We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still enjoyable, but the buildings need some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Still enjoyable, but the buildings need some TLC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Christmas Farm Inn, spanning over twenty years. It is still charming, with a friendly staff and excellent dining. (Reviewed separately.) This time we rented the Sleigh House Cottage, which was very cute and had it's own parking. It was a bit tight for five people as my son slept on the pull out sofa bed, but the two bedrooms are nice and each has a private bath. While clean and comfortable, we couldn't help but notice that the Inn, overall, could use a bit more maintenance and TLC. The fan in one bathroom was broken, and the tub didn't drain properly in the other. The decking was long overdue for a sanding and paint job. The plantings around the cottage were very pleasant but overgrown onto the pathway leading to the front door. I noticed pealing paint on many of the buildings, including the main inn and several of the cottages. There is a very nice indoor pool and the exercise facility next to it is well equipped. However, the weight room was terribly hot - the windows were open but the humidity from the pool and the warm outdoors really mandated that the air conditioner was running and the thermostat was locked. The furniture in the dining room needs some attention as well... nice, but worn. Overall we enjoyed our stay but I couldn't help but feel that the Inn could use some sprucing up.

Room Tip: The Carriage House rooms are the newest and the nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we do not mind the other ones as we are all to aware of our to-do list! :-)
The Christmas Farm Inn consists of 13 buildings on 15 acres of land that span three centuries; our work will never be done!
We have started our painting project and will continue until late fall with a focus on the Main Inn and Salt Box. There are many more projects going on simultaneously. This year to date we have already spent close to $200,000 on property maintenance and new equipment, some seen, some unseen.
We appreciate your loyalty and patience as we work our way around the property and down our list.
In the meantime, please continue to enjoy our cozy accommodations, great food and lovely Spa!

See you again soon,
the CFI Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    195
    64
    39
    25
See reviews for
216
352
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Inn as part of our fly drive tour. We were given 2 rooms in the Salt Box - they were very large and each had its own Jacuzzi which we used after a long walk. Yes some of the buildings could do with some painting / maintenance but we had an enjoyable stay.
We liked the food in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner, portions were quite large, though it could be a bit noisy in there as many families were staying there at the same time as us.
We loved the 'pub' and finished our evening there each day - and met the owners there , Gary and Sandy. They were very welcoming and friendly, chatting to us about our visit and the local area and suggesting walks / hikes we could do.
Didn't try out the spa or pool as we didn't have time.

Room Tip: Salt Box rooms are large and have a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanGenieXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We enjoyed meeting you all as well, thank you so much for your kind review. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a wonderful inn with a fantastic setup. We always stay at the Carriage House and take advantage of their spa down stairs. The restaurant is very good and worth eating dinner at, despite the many other great options in town. Cross country ski trails start right at the inn in winter. We have never had a bad experience here and have stayed many times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Wow, thank you very much! The whole team works hard to give our guests a great experience. Your kind words are what makes it all worthwhile. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent the weekend at this inn and had a fabulous time. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and the food at the restaurant was terrific. Yes, the rooms are outdated but that's typical in NH for every Inn. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtywatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence, we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I was very fortunate to attend a class at the Christmas Farm. The night before the class we had dinner which was very good and service was excellent. The class was held in the spa which is a very peaceful space. I live in the area and wouldn't have thought to go to the Inn for dinner but now I will recommend it to friends and visitors.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much Donna, glad we have 'converted' you! :-) Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a 'girls weekend' recently at the Christmas Farm Inn and loved it. The spa is wonderful. The indoor pool very clean. Our accommodations were clean, warm and comfortable. The restaurant was awsome (I got the house special, maple salmon). We didn't 't have children but there were many families there (so close to Story Land). Hey, we even saw a chubby black bear leaving the premises at dusk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for wonderful review, we are delighted you gals had such a great time with the bonus of furry wildlife thrown in! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked in for three nights and checked out after two, losing the money rather than stay a moment longer. The hotel is tired - long overdue for redecoration & refurbishment, with chipped paint, worn carpets and cracked sinks. The huge bed was hugely uncomfortable, and the age of the bedding - I'm sure the horses at Gettysburg got the best of them long before the hotel started using them and I'm not sure they have been cleaned in between.

During the stay the downstairs restroom was declared out of order. This meant that everyone in the restaurant and bar tramped upstairs to the toilet opposite our bedroom door, with the associated noise and disturbance all evening.

The food was cheap - in every meaning of the word - and with the sole exception of John (who was great, and wasted on the place), the service was poor and all about the gratuity. At breakfast it was the first thing pointed out by the server- the breakfast included in our room rate didn't include some extras AND THE GRATUITY, so don't forget the gratuity.

We are travelling as a couple and we have opted for peaceful inns and hotels, and so the final point was not their fault but ours. This is a family destination, and so it was full of young noisy children, except the pool which was full of screaming adults.

Overall a complete waste of money - avoid.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! If you must, avoid (1) rooms over the lobby / restaurant / bar (Room 4 / Vixen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Ouch…! There doesn’t seem to be much to salvage here but, let’s try:

We are an authentic country inn - an old farm circa. 1778 - and we are dedicated to providing a quintessential New England experience. We are not a chain hotel experience, nor a boutique hotel. We are down to earth, family friendly, people friendly and inclusive to all who show respect to our employees, other guests and our property. We want people to enjoy life’s simple pleasures and we are not ashamed of this. Life is for living, and we are happy to have so many friendly guests who choose to make memories at our place. Our staff receives repeated praise from guests for their helpfulness and friendliness. We appreciate that we are not perfect, and that we may not be for everyone, but we don’t quite understand the bitterness of these comments.

Restaurant: Our chef and our mountain bistro style restaurant have received recognition and accolades for consistently offering quality of food and fair pricing. We cook everything fresh and use many all-natural and organic ingredients, meats and produce. If people value more than the negative comments, you’ll find that our restaurant is always ranked highly on Trip Advisor.

Breakfast and Gratuity: We have a lot of international travelers staying with us (as was this reviewer), and amongst them, there always seems to be some confusion around breakfast and gratuity, as the norms vary in each country. In the US, most hotels do not offer breakfast. If they do offer breakfast, it is usually a self-serve ‘cold buffet’. We offer a cold buffet of cereals, fruits, freshly baked goods, yogurt, and more. We also include a hot entrée from a full country breakfast menu – all made to order and delivered to your table. So, what to do about gratuity? Some countries the norm is not to tip at all; in some, only the change is left; and 10% is the norm in other countries. As breakfast is included in the room, should you tip…if so, how much? Over time, we received enough feedback from international guests encouraging us to advise them or make clear what the ‘norms’ are regarding tipping. Therefore, we now post the information on our menus, our website, make it clear on our contracts, and encourage our servers to communicate that breakfast is included and gratuity is at the diner’s discretion. So, to clarify, in the US the norm is for diners to tip 15-20% if they are happy with their service. If you are not happy with the service, it is OK to not tip or reduce the gratuity as you feel appropriate. The inherent incentive to the server is to always offer good service, or they will not earn well. We appreciate the opportunity to clarify this point. This reviewer must have been aware of all this, but the server probably didn’t know that.

Children: For the record, we note that there were no children staying in the building where this reviewer stayed. However, we do allow children to eat in our restaurant for breakfast and dinner (part of the family friendly thing). We should point out that our pub is adult only, and a full menu is always available there…and some great cocktails! Children and adults do sit by the fire pit to tell stories of their days adventures, roast marshmallows and enjoy life. We put the fire out at 10:00pm, but most children leave for bed long before that. It is wonderful to see everyone get so much pleasure out of something not plugged-in or wi fi enabled…

Restroom: The down stairs public restroom was, indeed, put out of order for the evening and brought back into service the next day. Unfortunately, this was beyond our control. We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience but, other than using auxiliary facilities…what exactly was the alternative? We note that the restaurant was clear of guests at about 9:30pm.

Room: There are no areas of chipped paint in the room, and the carpet is in good condition. There are some areas of chipped paint, mainly the main door and corners in the hall hit by suitcases, and the hall carpet does have greater traffic. The halls are narrower than the corridor of a modern hotel. We think the reviewer is referring to these areas. We deep clean and paint these areas regularly. We confirm the bathroom sink is stress-cracked and is being replaced – we apologize for this. The quilt is fitting for a traditional inn room and more ‘Revolutionary War’, than ‘Civil War’, but we don’t charge extra for that. Otherwise, it is a very popular large room with king-size bed, sitting area and Jacuzzi bath with mountain views. We also have 16 suites and 7 cottages that may have been more to the reviewers liking. Unfortunately, we did not know of any issues until checkout and more from reading this review, and had no opportunity to address any concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Property: Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Resort
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing