We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to end our New England tour - we will be back!”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We arrived early evening to a warm welcome with tea and home made pastries. There is a small cosy lounge with an open fire, very snug after a long day out. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are a small hint at how good the food must be when a full dinner is being served - we were too late in the season for that. And the location provides a great base to explore Squam Lake and the surrounding area. A really friendly, comfortable inn - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Squam Lake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

We were fortunate enough to spend a whole week at the Squam Lake Inn. From the moment we checked-in we were made to feel welcome by Cindy, Rae and the entire staff. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, we had no problem getting a good nights sleep here. All the food served here was exceptional and we were not served the same breakfast twice during our stay. We would also recommend eating at the Inn during the evening during your stay although there are other alternatives in Holderness and nearby.
Holderness is a great base to explore the lakes and surrounding area and a trip out on the lake is a must.
We would have no hesitation in staying at Squam Lake Inn should we venture that way again and the hospitality we experienced was second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our two nights stay at the Squam Lake Inn was not long enough. Rae and Cindy were excellent hosts - personable and interesting. There was plenty to do and see in the area and the Squam Lake Inn provided a great, central location for these activities. The room was just as advertised online. The breakfasts were supurb and afternoon cookies were a quaint touch.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spincastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have stayed here several times and the stays have always been pleasant. Cindy & Rae are very accomodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I was surprised to be able to get a last-minute reservation on Labor Day weekend when everything else was booked up. This place would definitely be my number one pick over the more commercial establishments in Meredith.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank CTBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We, my husband 13 year son and I, stayed for 4 nights - what a delightful experience. A beautiful setting; all the staff extremely warm and helpful; the breakfasts, supply of homemade cookies and evening meal (available Thurs to Sat) all superb. Cindy had an assortment of ideas and tips for visiting the area. If we lived locally I'm sure we would be regulars like many of their lunchtime and evening meal customers are.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This is a charming inn beautifully run by Cindy and Rae and their team of enthusiatic and attentive staff. All the rooms are comfortable and simply but tastefully furnished. Lunches and dinners are served Thursday to Sunday and are not to be missed. We had some of the freshest and best presented meals anywhere in New Hampshire. Breakfasts were uniformly excellent. Cindy's advice as to where to visit and dine was extremely helpful. We stayed there three nights and were sad to leave. Note for overseas visitors: watch out for Bike Week - this is best avoided unless you are a Harley owner as the roads south of Suam Lake are clogged with thousands of motorcycles.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubecula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

The pictures on the website do not do the Inn justice - it is absolutely wonderful! We stayed there for 3 nights on our trip to New England for our honeymoon and it was simply the best place we stayed the whole time we were in the States. Cindy and Rae are friendly yet unobtrusive and were just so helpful with reliable recommendations for eating out and trails to follow. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and so very comfortable, with everything you could want. The breakfasts were wonderful and there was such a friendly atmosphere in the dining room - it was lovely to meet so many lovely people so early in the day! We would go back tomorrow! What a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
119 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: £158 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing