We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maplewood, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to relax!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We totally loved spending five days here and enjoying the Squam Lake area. This little B and B serves a great breakfast - we stayed long enough to get the four day rotation - and we weren't disappointed at all. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The inn is located within walking distance of town. Best for me was the location for long walks on a country road with great views of the lakes and mountains. We had dinner at the Inn on three of our five nights. An excellent menu and great food and presentation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvpnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    30
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
165
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Came over from Manchester. England. To live the 'on golden pond' experience for our silver wedding anniversary. It did not disappoint us. The room was delightfully comfortable. Very clean, The food excellent and the staff very friendly, helpful and polite. I would recommend this hotel. Breathtaking

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Squam Lake Inn (SLI). The last time we went was two years ago, and we had a fantastic experience then. It is always a concern when going back to a place that it will not live up to the first time. Squam Lake Inn not only lived up to our first amazing experience, it even surpassed it. Cindy and Rae were so great and really made us feel like we were home. Like always, the staff were courteous, helpful, and always in a good mood (then again how could you not be being at SLI?). We have to give a special thank you to the absolutely phenomenal Molly! From the moment we checked in she made us feel comfortable, at home, and bent over backwards to make sure our stay was nothing short of incredible. After a day of kayaking she even got us ice cream sandwiches to have out on the porch, even though the kitchen was closed. Quality touches like that will keep us coming back to our second home, SLI!

Now for the "other stuff" in case you want to know more. The SLI has great rooms that are spotlessly clean. The New England/Lakes Region charm is infused into each room and all over the inn. The rooms are off to one side of the house and the Inn Kitchen and Bar restaurant (where breakfast is also served) is on the other. We like this setup because it has the charm of a bed and breakfast, but the privacy of a hotel.

The breakfast is only for guests of the inn, is complementary, and is homemade each day. We always tried to sneak a peak at the menu board before turning into bed so we could know what treat we were going to look forward to the next morning. Each breakfast started out with coffee, tea, juice and fresh fruit salad, followed by the homemade breakfast of the day. To give you an idea, one morning it was orange cream stuffed french toast with thick cut bacon on the side. To say it was delicious would be the understatement of the century.

On a side note, we really wanted an iced tea with breakfast one day, but that wasn't usually ready until Lunch. Our server without hesitation said "not a problem," and seconds later came out with a tall iced tea! Another great moment in customer service! When asking for anything at SLI you never get an "I dont think we can" answer. They truly go above and beyond to fulfill any request.

For lunch and dinner the Inn Kitchen & Bar turns into a restaurant that is always packed, especially with locals (always a great sign of good quality food). They source most of their food locally. The turkey avocado club sandwich and lobster roll were awesome at lunch time. Dinner is very relaxing and you are by no means rushed through your meal. It is a nicely paced meal with top quality food and service. We just had to eat their for more than one night and ordered the following for which each I would highly recommend: Buttermilk Fried Chicken, Steak Tips, Seasonal Salad, and Lemon Sole. Seriously, try each and every one of these, you will not be disappointed!

Lastly, the dessert that is our favorite, for which we had 3 times this trip, are the ice cream sandwiches made with homemade cookies. The chocolate chip cookies with moose tracks ice cream is so good. But my favorite by far is the ginger spice cookies with candied ginger ice cream. We are determined to get dry ice next time we go up and take a few back with us!

Another nice touch the inn has is the homemade treats that get served in the afternoon free of charge. Whether it was lemon squares, or cranberry bars, we had to have 2 servings each (ok maybe we went back for thirds!).

SLI you made our summer vacation a memorable one. We recommend you to everyone we meet and will no doubt be back again!

Room Tip: Go for the little extra cost and stay in one of the three suites. They are a little larger and on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent B & B in this beautiful area. Gracious hosts, comfortable and well appointed rooms, and common spaces that are spacious and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Also had dinner there which was terrific. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Inn is beautifully decorated, the rooms are quaint and comfortable, and the free breakfast was delicious. Molly was so very welcoming and truly seemed to enjoy helping the guests in whatever was needed. Everyone at the Squam Lake Inn was more than happy to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area, and the location is a nice quiet spot off the beaten path. We loved the location close to Meredith, but far enough from the crowds and hustle/bustle around the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I and my wife recently stayed three nights at the Squam Lake Inn on short notice.
We were delightfully impressed by the exceptionally caring and helpful staff including the owners. They would always take time to offer advice and suggestions on things to do in the area. For a renovated farmhouse, they maintain it quite well. The breakfasts were large and quite tasty as well as the other meals available in the dining room at the Inn. They will also cater to special diet needs if you ask. The room we stayed in was quite small and has limited furniture. When asked for an additional chair, we were immediately provided with one. Many of the rooms do not have TV as some have complained. However, this is known beforehand if you take the time to ask and or read on their excellent website. As an observation, we recently stayed in several National Parks and there is no phone, TV, and limited cell phone service in many lodges within the parks. We found that reading a book or chatting with other guests in the evening was a pleasant change from watching TV. Likewise, there is also little to no cell phone service in the area of the Squam Lake Inn. They graciously provide a regular phone for guests to use which was quite thoughtful. We would have preferred somewhere on the lake, but it was easy to get to. Perhaps in the future, the innkeepers could make some arrangements for guests to have access to some beachfront area.

I would definitely return in the future. I would recommend it to others as long as they understand that this is an old renovated farmhouse in rural New Hampshire with nine rooms with all its charm and excellent food and service and not a large full facility hotel.

Finally, on a personal note, I left, by mistake, a medical device in our room that I needed. They immediately found it, packaged it up and mailed it to my home that I had the next day with no charge whatsoever! I travel regularly throughout the country and very rarely see this level of attention and service to guests.

Room Tip: If you want TV and large areas, then you will need to look for these on the website or call before b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyedad60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Squam Room the nights of July15-18, 2013. It features a pleasant sitting area looking out the front window as well as a fireplace. The staff was gracious and willing to accommodate. Since we had to leave very early the morning of our final day and would miss breakfast, Diane, the chef, stopped en route to work and picked up a couple of blueberry muffins for us to eat on the road. Maddy greeted us upon arrival, looked after us during our stay, and made sure we had orange juice to go along with the muffins. There is plenty of space to enjoy the inn’s many amenities, from the downstairs living room to a community room cum library on the second floor. The restaurant is arguably the best in the neighborhood, and accommodates patrons in the dining room, bar, and patio. Daily breakfast is both a surprise and a special treat. The menu is imaginative as well as wide ranging; service is prompt and friendly. Squam Lake Inn is a delightful and comfortable base from which to explore the lakes and mountain region .

Green Features: The management follows sound environmental principles graciously. There is nothing preachy or overbearing about Squam Lake Inn's approach to its environmental practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
424 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
18 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing