We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely a "Downhill" experience”
Review of Shovel Handle Pub

Shovel Handle Pub
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truely a "Downhill" experience”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I could not have been more disappointed. We looked forward to a relaxing evening as a family in a very quaint alpine lodge atmosphere. We waited to be seated for over an hour, but that was okay as we enjoyed time in the lounge talking. Once seated however the "downhill" adventure began. It was if we were 5 invisible people. We put in a quick drink order and appetizers. It took about 1/2 hour to get those and no one took our entree orders until we asked if we could put them in....well over 1/2 hour. When they came out, only 4 people were served. Invisible person 5's order never got placed. The kitchen was now closing as it was after 9 and number 5's rushed meal got to the table after everyone else was done. The quality of the food was mediocre at best. We will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    54
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SLOPE SIDE EATERY”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for an afternoon snack; this was the perfect find. Very comfy by the fireplace, mind the moose! They have a good selection of local beer and ale on tap. We had a quesadilla that was delicious. The manager, Paul, came over to greet us which was a pleasant unexpectedness. Our waitress, Kim, was attentive and efficient. The location, adjacent to the ski slope, made for an entertaining view as well as a pretty setting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Went on a busy Saturday night during February vacation. We wanted to sit up top to see the band while we ate. It was about a half hour wait but we'll worth it! All the food was really great, and service was even better. Our waiter was Matt he was awesome. Always there when you needed something and with a friendly smile. Matt is who you want to wait on you, a true professional and hard worker. The place has a lot of character and always great entertainment! Perfect stop after skiing my favorite Black Mt or just for a night out for some great food and a good band! Make sure you stop at the Shovel Handle Pub, I will be going again soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hondoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Food, Terrible Service”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant at 7:30 so we were hoping we missed the après ski crowd. Our wait for a table was about 15 minutes but our wait for dinner was an hour! My husband ordered the special, shepards pie (which the wait staff recommended), and we were told after 30 minutes of ordering that they had no more so he had to order something else. Part of our order arrived an hour after sitting down and the rest an hour and 10 minutes later...not sure after over an hour why all of our food couldn't come out at once, we were only a party of 3. Our dinner took a total of 2 hours and we did not order apps! Food was ok. Service was horrible and very slow. We had to ask for water 3 times and it was only given to the person who asked, no one else at the table was offered any water. The worse part was that they acknowledged the mess up and delay in our order by offering us "bread"! Since when is bread a bonus when you are ordering entrees? The restaurant could not handle the crowd and even though we missed the true dinner rush it was almost like the kitchen and wait staff were done for the night!
I would recommend this restaurant for the atmosphere and possibly on a quiet night (food was ok, not worth the money). Btw, I have travelled all over the world and never felt compelled to write a review like this. We should have been compensated for the enormous delay we experienced and lack of capable wait staff but instead we were offered "bread".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dighton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so good i almost dont want anyone else to know....”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

LOVE the atmosphere LOVE the service LOVE the food!! We wanted to come back the next night but there was a wedding - almost crashed it. The most perfect atmosphere - such character and warm friendly service. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shovel Handle Pub also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Shovel Handle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing