We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience with food and comfort that exceeded our expectations.”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This is our third trip to this Inn and each time the innkeepers have gone above and beyond to create the a warm and comfortable experience for our family. The rooms are clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The food was prepared individually as we arrived in the dining room and was delicious. The innkeepers' maple sugared bacon is a personal favorite. This summer they made the most delicious ice cream sandwiches with a variety of ice cream flavors between the most yummy homemade cookies. They recently added a porch room that is a delightful place to dine. This bed and breakfast also has a renovated Red Barn that has become a delight filled decor and gift store. We will continue to come back to the Squam Lake Inn for years to come and look forward to every visit at this charming Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imabusybee4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

From the moment we arrived at the inn, we knew it was going to be one of the best B&B experiences ever for us. Over the years, we've been lucky enough to stay in several exquisite small luxury inns, each of which had something special that we liked very much and remember fondly. This was the first time, though, that all of those things we like best about the B&B's were fall ound in one place.

The rooms, furnishings and grounds were uniquely beautiful and, while it all had a distinctly New England feel, we could not help but think we had checked into an "Old" England cottage inn somewhere in the Cotswalds...beautiful English-style gardens overflowing with flowers of every color, a wonderful combination of elegance and comfort in the furnishings and, perhaps most important to us at times, the most outrageously comfy bed linens, fluffy pillows and yummy featherbed mattress.

We checked in mid-afternoon and, after a warm welcome and informative tour by one of the two owners, Cindy, we went upstairs to settle into our room. We're both avid readers, so were unable to avoid perusing the very well-stocked and interesting library that wraps around the second floor landing. It's a good thing Cindy made dinner reservations for us downstairs or we might have never left the upstairs all evening!

Dinner was amazing. All of the food was fresh, from local growers, cooked to perfection and served by staff who were very professional, yet warm and treated everyone as if they each were their own personal guests. The wine list was really good and very interesting and their signature St Germaine cocktail - complete with its very own accessories - was easily the best cocktail(s) we've ever had.

Their breakfast should be against the law it was so incredibly delicious! The pancakes were out of this world (how did they make them fluffy AND crispy?) and everyone in the dining room was noticeably oohing and aahing over the bacon (which we know now they are famous for).

After breakfast, we went into their "Red Barn" shop, which is, as you might have guessed, in a huge red barn on their property that they renovated into a very cool space. They had a lot of great stuff that we would've have never found anywhere else. [I can't say what we bought, though, because we loaded up on Christmas presents and know that our friends and family might read this!]

With great reluctance, we gathered our things and checked out. It really was one of those "silver box" experiences for us and one we plan to recreate every chance we get. We wish we had arranged to stay more than one night and are hoping to run back up for leaf-peeping this Fall and stay for at least a few days this time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cj19114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you had a great time at the inn and are hopeful that a return trip is in your future. Your kind words could not have come at a better time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Insufficient breakfast, mediocre room, and unwelcoming attitude from the owner. This is a place at which anyone under 50 years of age is not welcome even if, like us, you are a doctor or have a Ph.D. All guests were served a standard breakfast that was woefully insufficient, especially before a day of outdoor activity. When we asked if the owner could make us oatmeal instead of her prided morning creation, she replied that she would be "embarrassed" to serve it to us. This inn is a pseudo bed and breakfast in which the owners attempt to create a gentrified hippie ambiance that does not strive to make guests happy. We checked out a day early and the owner could not have been happier to see us leave. She checked with us to ensure that we were not expecting the complimentary lunch that was included in our package because, as was evident, our welcome was clearly worn out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Although, I did not personally meet you, I was very aware of your stay. There are many inconsistencies to your story posted above. You have made several false claims and I will respond to them. Regarding your breakfast, shortly after check in you requested to have oatmeal, peanut butter and nuts for breakfast. Although, we thought our oatmeal selection available for you was a bit lackluster--no problem. I prepared Quaker oatmeal for you. When you arrived in the dining room for breakfast you decided to go ahead and have our breakfast of the day which consisted of orange juice, fruit and yogurt cup, 4 grain pancakes, and maple sugar bacon. Sorry that your breakfast was insufficient. Regarding your customer service rating of our inn, we are certain that that we attempted to satisfy your every request and answer all your questions. Molly, personally spent an abundance of time with you coordinating your day, making boat reservations, going over maps and discussing hikes with you. Visit the the inns website to view a photo of the breakfast that the reviewer had during their stay, as this is typical of the food we do serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We went here to celebrate our 15th anniversary and had a great time. The food was exceptional and we loved the new bar/restaurant area. The local ingredients make the meals extra fresh and delicious. We LOVED the breakfasts!!! The staff was very courteous and helpful in finding things to do in the area and when we wanted to relax they have a great porch to sit and have a nice glass of wine. Beautiful scenery all around.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovelivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Squam Lake Inn couldn't have been more perfect- truly friendly, helpful staff and tasteful, interesting decor, combined with delicious food made our visit unforgettable. After four nights at Squam Lake we really didn't want to leave. There were still lots of things to be done. All the locals were pleasant, lovely people who couldn't do enough to help us.
Cindy and Rae deserve credit for their exceptional attention to detail and for the warmth of their welcome. The Red Barn Shop is full of treasures and adds another dimension.
Holderness is a lovely wee place- the Science Centre does a great boat-tour of the lake- we saw loons and bald eagles!!!!!!!! Asquam Marina rents out motor boats with detailed maps- fantastic fun! Don't miss this place! Don't stay any where else!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronagh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Our stay at Squam Lake Inn was our first "empty nest" vacation, and it was all we hoped for. The Inn is very clean, tastefully designed and comfortable- both modern and quaint. The breakfasts are creative, ample and scrumptious (the best bacon I've ever had); the dinners are good portions, exquisite touches, luxuriously relaxing atmosphere. Both the owners, Cindy and Rae, and the staff are always attentive, friendly, efficient, when it comes to the basics and the flourishes- and special needs (they jumped through hoops to deal with our multiple chemical sensitivity problem-- not that the inn is "chemicalized" in any way that would affect non MCS sufferers). The area is perfectly located, so that we could easily access the pleasures of the lakes region and the White Mountains, far away from the touristy scenes of each. We will definitely recommend this place to friends, and be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

Thanks for the great review and we are glad that you had a great stay! I know you will be back for the BACON!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This Inn is absolutely lovely. Set in a quiet, peaceful area, it is a pleasant and relaxing place to get away from it all. The room we stayed in was decorated very tastefully and seemed to radiate calmness. Dining in the restaurant proved to be an absolute delight. People were coming from all around, and once we took the first bite of our meal, it was obvious why. The restaurant could hold its own with the best. The food was fantastic. Two special drinks were offered the night we were there and I would give anything to have one right now. Desserts were delicious. Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twins4us07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glynn House Inn
Glynn House Inn
#1 of 2 in Ashland
433 reviews
6.2 mi away
Center Harbor Inn
Center Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Center Harbor
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: £147 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing