We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn”
Review of Squam Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Squam Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Very relaxing and enjoyable inn. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Cindy was a great host. Rae is a great cook. Enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbywat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

My wife & I took a relaxing getaway for our 24th anniversary. We were very pleased with the SLI, with it's charm, character & coziness. Cindy & Rae were great hosts & congratulations on their 19th anniversary as well! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Next time we would go earlier in the year as the barn was closed for the season & the dinners we heard so much about, were no longer being served.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ksdabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Let down by its poky rooms with no space to hang up clothes, no wardrobe and a bathroom door that had to be forced open! However the resteraunt and staff were excellent. Not suitable for a stay of more than a night if there is no alternative.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rameman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Thank you for your feedback and recent stay at the Squam Lake Inn. We apologize for the sticky door. We would have appreciated the opportunity to remedy the issue during your stay--the door is now fixed. Our traditional rooms are limited in square footage by the nature of our historic inn. However, the inn does have deluxe rooms available which offer more space, storage, seating areas and gas fireplaces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Everyone at the SLI was so warm and accomodating, Like going to visit old friends... Im hoping to get a larger group together for next season and make it an annual trip, and this time , we will actually be visiting dear friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at Squam Lake Inn for five nights in the Winnepesaukee room which was small (12X12 with no closet) and overlooked a parking lot where people could look directly into our room. The room was also over their cafe where they served lunch and dinner, making it a bit noisy if you wanted to relax. It might be warm in the summer due to not cross ventilation. Two other rooms (Loon and Little Squam) were similarly small. The room had a king bed, one wood chair and table. The bathroom was small. All this for $180 which we think is over priced. The website is a bit deceptive about the parking lot view. Other patrons felt disappointed also, based on the price. On the positive side, Holderness is a great location,the Inn is on a quiet road, breakfasts were mostly good, and the cafe was a very nice place to eat dinner. They furnish robes and delicious afternoon treats, but they did not clean our sink and toilet for the whole five-day stay, and I had to ask for toilet paper. Maybe if you get one of their deluxe rooms you would have a different impression. Cindy and Rae gave us good information when asked, but they were very busy with the restaurant most of the time. I think this inn does good business because there are not many alternatives in the lakes area in the $200 range.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freshhoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

We very much appreciate that you will be recommending the Squam Lake Inn to
your friends. In response to some of your concerns, first, we are very
comfortable with our website's portrayal of the Inn. The photos do
accurately portray the size, amenities, or view in our rooms. Your comment
about the room being warm in the summer should not be too much of a concern
due to the fact that all rooms have A/C during the summer months. In
regards to housekeeping, we apologize for the error in not placing an extra
roll of toilet paper in your room during daily housekeeping on a particular
day. However, I'm sure you found our housekeeping very thorough and we do so
wish you had let us know of any concerns as we would have remedied these
issues immediately. Each morning we had your "special" request breakfast
ready to go for you in addition to the Inn's breakfast of the day. In
addition, we followed up for several days on a package delivery you were
expecting with our post office and delivered it to your room. We also
provided you with a phone to conduct personal business on at no additional
charge. All of which we believe provides added value and does show that we
are more than willing to accommodate our guests and their concerns. Your
stay was over Columbus Day Weekend which is the busiest time of the fall in
New England. Yes, we were extremely busy and glad we could help you when
called upon. Our restaurant hours for dinner are from 5-8pm. We purposely
close our dining room early so that we can get the Inn quiet for our lodging
guests. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Squam Lake Inn is in a very picturesque area and we had a great stay. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty. The Inn also serves dinner to both residents and others and is clearly popular with visitors and locals alike.

The Natural Science centre is worth a visit and a joint ticket with a cruise on Squam Lake is recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squamlakeinn, Owner at Squam Lake Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2010

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and send us back your room key! Hope Boston was fabulous and we are glad you had a great stay at the Squam Lake Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 3 days during a trip around New England. We were made very welcome and immediately offered an upgrade to a larger room on arrival. The location is perfect, breakfasts are fantastic and dinners deicious. Staff were very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kendalgeoffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.8 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Savoie's Lodging and Camping
Savoie's Lodging and Camping
#1 of 1 in Center Harbor
2 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Boulders Motel & Cottages
#2 of 3 in Holderness
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squam Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squam Lake Inn

Address: 28 Shepard Hill Rd, Holderness, NH 03245-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range: £135 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Squam Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Squam Lake Inn in the breathtaking White Mountains region in Holderness, NH. Steps from the shores of Squam Lake, bask in the simple pleasures of nature’s beauty at our Holderness, NH hotel. Our Squam Lake lodging boasts lovely rooms with comfy beds and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and afternoon snacks prepared with fresh, local & seasonal ingredients or join us for lunch, dinner or Sunday Brunch on your Squam Lake vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Squam Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squam Lake Hotel Holderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing