We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The rooms are so very dated at this motel. The buildings really need a major overhaul and renovation. The beds are very soft. The rooms are so small there is no where to put your suitcase. The shower is barely large enough to turn around in. Everything works. The screened porch sitting area was nice (though a little bit smelly). The carpet is really sticky and dirty and though I think they vacuum it often, it really needs to be replaced. Very nice staff.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank DenverTravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Sorry to hear you were displeased, there are suit case racks beneath the hanging rack, there are units with full baths & showers we could have moved you had you made mention. I checked the carpet in the unit, maybe tracking in with wet suits from the beach caused the sticky feel? I did not experience it. I wish you had mentioned your issues while on the property so we could review them and have the opportunity to correct them. The beds, oh the beds, we will have people come in and say they had the best night's sleep in years, and others don't like the soft nature of the beds? We did buy new mattresses and are awaiting the comments :o). Should you come to the area again, please give us the chance to redeem ourselves - remember if the shower stall isn't for you, ask for a tub. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have been to Boulders many times over the years. The beach is great for little kids. My boys missed the paddle boat this year, but we had fun on the canoe and kayaks. The rooms are okay, some of the furniture definitely needs to be updated. The staff was very helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbelanger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your review. The paddle boat removal decision came when folks would allow the children to use it unattended and the children would think it fun to sink it. I am sorry a group had to ruin it for ithers, sometimes, that happens, I will consider another one. The furniture is such a touchy subject. We have updated some beds, mattresses, bedding & towels - however, the metal beds/desks, tables are retro ... the majority of people love them! They say it is like stepping back in time to a simpler way. It is tough to please all but I hope you make it back to see the changes and feel free to comment in the office at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 days.

Pros:
- Has reasonably well equipped kitchenette.
- Dinning room in screened porch over looking the lake. We stared at the beautiful lake every meal , very peaceful.
- canoe, kayak, and life jackets to use for free
- coffee and tea in the morning
- friendly, helpful management, quick to response to emails.
- a small, shallow beach, good for little kids

Cons:
- No hair dryer, shower stall kind of cramp
- not much sound insulation between units
- because the bedrooms face the parking side of the bulilding, conversations outside the bedrooms go right in.
- our unit only has 1 fan, would be good to have a fan in each bedroom. We didn't ask the management for an extra fan, maybe that was possible.

By and large, the pros outweighs the cons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review. Due to you taking the time to comment, we now have notes in the rooms to share that we do have hairdryers, additional fans, microwaves, coffee makers, bocce ball, redneck horseshoes, beach floats, etc available upon request in the office. All were available, I am sorry you were not made aware of that. The beach starts off shallow then reaches 15 feet at the swim raft for the older children. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Room overlooked the lake with a screen porch - what's not to like about that? It's not a luxury hotel but very clean and the owners were very accommodating with our check in and check out times. I left my iphone charger there and had an email from them before I even realized that I had forgotten it. They quickly mailed it back to me. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My son and I love it at Boulders. They have the most beautiful beach and boats available. The fire pit is great too. The staff are friendly and courteous and the accomadations are clean and spacious. The location is perfect as well. It is only about 20 minutes to Lake Winnepesaukee or to Plymouth. The towns of Ashland and Holderness have much to offer as well. This is our sixth year coming to Boulders and the current management are dedicated to making improvements.

Room Tip: book early because in the height of the season the rooms go quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for the review. We are dedicated to upgrading and caring for this beautiful property. There are way too few retro motels like ours and on Squam ... we plan to keep The Boulders operating for public lakefront access for another 60 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This place would be wonderful for a family vacation on a lake with cabins and cabin style suites, screened in porches, a big beach, swingset, firepit, canoes, and a rowboat. Unfortunately we weren’t there for a summer vacation. It clearly isn’t geared toward business travelers (no hairdryers in the rooms for example) but coffee and a small breakfast were available in the morning and wireless internet was available, though weaker in some rooms than others. Some of the rooms face directly onto the road and can be noisy as a result, but many of the rooms are behind the big boulder, and the cabins are separated from the road by the other buildings so the noise isn’t a problem there. The owner was very friendly and helpful and went out of his way to make sure we were completely satisfied. Overall the Boulders Lakefront Motel is a great place for the price.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your review, due to your review, we have placed a folder in each unit listing the items available in the office upon request. Hair dryers, curling iron, extra pillows, blankets, bocce ball, firewood, cork screws, plates, glasses, cutlery, etc. We assumed if a need came up during a stay, someone would come to the office to request what they needed. I am sorry the list wasn't in the room for you, it's there now for future guests. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

During the latter part of September my husband and I spent 3 days at the Boulders Motel in Holderness,New Hampshire. The autumn colours were beautiful ,the view from the small screened porch off the bedroom was lovely and it was so convenient for us to launch our triple kayak and paddle both Little Squam Lake and through the charming passage into Big Squam. . We were interested to discover it was the setting for the movie On Golden Pond. We also hiked up the Bridal Path trail to Rattlesnake Ridge ( about a 15 min. drive away ) and from there you can see for miles, overlooking stunning scenery.The hotel's beach was very clean,the water still warm and they provided a variety of water craft ,chairs,and small docks. The staff were pleasant and helpful in suggesting how e could launch our kayak as the motel itself is situated on quite a rise above the water. They also provided us with a map of the two lakes . We enjoyed the homemade muffins in the morning along with coffee while we sat in our little porch.Just down the road(,a nice walk),is Walter's Basin, a lakeside restaurant and pub where we ate 3 times. All three meals there were delicious. The Boulders is by no means a fancy motel but it was comfortable,clean and was perfect for viewing the colours in a wonderful setting. There were also a couple of housekeeping cabins which would be perfect for families and there is a small playground.

Room Tip: I think we were in Room 18 which was fine and had a wonderful view of the lake and pinetrees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154976Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for your insight about our property. I noticed the 4 rating for sleep? We have invested in our guests comfort with new mattresses. We wish for you to return and check them out. Thank you for your review. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
112 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#4 of 10 in Plymouth
95 reviews
2.1 mi away
White Oak Motel & Cottages
White Oak Motel & Cottages
#1 of 3 in Holderness
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Manor on Golden Pond
The Manor on Golden Pond
#3 of 3 in Holderness
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Motel & Cottages

Address: 981 US Route 3, Squam Lake, Holderness, NH 03245-5633
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulders Motel & Cottages is Squam Lakes' only direct lakefront motel. Being centrally located, we are the perfect destination for your NH get away, there are many NH attractions nearby. We offer motel rooms, suites and Cottages, all of which offer their own private screened porch over looking the lake. The Boulders was named after the unique terrain on which our units are perched, our units are situated on granite ledge therefore, they all have a wonderful lake view. The Boulders is proudly the largest & oldest resort on New Hampshire’s beautiful Squam Lakes, we take great pride in preserving its charm. Situated on 600 feet of “Golden Pond" it is the quintessential lake get away. Our 100 ft of sandy beach can be the highlight of your trip, just lounging in one of our many beach chairs watching the family build sand castles and memories. Sunning on the beach, lakeside barbeques, (picnic tables and charcoal grills are scattered throughout the property), traveling via complimentary canoe, kayak, or row boat to see the loons, eagles, or to cast a line for that elusive "Walter". In the evening, gather around our beach side fire pit - toast marshmallows, make s’mores, share stories, and maybe break out into a good old fashioned sing-a-long. Located in the town of Holderness, Nestled in the lakes region, there are many entertainment options ... hike Rattlesnake Mountain for miles of spectacular views!(10 mins away) Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, walk the quaint village, pop into the library, sandwiches at the country store, great meal at Walter's Basin, cruise the lake on the pontoon tour or charter Experience Squam crew. Stay at The Boulders and you will surely ~"Make memories that will last a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boulders Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing