We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We agree with the reviews-Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“We agree with the reviews-Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

We found the Squam Lake Inn through Tripadvisor reviews. It sounded just like the kind of place we would enjoy. It was truly charming, comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. They packed a wonderful box lunch for us to take on a picnic. The Innkeepers have paid a lot of attention to detail and have created a lovely getaway. We're planning to go back in October. There's no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    28
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
147
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

Rae & Cindy are a great team and our time spent at Squam Lake Inn was very warm and inviting. The attention to detail and care was great, the room sparkling clean and very comfortable (especially the great bed) and the food was better than we could have ever hoped for. The home is beautiful. We were thrilled to have made some new friendships and we look forward to returning.

Barry & Monica
Jacksonville Florida

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2005

Laconia Bike Week 2005, stayed at the Squam Lake Inn, What a great place, Clean rooms, great breakfasts and friendly atmosphere. The owners Rae and Cindy treated guests with open arms. We made a lot of new friendship their that should last a lifetime.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rms519
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2005

I can think of NOTHING negative to say about the Squam Lake Inn. And I don't know which element of my stay was the best: the charming building and tasteful rooms, the amazing food, the thoughtful extra touches (sent us a Christmas card and included a picture of myself and my fiance they'd taken the morning before our wedding!), or the phenomenal innkeepers. I stayed for three nights with my fiance/husband during our wedding weekend and it was an absolute pleasure. I felt right at home. The breakfasts were out of this world. And Rae and Cindy are about the nicest people you could ever meet. I will definitely be looking for excuses to return.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rms519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2005

Last Thanksgiving we came upon the rustic sign for this attractive inn as we were leaving the expensive Hotel next door… We were so happy to find that there might be other quality lodging in the area. We particularly like staying in Holderness because we have family nearby and like to walk into town and Squam Lake in the morning in the morning. (We live in NYC and like to walk).

We looked up their website and found a reasonably priced suite with fireplace and booked immediately for our first trip. We are so happy that we did! My husband and I just spent our first long weekend with this lovely family and plan to make this cozy Victorian farmhouse our new base when we are there. We want to stay in every room! I think there are eight.

The suite with fireplace had luxurious bedding, towels and a bathrobe for each of us. They have fabulous soaps and creams from a local farm (?). The Goatmeal soap, in particular, is creamy and slithery. (I bought 6 bars to give to friends, and was happy and surprised that one of the innkeepers individually gift-wrapped each one)

The innkeepers were so helpful. There when we needed them, but we had our privacy as well. They went out of their way to recommend restaurants, the best gasoline prices, (very important). We felt comfortable with them immediately and the housekeeping and service was personal and as satisfying as a top hotel.

Their breakfasts are included and they also use local products. We were guinea pigs for their new lunch service of soups and salads and LOVED the tortilla soup and lobster roll (my husband also enjoyed the beef sandwich with arugula) on the wooden deck. The deck overlooked a rustic red barn with American Flag banners... The weather was sunny and we didn’t want to leave.

This charming inn is a great find. It a perfect Lake House in keeping with the appeal of the region.

Helpful?
4 Thank auntmbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2003

The housekeeping is meticulous, the rooms have all the charm you want from a New England Bed & Breakfast and Ellie's cheerful hospitalityand cooking is excellent. Quiet time on the wrap-around porch is a great therapy that we have come to crave. We discovered the Pressed Petals Inn website on a lark and have been blessed to have had reason to visit the "Golden Pond" area and relax at the inn on countless occasions.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
6.8 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#1 of 3 in Holderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing