educational, 9) Priced right while benefiting injured animals! 10) Squam Lakes Natural Science Center = An exceptional place to visit for any age!

Thank thursday_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Wow! Thanks so much for your nice comments... and a top 10 list! We love it! As a member I'm sure we'll see you on the trails and lake again soon.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"golden pond"
in 29 reviews
"squam lake"
in 65 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 13 reviews
"all ages"
in 31 reviews
"boat tour"
in 22 reviews
"natural science center"
in 25 reviews
"mountain lion"
in 19 reviews
"natural setting"
in 7 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 7 reviews
"new hampshire"
in 22 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 7 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 11 reviews
"learn something"
in 4 reviews
"great place to learn"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop"
in 16 reviews
"any age"
in 6 reviews
"walking trails"
in 5 reviews
Filter

189 - 193 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I used my Breathe NH pass to take my daughter and I to the Squam Lakes Science Center, it was BOGO with the pass. My daughter enjoyed all of the exhibits and the docent talks inside and outside. It has been a while since I have been and it seems like it has grown quite a bit and there is new construction going on now. There is so much to learn from the different exhibits. The information was a little advanced for my young child, but it would be great for school aged children. It really is worth taking the time to read all of the information and interacting with exhibits. All of the docent talks scheduled on the hour almost every hour are very informative and will let you see animals native to New England up close. There is a barn for children to play in. It has a large spider web for them to play on, slides, night animal sounds, interactive learning experiences, etc. my daughter loved it in there and loved playing with lots of kids who were also having a great time. We went in the afternoon and most of the animals were resting except for the bears and birds. The bears were great to watch, they walked around and went swimming. The rock exhibit had a quit a bit to teach kids, great examples of the different rocks found in New England. At lunch time we ventured over to the garden, art store and cafe. We got a light lunch with an egg salad and drink. It was pretty good. The gardens were in full bloom and beautiful. I like how there are guides every so often to identify what is growing in that section. The fountain and statue were beautiful. The art store had many great piece of artwork depicting local scenes. It seems like you are leaving the science center when you are going there, but it is still part of it. I would strongly recommend sun screen, sneakers and drinks. It was slightly difficult to walk around in sandals.

Thank Alana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you were able to experience much of what we have to offer during the summer with the animal exhibit trail, Up Close to Animals presentations (those are the hourly animal talks), plus Kirkwood Gardens, Kirkwood Cafe, and the Squam Lake Artisans Gallery. You must have made a full day of it! I'm glad the bears and New Hampshire Geology exhibits were highlights. We hope to see you on the trails again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A great place to learn about and observe the wildlife of the area. Most of the animals were injured or rescued and couldn't survive on their own in the wild, so they make wonderful ambassadors to enlighten the visitors about the wonderful, natural world around them. All of the naturalists and staff were knowledgeable, friendly, and very approachable. A fantastic place of learning and enjoyment.

Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We're glad you were able to learn from our ambassador animals and our staff. We hope to see you on the trails again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So many wildlife to see. The beautiful Bald Eagles, the red tailed hawks, Otters, Mountain Lions, Black Bears and so much more. The kids enjoyed this trip. A very easy trail to follow. If you have a chance, please visit this place.

Thank Pebbles1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you on the trails again soon!

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I went here with my child on a weekday in July, and we had a great time! Upon entering, you are given a map and listing of the nature talks/ events happening for the day/week. The trails and grounds are immaculate, and are a fairly easy walk for small children. My child (age 8) loved the interactive exhibits (puzzles, microscopes to see smaller "creatures", etc) and spent a good amount of time going through them and exploring. It was nice to see my child so engaged with science/nature. Staff was also available at different points in the trail to remind us of upcoming talks, which was nice. Because of this service, we were able to hustle and see a snake talk that we might have missed had the staffer not reminded us that it was starting in 5 minutes. It was nice to be able to see so many local animals, and most of them in enclosures that provided ample space (although I agree with some other posters saying that perhaps the mountain lion could be given a bigger enclosure). It is also nice that most of the pathways are shaded, thus making it a pleasant experience even on a hot day. I highly recommend bringing your own water bottle, as water fountains are only in a few locations. All in all, it was a great way to spend the morning hours, and I am sure we will be back to visit.

Thank stephanieg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhnature, Manager at Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a good visit and were able to really engage with the animals and exhibits. You mentioned that you read some other reviews which commented on the size of the mountain lion enclosure. For the mountain lions, and all of our animals at the Science Center, we work very hard to provide numerous enrichment options both on and off exhibit as well as training which also stimulates their brain activity and prevents stereotypic behavior. Before building our mountain lion enclosure we studied many other exhibits at other institutions and designed ours to take advantage of the natural setting while providing a suitable environment for these animals. We are an Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA) accredited institution so we also have to meet very high standards of animal welfare and care. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have additional questions - info@nhnature.org.

All the best,
Amanda Gillen
Marketing and Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squam Lakes Natural Science Center also viewed

Rumney, White Mountains
Holderness, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Squam Lakes Natural Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing