We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danced all night here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shovel Handle Pub

Shovel Handle Pub
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Danced all night here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

a wedding - Great time. Wait service did an excellent job. our guests loved it. extremely accommodating. late night bon fires in the mountains for a memorable event.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmkhomeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, Better Service, Even Better Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Shovel Handle is a great spot in Jackson for dinner after skiing! We had it recommended to us by our innkeepers and we were glad they did. Live music, multiple levels, white lights on the wood....it had an awesome, cozy atmosphere that allowed you to talk and enjoy your meal, while still feeling like you were a part of the Shovel Handle community. The proximity to Black Mountain and Jackson is perfect. If you come here and they have music, it will be noisy, so it's not the place to go for a quiet dinner for two. But if you're looking for a fun night, great music, great food, and just a great atmosphere, this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had tried to go the the Shovel Handle pub many times when in the Jackson area but most times it was closed for fuinctions (this is a very popular wedding venue). On our last visit we were lucky and hit it on a night without a function. We met friends for drinks in the bar area and then we stayed for dinner. Food and service were wonderful...one of the best meals in this area. We hope to return to the Shovel Handle each time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truely a "Downhill" experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I could not have been more disappointed. We looked forward to a relaxing evening as a family in a very quaint alpine lodge atmosphere. We waited to be seated for over an hour, but that was okay as we enjoyed time in the lounge talking. Once seated however the "downhill" adventure began. It was if we were 5 invisible people. We put in a quick drink order and appetizers. It took about 1/2 hour to get those and no one took our entree orders until we asked if we could put them in....well over 1/2 hour. When they came out, only 4 people were served. Invisible person 5's order never got placed. The kitchen was now closing as it was after 9 and number 5's rushed meal got to the table after everyone else was done. The quality of the food was mediocre at best. We will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SLOPE SIDE EATERY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for an afternoon snack; this was the perfect find. Very comfy by the fireplace, mind the moose! They have a good selection of local beer and ale on tap. We had a quesadilla that was delicious. The manager, Paul, came over to greet us which was a pleasant unexpectedness. Our waitress, Kim, was attentive and efficient. The location, adjacent to the ski slope, made for an entertaining view as well as a pretty setting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shovel Handle Pub also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Shovel Handle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing