We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Friendly Inn”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
providence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Friendly Inn”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Inn is beautifully decorated, the rooms are quaint and comfortable, and the free breakfast was delicious. Molly was so very welcoming and truly seemed to enjoy helping the guests in whatever was needed. Everyone at the Squam Lake Inn was more than happy to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area, and the location is a nice quiet spot off the beaten path. We loved the location close to Meredith, but far enough from the crowds and hustle/bustle around the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
150
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I and my wife recently stayed three nights at the Squam Lake Inn on short notice.
We were delightfully impressed by the exceptionally caring and helpful staff including the owners. They would always take time to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area. For a renovated farmhouse, they maintain it quite well. The breakfasts were large and quite tasty as well as the other meals available in the dining room at the Inn. They will also cater to special diet needs if you ask. The room we stayed in was quite small and has limited furniture. When asked for an additional chair, we were immediately provided with one. Many of the rooms do not have TV as some have complained. However, this is known beforehand if you take the time to ask and or read on their excellent website. As an observation, we recently stayed in several National Parks and there is no phone, TV, and limited cell phone service in many lodges within the parks. We found that reading a book or chatting with other guests in the evening was a pleasant change from watching TV. Likewise, there is also little to no cell phone service in the area of the Squam Lake Inn. They graciously provide a regular phone for guests to use which was quite thoughtful. We would have preferred somewhere on the lake, but it was easy to get to. Perhaps in the future, the innkeepers could make some arrangements for guests to have access to some beachfront area.

I would definitely return in the future. I would recommend it to others as long as they understand that this is an old renovated farmhouse in rural New Hampshire with nine rooms with all its charm and excellent food and service and not a large full facility hotel.

Finally, on a personal note, I left, by mistake, a medical device in our room that I needed. They immediately found it, packaged it up and mailed it to my home that I had the next day with no charge whatsoever! I travel regularly throughout the country and very rarely see this level of attention and service to guests.

Room Tip: If you want TV and large areas, then you will need to look for these on the website or call before b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedad60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Squam Room the nights of July15-18, 2013. It features a pleasant sitting area looking out the front window as well as a fireplace. The staff was gracious and willing to accommodate. Since we had to leave very early the morning of our final day and would miss breakfast, Diane, the chef, stopped en route to work and picked up a couple of blueberry muffins for us to eat on the road. Maddy greeted us upon arrival, looked after us during our stay, and made sure we had orange juice to go along with the muffins. There is plenty of space to enjoy the inn’s many amenities, from the downstairs living room to a community room cum library on the second floor. The restaurant is arguably the best in the neighborhood, and accommodates patrons in the dining room, bar, and patio. Daily breakfast is both a surprise and a special treat. The menu is imaginative as well as wide ranging; service is prompt and friendly. Squam Lake Inn is a delightful and comfortable base from which to explore the lakes and mountain region .

Green Features: The management follows sound environmental principles graciously. There is nothing preachy or overbearing about Squam Lake Inn's approach to its environmental practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I recently stayed three nights at the Squam Lake Inn, a very well-run nine-room B&B in a nicely renovated farmhouse, conveniently located to Big and Little Squam Lakes. The innkeepers, Cindy and Rae, also operate a small restaurant and a gift shop on the same property, as well as a nearby market. A handful of other restaurants, shops, and marinas in Holderness are within walking distance.

The guest rooms are charmingly decorated and extremely clean, with private baths. Staff are VERY friendly and service-oriented; some have worked there for five years or more.

The kitchen is really good. Front-of-house can be a little bit slow when the restaurant is busy (everybody on staff wears multiple hats), but the overall atmosphere is laid-back and accommodating.

Squam Lake Inn is slightly more expensive but much nicer than some of the nearby motels. It's not a waterfront property, but it makes a great base of operations for exploring Squam and the Lakes region, or (as in my case) chilling for a few nights when your nearby vacation cottage is overflowing with visiting family members. I look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We just got back from several nights at the Squam Lake Inn. It was a wonderful experience. As soon as you drive up and see the lovely gardens, the outdoor cafe and the many comfortable porches, the stress just melts away. The innkeepers have found the perfect balance between friendliness and giving you space to relax and enjoy some quiet time. The restaurant is fairly lively on weekend nights, but the crowd leaves early, and you can enjoy a glass of wine on the porch and just stroll up to your room. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The linens, bedding, soaps, etc. were first rate. And the location was perfect for enjoying the entire Lakes region. We will definitely be back! Thank you to everyone at the Inn!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Squam Lake Inn for 3 nights in May before the season got busy. We were impressed by the hospitality, cleanliness and overall charm of the inn. Every detail is attended to; our room was clean and comfortable. Our breakfasts were great with fresh flowers on our plates each morning. The restaurant was excellent. Steve our server could not have been more enthusiastic about the menu. Our meals were delicious and the presentation was very enjoyable. Lilacs were everywhere in the inn as they were in season. A very relaxing and great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I had a business trip to Boston and last minute I decided to spend the weekend near Rumney to rock climb. I always stay in the nearby hostel but this time wanted to check out Squam Lake area. This inn was #2, but I read through all the comments and read a similar theme, how nice and friendly the staff was, how nice the rooms were and how great the location was. So I went with "#2" and glad I made that choice.

First, all of the staff is truly friendly and wrote the book on customer service. Also as you walk to the Inn front door, there is beautiful, well kept garden and large partially wrap around porch. You walk in and there is a living room for guests with fireplace, making it a nice cozy retreat. Breakfast is included and delicious. I had lunch and dinner and it is divine to have homemade food and cozy environment. For example, they have a signature ice cream sandwich, they get the ice cream from a farm down the street that make the ice cream from scratch....by milking their cows! Everything on the menu (or almost) is supported by a local farm or business or made from scratch at the Inn.

I got the Eagle's Nest which is spacious, open and airy. And as the pics are correct, the bathroom is huge and divine.

Other than the amazing customer service and peaceful environment, the house is updated and tastefully decorated, yet it has old charm and character to it. I WILL be returning to Squam Lake Inn every time!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing