We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen it's better days” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarecrow Pub - CLOSED

Scarecrow Pub
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Seen it's better days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A cute little pub, right outside of Conway on the Bartlett border. Years ago this used to be a hopping place but the last few times we've been there the place has been just about empty. Food was okay, service was good but something's changed...not sure what. Perhaps there are so many choices in No Conway that folks don't venture further down 302 to find other eating establishments.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shawscamaro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    23
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Scarecrow never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited Scarecrow on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. Sat at the bar to have a couple of appetizers and a couple of beers. Met great locals who hang out there and chatted with them. We had the Canadian French Fries (poutine) and the locals told us to get a side of mushroom gravy for dipping. Yup! Also had the Popeye's Boat which is a casserole of spinach and onion. Good stuff! Cold beers, good people and good food. Nothing fancy. Just how we like it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best place in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The food an service are always good. This is always a stop of ours when we go north. The burgers, French onion soup and tips are great. Stop here and you will not be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gets_around_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Much bigger inside than it looks. Parking is ample. Always a crowd there. Seating was quick and simple. Menu has lots to offer. Burger, fries & beverage are a very good value! Atmosphere is very dated - food is good and beer is cold.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food not good after previous high rating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family had been regulars at the Scarecrow Pub, until a recent visit. The food on a Wed. evening was overcooked, and dried out, not at all up to the expected quality we had experience in the past. There is a sign on their wall, stating something like "if you like our food, tell others; if you don't, tell us". I got home and thought more about it, and our disappointment, and wished that I had said something while in the restaurant. The next morning, I wrote a letter explaining our dissatisfaction and referred to their sign on the wall, that I was, indeed, telling them that it wasn't good. I also included a copy of my previous high-rated review on TripAdvisor. That was 6 weeks ago and I have heard nothing from them. I expected a phone call or letter, at the least, with an apology. We will not be returning, and we can no longer recommend the Scarecrow Pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarecrow Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing