We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't imagine staying anywhere else!”
Review of Old Field House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Field House
Ranked #2 of 3 Intervale B&B and Inns
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't imagine staying anywhere else!”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is our second stay at the Old Field House Inn and we can't imagine staying anywhere else when in New Hampshire.
As soon as you walk in the front door you are greeted by either Rod, Linea or "Teddy" and the feeling of "being home" is very evident.
They offer many different types of rooms (a single queen bed room to 2 adjoining rooms for a family). The bed in room 113 is so comfy!
The location of this inn also leads to a quiet nights sleep as you are off the main highway and away from the traffic noise.
Our children, ages 10 and 17 absolutely love this place. There is a family movie every night in the theatre room, an arcade for the kids to play in and a pool and hot tub out back.
In the morning you are treated to a wonderful breakfast, including cold and hot cereals, eggs, sausages, homemade breads, fruits and juices and the best of all is the waffle made with a smile by Rod. And no matter where you sit in the breakfast room......you have a front row seat to the many birds (and chipmunks) that visit every morning.
The inn is centrally located to many attractions....and even if you do have to drive a bit, the scenery is breathtaking and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    25
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

How many innkeepers give you a big (and sincere) hug when you leave in the morning? That's the kind of place the Old Field House is-- and the kind of warm and friendly hosts that Linea and Rod are. My wife wanted to reawaken her child within and go on a Polar Express excursion, so i went along. By the end of the weekend-- thanks largely to the hospitality we experienced at thr Old Field House-- I was as enchanted as she was. Our accomodations were more than sufficient-- a large, souper-clean room, not the most modern, but with every comfort and convenience you could want (including free DVDS from the lending library downstairs). Breakfast was ample and fresh-- with many items locally grown or produced. But it is the first rate hospitality that differentiates this place from all others. We left feeling as though Linea and Rod had been our friends for years. To them, their guests are #1 arnd it does the heart good to deal with such genuinely nice people. We can't wait to go back here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank revjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, CT
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed with my five year old daughter at the inn for only one night. They were incredibly gracious and at my beck and call for anticipating my needs. I would love to go back and stay again. The breakfast served in the morning was incredibly good. I can't say enough. It was like going to grandma's house and she couldn't wait to see you. Storyland visitors this is the place to stay with your children. Incredibly close and quiet enough for them to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teapot1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I am very picky when it comes to vacations therefore I put a lot of time and effort into researching for the perfect place. I must say Old Field House was definitely a fabulous find! My boyfriend and I were the only people staying at the inn at the time, and we felt like we were at home the entire stay! The inn keeper, Rod, is absolutely amazing, friendly, and a fantastic breakfast cook! He was always available when needed and answered all of our questions, including giving us an entire paper full of local restaurants that offer fantastic food ( I purchased a boiled lobster for only $12.99!!). I am definitely coming back to Old Field House on my next vacation to the White mountains and staying in the suite, which was so comfortable and spacious! My only complaint was leaving!!


On our first morning we also saw a baby black bear roaming the area...such a great sight!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xixpeachypiexix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My family has stayed at the Old Field House three times over the past three years, in Fall, Winter and Spring. Each time it has felt like visiting family, with all the perks, without the family hassles. The Inn is well equipped to handle families with children, and we've seen many couples there as well. The rooms we have stayed in have plenty of space and are very comfortable and clean. One of the basement rooms offers a separate bedroom for the kids which we enjoy very much. The full, buffet breakfasts are enormous, with homemade waffles available, along with cereal, oatmeal, great coffee, eggs, sausage, homemade bread, bagels... There is a basement game room, which my children rave about. There is typically a nightly G rated movie shown on a wide screen tv in its own movie room, which is great for the kids and doesn't disturb others. The heated pool and hot tub are clean and the pool area includes cabanas to get out of the sun. The owners are very friendly and available to chat, and it's also easy to keep to yourself if that's what you prefer. The inn is in a lovely area where it's nice to take a morning stroll. Located a few minutes from Story Land and North Conway, 20 minutes from Mt. Washington, and only 45 minutes from Santa's Village, this is a great get away for families.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyFamily84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Went to NH during peak of leaf peeping. Compared to prices other places were charging this place was reasonable. We got a room that was smaller than the other rooms at the inn so she charged us less. Staff and owners were very helpful and went out of their way to help and offer suggestions. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Place seemed clean. Was north of all of the congestion of North Conway. Was on the resort loop which seemed quiet. Was across the street from Tuckerman's restaurant which we recommend. There are several B&B's and Inns on this road. This was closer to Mt. Washington than those in North Conway which we were interested in seeing. While everything was clean and well maintained for the most part some of the things in our room seemed outdated or worn such as the wall paper. However, these were minor issues and overall the place was great and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Been traveling to this area twice a year (spring & fall) for the past 15+ years and have stayed in many other hotels and resorts over the years. This was our first time staying at The Old Field House. The Old Field House is located just north of the traffic heavy North Conway downtown area and just south of Jackson which is ideal. Our family really liked and enjoyed our stay. With every place they have their pro's and con's and here was our's based on our two night stay recently.

Pro's: Price, Location, Quiet, Included breakfast which had Rod's famouse waffles which I would have to say are awesome, Fresh coffee always availble in the lobby area, Both owners Linea & Rod are very friendly and accomodating, Teddy their dog is wonderful and friendly, room was comfortable and overall clean, room had refrigerator and A/C, nice game room, small outside pool and hot tub. Plenty of parking.

Con's: Arrival we found a few long hairs in the shower, Toilet seat was the old type that was painted and paint was chipping off, Lower Level (basement) where game room and theater are was musty smelling more so the theater room than the game room, one other pet peeve is their credit card machine prints your whole credit card number on both copies of the receipts. Most machines x-out all but the last few numbers for security reasons.

Again overall really liked this place and would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHTMT_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Intervale
7.4 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
Swiss Chalets Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Intervale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
4.3 mi away
Attitash Mountain Village
Attitash Mountain Village
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Field House

Property: Old Field House
Address: 347 Intervale Resort Loop (Rt 16A), PO Box 1, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Intervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Field House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Field House Hotel Intervale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing