We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Boulders Motel & Cottages!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Laval, QC
1 review
“We loved Boulders Motel & Cottages!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great views of the lake. Ultra friendly management and staff, We felt that we had left civilization behind it was so quiet. We also felt at home, like we were visiting family. What a great experience. We recommend Boulders!

Room Tip: We loved the screened in porch! And leaving the door to the porch open for fresh air all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We LOVE the property as well and it is always an ounce of encouragement when others love it as much as we do. The property is a very special spot, very few like it still exist as public spaces. Thank you for taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
27
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Great location. All the rooms at Bretton Woods were booked up, so we gave Boulders a shot. It was fine. Unique accomidations and everyone has their own mini-cottage. Staff/Owners are very accommodating and easy going. Check in great. Rooms dated but very clean and beds comfy. Had our own wood-burning fireplace. Kitchen and TV with cable a plus. Price is right. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
I am afraid this review is for the wrong property as our cottages are closed for the winter months. We do have our Main House for rental during the winter months but do not have a wood burning fireplace, only LP fired ones. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Comfortable room,very reasonable price...perfect mornings with the lake view...free kayaks,nice breakfast and very freindly staff and owner......will defntly come again if we get a chance...the location is also perfect,just half an hour from kangamagus highway

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahayathrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words, our location can not be beat! We are trying every day to improve our guests experience. Thank you for noticing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Comfortable beds, hot showers, an adorable screened-in porch, two kayaks for guests to use at no extra charge, loons calling in the morning, and a quick drive to the trails up Rattlesnake Mountain and the Italian Farmhouse restaurant, both of which we recommend. On top of that, the staff was friendly and responsive. We had bad luck and got some noisy neighbors -- otherwise the thin walls wouldn't have been a problem. Overall, a comfortable, well-run motel in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the two corner rooms...your porch will be more airy and you'll only have neigh...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we now have 5 kayaks for guests use. The loons are such a great addition to the entire lake front experience. We hope to have you stay with us again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

The rooms are so very dated at this motel. The buildings really need a major overhaul and renovation. The beds are very soft. The rooms are so small there is no where to put your suitcase. The shower is barely large enough to turn around in. Everything works. The screened porch sitting area was nice (though a little bit smelly). The carpet is really sticky and dirty and though I think they vacuum it often, it really needs to be replaced. Very nice staff.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverTravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Sorry to hear you were displeased, there are suit case racks beneath the hanging rack, there are units with full baths & showers we could have moved you had you made mention. I checked the carpet in the unit, maybe tracking in with wet suits from the beach caused the sticky feel? I did not experience it. I wish you had mentioned your issues while on the property so we could review them and have the opportunity to correct them. The beds, oh the beds, we will have people come in and say they had the best night's sleep in years, and others don't like the soft nature of the beds? We did buy new mattresses and are awaiting the comments :o). Should you come to the area again, please give us the chance to redeem ourselves - remember if the shower stall isn't for you, ask for a tub. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have been to Boulders many times over the years. The beach is great for little kids. My boys missed the paddle boat this year, but we had fun on the canoe and kayaks. The rooms are okay, some of the furniture definitely needs to be updated. The staff was very helpful with any questions we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbelanger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your review. The paddle boat removal decision came when folks would allow the children to use it unattended and the children would think it fun to sink it. I am sorry a group had to ruin it for ithers, sometimes, that happens, I will consider another one. The furniture is such a touchy subject. We have updated some beds, mattresses, bedding & towels - however, the metal beds/desks, tables are retro ... the majority of people love them! They say it is like stepping back in time to a simpler way. It is tough to please all but I hope you make it back to see the changes and feel free to comment in the office at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 days.

Pros:
- Has reasonably well equipped kitchenette.
- Dinning room in screened porch over looking the lake. We stared at the beautiful lake every meal , very peaceful.
- canoe, kayak, and life jackets to use for free
- coffee and tea in the morning
- friendly, helpful management, quick to response to emails.
- a small, shallow beach, good for little kids

Cons:
- No hair dryer, shower stall kind of cramp
- not much sound insulation between units
- because the bedrooms face the parking side of the bulilding, conversations outside the bedrooms go right in.
- our unit only has 1 fan, would be good to have a fan in each bedroom. We didn't ask the management for an extra fan, maybe that was possible.

By and large, the pros outweighs the cons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Due to you taking the time to comment, we now have notes in the rooms to share that we do have hairdryers, additional fans, microwaves, coffee makers, bocce ball, redneck horseshoes, beach floats, etc available upon request in the office. All were available, I am sorry you were not made aware of that. The beach starts off shallow then reaches 15 feet at the swim raft for the older children. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.4 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
91 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
103 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Motel & Cottages

Property: Boulders Motel & Cottages
Address: 981 US Route 3, Squam Lake, Holderness, NH 03245-5633
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulders Motel & Cottages is Squam Lakes' only direct lakefront motel. Being centrally located, we are the perfect destination for your NH get away, there are many NH attractions nearby. We offer motel rooms, suites and Cottages, all of which offer their own private screened porch over looking the lake. The Boulders was named after the unique terrain on which our units are perched, our units are situated on granite ledge therefore, they all have a wonderful lake view. The Boulders is proudly the largest & oldest resort on New Hampshire’s beautiful Squam Lakes, we take great pride in preserving its charm. Situated on 600 feet of “Golden Pond" it is the quintessential lake get away. Our 100 ft of sandy beach can be the highlight of your trip, just lounging in one of our many beach chairs watching the family build sand castles and memories. Sunning on the beach, lakeside barbeques, (picnic tables and charcoal grills are scattered throughout the property), traveling via complimentary canoe, kayak, or row boat to see the loons, eagles, or to cast a line for that elusive "Walter". In the evening, gather around our beach side fire pit - toast marshmallows, make s’mores, share stories, and maybe break out into a good old fashioned sing-a-long. Located in the town of Holderness, Nestled in the lakes region, there are many entertainment options ... hike Rattlesnake Mountain for miles of spectacular views!(10 mins away) Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, walk the quaint village, pop into the library, sandwiches at the country store, great meal at Walter's Basin, cruise the lake on the pontoon tour or charter Experience Squam crew. Stay at The Boulders and you will surely ~"Make memories that will last a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boulders Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing