We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitable, quaint, modern, delicious, comfortable, friendly, value, luxurious”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
“hospitable, quaint, modern, delicious, comfortable, friendly, value, luxurious”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Our stay at Squam Lake Inn was our first "empty nest" vacation, and it was all we hoped for. The Inn is very clean, tastefully designed and comfortable- both modern and quaint. The breakfasts are creative, ample and scrumptious (the best bacon I've ever had); the dinners are good portions, exquisite touches, luxuriously relaxing atmosphere. Both the owners, Cindy and Rae, and the staff are always attentive, friendly, efficient, when it comes to the basics and the flourishes- and special needs (they jumped through hoops to deal with our multiple chemical sensitivity problem-- not that the inn is "chemicalized" in any way that would affect non MCS sufferers). The area is perfectly located, so that we could easily access the pleasures of the lakes region and the White Mountains, far away from the touristy scenes of each. We will definitely recommend this place to friends, and be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IraBryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Thanks for the great review and we are glad that you had a great stay! I know you will be back for the BACON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    30
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
165
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This Inn is absolutely lovely. Set in a quiet, peaceful area, it is a pleasant and relaxing place to get away from it all. The room we stayed in was decorated very tastefully and seemed to radiate calmness. Dining in the restaurant proved to be an absolute delight. People were coming from all around, and once we took the first bite of our meal, it was obvious why. The restaurant could hold its own with the best. The food was fantastic. Two special drinks were offered the night we were there and I would give anything to have one right now. Desserts were delicious. Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twins4us07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We arrived early evening to a warm welcome with tea and home made pastries. There is a small cosy lounge with an open fire, very snug after a long day out. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfasts are a small hint at how good the food must be when a full dinner is being served - we were too late in the season for that. And the location provides a great base to explore Squam Lake and the surrounding area. A really friendly, comfortable inn - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We were fortunate enough to spend a whole week at the Squam Lake Inn. From the moment we checked-in we were made to feel welcome by Cindy, Rae and the entire staff. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet, we had no problem getting a good nights sleep here. All the food served here was exceptional and we were not served the same breakfast twice during our stay. We would also recommend eating at the Inn during the evening during your stay although there are other alternatives in Holderness and nearby.
Holderness is a great base to explore the lakes and surrounding area and a trip out on the lake is a must.
We would have no hesitation in staying at Squam Lake Inn should we venture that way again and the hospitality we experienced was second to none.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Cove
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our two nights stay at the Squam Lake Inn was not long enough. Rae and Cindy were excellent hosts - personable and interesting. There was plenty to do and see in the area and the Squam Lake Inn provided a great, central location for these activities. The room was just as advertised online. The breakfasts were supurb and afternoon cookies were a quaint touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spincastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have stayed here several times and the stays have always been pleasant. Cindy & Rae are very accomodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable. I was surprised to be able to get a last-minute reservation on Labor Day weekend when everything else was booked up. This place would definitely be my number one pick over the more commercial establishments in Meredith.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CTBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We, my husband 13 year son and I, stayed for 4 nights - what a delightful experience. A beautiful setting; all the staff extremely warm and helpful; the breakfasts, supply of homemade cookies and evening meal (available Thurs to Sat) all superb. Cindy had an assortment of ideas and tips for visiting the area. If we lived locally I'm sure we would be regulars like many of their lunchtime and evening meal customers are.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mintyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
423 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballard House Inn
Ballard House Inn
#1 of 6 in Meredith
367 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Property: Squam Lake Inn
Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing