We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the Boulders!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Boulders!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my mom & sister in one of their motel rooms (2 queen beds). Nice experience. If you are hoping for a big hotel 5 star experience, this place isn't for you. If you are like me and want to be lakefront on Squam (this is actually on Little Squam but connects to big Squam - and Little Squam, 2 miles long, is sizable) and have that summer lodge experience then this is for you. Decent sized rooms, clean, a cute screened in area that overlooks the lake. Continental breakfast was good (nice assortment of fruit and muffins). Kayaks available (no extra cost). Sandy swimming beach with swim platform. Nice campy atmosphere - this place blends in nice with the lake, lots of trees. Seemed like a great family place - and we met a couple families who come for a week and have been doing so for a while. My mom and I did the Loon tour (Fridays and Mondays only) on Big Squam and that was a good experience. If you can find/make a friend with a boat, we highly recommend the church service on Chocorua Island (very unique experience, they have a pump organ in a shed, pews in the woods, and the church service itself was very very good). Will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to help folks understand the charm of our property.. I believe you can't please everyone, all of the time, but we continue we try! I truly value your honest review. Thank you! See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
29
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Once again our week at the Boulders was wonderful. Sitting at the beautiful beach watching my children swim with good friends they have caught up with once a year since they were small, is the best feeling. The crystal clear water and pristine conditions at Squam can't be beat. The Boulders has everything you could need. Clean and stocked efficiency rooms. Picnic tables on the water for cookouts, fishing off docks , canoes and kayaks always ready for use. Lounge chairs on the beach with the choice of shade or sun waiting for lazy afternoon with a book. Thinking about how everyone will gather around the fire pit at night , the kids running around laughing and having fun. Knowing you have all the comforts of home back at the rooms for a comfortable nights sleep. Then you wake up and head out to the great porch, that faces the lake and wait to hear the call or catch a glimpse of a loon. Thanks to the Boulder staff who are always ready to help with any needs you may have. We count the weeks until we return again to the Boulders. The room is already reserved for next year. We can't wait.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle for great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirlybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
To hear our repeat guests talk of the property so fondly is reassurance we are making the right decision to continue operating as a motel property. There has been alot of talk that we should cash in and go condo. We are holding out for guests like you, the ones that appreciate the charm of the lake and the rusticity of our units, the flash back to a time you thought was gone. You can find lakefront charm here at the Boulders. Thank you for taking the time to review us & for making memories with us. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We occupied almost all of the property for my daughters wedding guests for 3 days in June. Every one of our guests were thrilled with the accommodations. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beach is perfect and we were thrilled we could dock our boat there. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They even have delicious coffee, muffins and fresh fruit available early in the morning. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, especially if you are having a family reunion or wedding and want everyone to be together in a great spot! Thanks Lisa and the Boulders family for a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Your group was great and all of your hard work organizing paid off. We'll hope to see you for the Anniversary celebrations! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place is totally awesome. We were here for 2days but felt that we should have stayed longer. The cottage was extremely clean and a vacuum cleaner was provided too. There were stand fans in both our rooms. All kitchen equipment was clean. There were many towels for cleaning purpose, that made things very easy to manage. The staff is extremely helpful and provided coal for bbq for just $3. They have kayaks which the guests can use complimentary indefinitely. We had a great time here. Very beautiful location. Definitely worth the stay. No disturbance from anywhere!

Room Tip: Stay longer! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we strive to make all who visit feel welcomed and eager to return. We hope when you are in the area, you will pop in to say hello. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Had a wonderful stay for the first weekend of bike week. Management was extremely courteous and helpful to provide super comfy cots for the children at no additional cost for our stay. Which freed up more bed space to accommodate the adults without having to upgrade our room. Overall no complaints. :) Very cozy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSa1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you were pleased. Hoping to have you return to us next year, if not before. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, QC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great views of the lake. Ultra friendly management and staff, We felt that we had left civilization behind it was so quiet. We also felt at home, like we were visiting family. What a great experience. We recommend Boulders!

Room Tip: We loved the screened in porch! And leaving the door to the porch open for fresh air all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We LOVE the property as well and it is always an ounce of encouragement when others love it as much as we do. The property is a very special spot, very few like it still exist as public spaces. Thank you for taking the time to rate us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Great location. All the rooms at Bretton Woods were booked up, so we gave Boulders a shot. It was fine. Unique accomidations and everyone has their own mini-cottage. Staff/Owners are very accommodating and easy going. Check in great. Rooms dated but very clean and beds comfy. Had our own wood-burning fireplace. Kitchen and TV with cable a plus. Price is right. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarvis.lambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BouldersMotel2012, Owner at Boulders Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
I am afraid this review is for the wrong property as our cottages are closed for the winter months. We do have our Main House for rental during the winter months but do not have a wood burning fireplace, only LP fired ones. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holderness
5.4 mi away
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
Pilgrim Inn and Cottages
#3 of 10 in Plymouth
93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Ashland
104 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Common Man Inn & Spa
Common Man Inn & Spa
#1 of 10 in Plymouth
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Squam Lake Inn
Squam Lake Inn
#1 of 3 in Holderness
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Golden Pond
Inn on Golden Pond
#2 of 3 in Holderness
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Motel & Cottages

Property: Boulders Motel & Cottages
Address: 981 US Route 3, Squam Lake, Holderness, NH 03245-5633
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Motel & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulders Motel & Cottages is Squam Lakes' only direct lakefront motel. Being centrally located, we are the perfect destination for your NH get away, there are many NH attractions nearby. We offer motel rooms, suites and Cottages, all of which offer their own private screened porch over looking the lake. The Boulders was named after the unique terrain on which our units are perched, our units are situated on granite ledge therefore, they all have a wonderful lake view. The Boulders is proudly the largest & oldest resort on New Hampshire’s beautiful Squam Lakes, we take great pride in preserving its charm. Situated on 600 feet of “Golden Pond" it is the quintessential lake get away. Our 100 ft of sandy beach can be the highlight of your trip, just lounging in one of our many beach chairs watching the family build sand castles and memories. Sunning on the beach, lakeside barbeques, (picnic tables and charcoal grills are scattered throughout the property), traveling via complimentary canoe, kayak, or row boat to see the loons, eagles, or to cast a line for that elusive "Walter". In the evening, gather around our beach side fire pit - toast marshmallows, make s’mores, share stories, and maybe break out into a good old fashioned sing-a-long. Located in the town of Holderness, Nestled in the lakes region, there are many entertainment options ... hike Rattlesnake Mountain for miles of spectacular views!(10 mins away) Squam Lakes Natural Science Center, walk the quaint village, pop into the library, sandwiches at the country store, great meal at Walter's Basin, cruise the lake on the pontoon tour or charter Experience Squam crew. Stay at The Boulders and you will surely ~"Make memories that will last a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boulders Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing