We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Squam Lake Inn for 3 nights in May before the season got busy. We were impressed by the hospitality, cleanliness and overall charm of the inn. Every detail is attended to; our room was clean and comfortable. Our breakfasts were great with fresh flowers on our plates each morning. The restaurant was excellent. Steve our server could not have been more enthusiastic about the menu. Our meals were delicious and the presentation was very enjoyable. Lilacs were everywhere in the inn as they were in season. A very relaxing and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank czorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Squam Lake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

I had a business trip to Boston and last minute I decided to spend the weekend near Rumney to rock climb. I always stay in the nearby hostel but this time wanted to check out Squam Lake area. This inn was #2, but I read through all the comments and read a similar theme, how nice and friendly the staff was, how nice the rooms were and how great the location was. So I went with "#2" and glad I made that choice.

First, all of the staff is truly friendly and wrote the book on customer service. Also as you walk to the Inn front door, there is beautiful, well kept garden and large partially wrap around porch. You walk in and there is a living room for guests with fireplace, making it a nice cozy retreat. Breakfast is included and delicious. I had lunch and dinner and it is divine to have homemade food and cozy environment. For example, they have a signature ice cream sandwich, they get the ice cream from a farm down the street that make the ice cream from scratch....by milking their cows! Everything on the menu (or almost) is supported by a local farm or business or made from scratch at the Inn.

I got the Eagle's Nest which is spacious, open and airy. And as the pics are correct, the bathroom is huge and divine.

Other than the amazing customer service and peaceful environment, the house is updated and tastefully decorated, yet it has old charm and character to it. I WILL be returning to Squam Lake Inn every time!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank FrequentTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed at SLI in May 2012 and liked it so much that we returned with friends in October 2012. Stayed in two different rooms. Both were comfortable and quite. Cindy, Rae, and Molly help you instantly feel like you are at home. They are creative and share their insights on places to go and see. The Inn is comfortable, tastefully decorated, and offers plenty of spaces to relax. My favorite spot is on the front porch, where I drank my morning coffee and enjoyed cheese and wine before dinner.

No need to eat anywhere else. Rae is a master in the kitchen. Each meal was delicous and used the highest quality ingredients. My husband loves their oysters! Their cocktails are very creative. If you are planning an early Spring trip or late Fall trip, you may want to see if the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I traveled from NYS to NH on a regular basis for 5 years, until we finally moved to NH a couple of months ago. We have always stayed at the Squam Lake Inn and highly recommend this wonderful Inn. The owners, Cindy and Rae, are amazing for their hospitality, creative ideas, delicious gourmet meals, and lovely accommodations. There is something new and wonderful offered every year for their guests to enjoy. We have stayed at many B&B's around the U.S. and other countries, and this is our favorite. Thank you for the terrific vacations and special meals in your restaurant, Cindy and Rae!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fyb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Squam Lake Inn was one of the most enjoyable Bed and Breafast we visited during our stay in New England. The attached resturant was great, the staff were outastanding, helpful and always ready to help.
The Boat tour of squam lake is a must, watch on Golden Pond first or after your boat excursion. The movie is even better when you know the stories behind the movie.
Would be nice to have some telvisions in the room at the price. Internet wi-fi was weak.

Room Tip: Small rooms, ask for a larger one. The loon was very nice
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our six day stay at the Squam Lake Inn was great: charming old inn, friendly, cheerful staff, great food, a well run operation. The owners, Cindy and Rae, have created an atmosphere in which the staff obviously enjoy working together and taking care of the guests. Jim and Gretchen Neel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

High color season in New Hampshire is Columbus Day weekend, and Squam Lake Inn provided a beautiful complement to nature. During this busy time, we were greeted with a charming ease that immediately introduced us to this cozy inn. Molly provided friendly and sure guidance to our room (Squam Suite) and information about the Inn Kitchen and Bar amenities. She thoughtfully advised us to consider dinner reservations for what would turn out to be, indeed, a very deservedly busy restaurant (attracting both Inn guests and locals). This kindness and attention to detail was reflected in our encounters with each of the staff members; during our five days' stay, Steve and Kristen's enthusiasm for the dinner menu was borne out in the different entrees we enjoyed, every one unique. (The bean salad was exceptional, and the fish entrees particularly tasty!)
Breakfasts went far beyond expectations in their variety and originality: coddled eggs in a ham "cup," stuffed French toast, and five-grain pancakes with maple syrup were three of the delights. Continuing the Inn's universal hospitality were the pleasant and sincere exchanges and actual conversations with the servers, such as Diane and Aly.
Despite the demands of such a busy time, our encounters with Rae, the owner, were always unrushed. She genuinely wanted to hear about our plans and activities and our daily satisfaction with the Squam Lake Inn experience. Her attention to detail is reflected in the motto, "Everything matters," and we found this in all aspects of our terrific time at the Inn.

Room Tip: Since this is an older Inn, it is smart to check out the rooms on the Inn's Rooms and Rates web...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joejanetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
119 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: £158 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing