We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a b&b”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a b&b”
Reviewed 12 November 2008

stayed at this truly wonderful b&b on our honeymoon and could not have wished for a more special start to our trip. The b&b is just so incredibly beautiful on the outside and the room we stayed in, little squam, was very clean and cosy.
The owners were very accomodating and breakfast was varied and delicious. They succeeded in creating an atmosphere of homeliness that managed to impress us, adding that extra personal touch by baking those delicious cookies and cakes.
Don't want to seem to be exagerating but this b&b is a must for those that travel through this area!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank montgr1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
150
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Squam Lake Inn this past weekend. We found it charming! While not grand, the rooms are warm and welcoming and the owners try hard to make sure their guests have a pleasant stay. The Inn does not have a view of the lake but it is well situated for local sightseeing. We chose the Inn based on tripadvisor reviews and we were pleased by our choice. We had dinner one night at the Manor, across the road, and it was disappointing. The food was extremely mediocre and it was understaffed. Our waitress ran around frantically. The "bistro" dining room is stuffy and unattractive. Perhaps I am unfairly comparing the food to restaurants in NYC, but you expect more from a restaurant with those prices and a Small Luxury Hotels distinction.
We would happily pay the money to stay and eat at the Manor if we thought it was worth it, the Manor is beautiful and the location/view is breathtaking, but if you are traveling to the area do yourselves a favor -- stay at the Squam Lake Inn and try the Corner House in Sandwich for a meal! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelers032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Beautiful & romantic

  • Liked — God is in the details
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Squam Lake Inn was beautiful and impeccably clean. The breakfasts and afternoon pastries and cookies were incredible, especially the pumpkin pecan bars. The owners were welcomining, helpful, and accomodated our every need. The "lilac" room features just lovely decor. We plan to go back...again and again!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LisaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, NY
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2008

One of the loveliest inns in New England. Operated by an engaging couple who demonstrate both an exceptional level of guest service as well as impeccable property mangement standards, this is the perfect any season get away destination. The inn serves breakfast to guests only with lunch served (weather permitting on a wonderful pation) to both guests and locals. Both meals are not to be missed and feature irrestible menu offerings from chef/innkeeper Rae.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank mgm930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

We spent six nights in New England this autumn, in three different inns, and the Squam Lake Inn was our best find by a wide margin. A good location for exploring the local area, very friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfasts, very comfortable bedroom and nice public rooms: and everywhere spick and span.

Incidentally we had the Winnipesaukee room, and unlike another reviewer found the bed very comfortable!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — The friendly welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marialcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed at the Squam Lake Inn for 4 nights on what was our 2nd trip to New England and we absolutely loved it. Having stayed in about a dozen B&B's and Inns throughout the region this is our favourite by some way. The place is spotless, the food excellent, and hospitality second to none. Cindy and Rae make you feel so welcome you feel at home the minute you arrive . If you're visiting the area do yourself a favour and stay here - it's No1 rating is well deserved and totally justified.

  • Liked — Relaxed atsmosphere and perfect hosts
  • Disliked — There's nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank No1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing