We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moosing Around”
Review of Shovel Handle Pub

Shovel Handle Pub
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Moosing Around”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Whitney's Inn, which is attached the this pub. Dinner here was the icing on the cake for our stay. Great atmosphere, live music (Thursday night), fantastic food and service was superb.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ratherbwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    56
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food, nice atmosphere, decent entertainment”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The food is good... very good. Service is a bit erratic, but acceptable. You may wait for service or for refills of beverages, but it is a very nice place to be, so waiting is pleasant. The singer was pretty good on the night we dined here. Overall we have always liked the Shovel Handel and will continue to dine here when we visit Jackson.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great server!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have come to the Shovel Handle dozens of times with mixed reviews. The food is always great, but they can't seem to get their staffing right. But on this Colombus day weekend visit, our server Cindy was the best! We started off with a bad drink experience and instead of having an attitude, she was apologetic and quick to remedy the situation. The barn setting of the pub is worth visiting alone! Entertainment on weekends is also a nice treat. So give it a try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, patchy service”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Dined here on a Thursday night. Seated straight away but had to wait a while to get drinks. Food when ordered was served quickly and was excellent but again the server disappeared when trying to get more drinks.

Live music was good, but as others have commented far too loud, and the ambience throughout was nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I guess it depends on what you order.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went here recently. Our second time. Server was fabulous. I have mixed feeling about this restaurant because it depends on what you order. Both times we had one meal that was good and one that was average. This past visit we had the steak tips which were very good. Our other meal was a Roasted Turkey Panini. Using the term Roasted Turkey is a stretch. It was essentially a deli turkey roll and not a very good one. No flavor and awful texture to it like rubber. This could be a good sandwich if it was made with real turkey or a quality brand deli meat. Would call this a "fallback" place to eat if our favorites are too busy. Needs a little more attention to quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shovel Handle Pub also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Shovel Handle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing