We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Location and Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed this past weekend on a special offer. I have stayed in the past and always have had a great experience with the room, staff, and the food. The inn is located in a classic building, with all the historic charm. They have done a fine job in preserving the classic charm and feel of the inn and the rooms are nicely appointed. The tavern is a great place to relax and talk over the days adventures. The full menu is avaliable in the tavern with a relaxed atmosphere. Food is excellent, some nights they have live music too. Overall I give the inn a thumbs up, and can't wait to return..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    74
    19
    13
    14
See reviews for
21
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells,ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed this past weekend on a facebook deal staff was very friendly and helpful when making reservation this was for a offer of spend $75.00 on food and drink in the dinning room or tavern and your room is free. What a deal!!! Placed us in a very nice room had a wonderful prime rib dinner then went to the tavern for some drinks and entertainment. Staff was extremely helpfull and even pointed out some nice places to check out in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I had dinner here last week and must say that the service was amazingly slow despite the restaurant being almost empty. While the waitress was polite, it took a good 15 minutes to be greeted, over 30 for our appetizer to arrive, and another 15 for our main course. Unfortunately, the main courses were nothing out of the ordinary and overpriced. SO disappointed in the Wildcat! The bar area is fine for beer and pub grub (had a hamburger there once...) and the entertainment was good. But definitely not the place for a good meal :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
189 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the igloo this week.
PROS:
It was in an adorable town and within the very pretty gardens of the inn. Having a two bedroom place was ideal for us and we enjoyed the character of the old ice house. There was plenty of space and it was well equipped for the most part. I also appreciated that it had air conditioners to get it a bit cooler after a hot day and then we could open the windows. It was a quiet spot despite some concerns we had about being next to the tavern.

CONS:
Well, it was basically the service and the sleeping sofa. My mother was on the sleeper sofa and it was just absurd, it in horrible shape, springs everywhere, and she just sunk into a little pit in the center when she was in it. The other problem was there were no pillows and blankets for her but we couldn't get one of the closets open no matter what. When we went to find out if there was a blanket she could use the service we received was humorously bad. I had to go back and ask several times and they couldn't come up with a single blanket. Finally, another guest offered up their blanket. Although it was fifty degrees that night we were told it w warm and she wouldn't need one. They almost couldn't have been less helpful.

This mimicked our service at the restaurant, which was something we will laugh about for a while. But sitting in the garden was lovely, too bad the food and service was so very bad.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I just got back from my weekend stay at The Wildcat Inn and to say I was impressed would be an understatement. The hotel is located right on Main Street in Jackson New Hampshire. To get to the hotel you go under an amazing covered bridge, and the quaint town of Jackson and The Wildcat Inn pops right out at you. The property is absolutely stunning, from the mountain backdrop to the beautiful garden in back of the property. However what stands out more than anything is the service off the staff. Amber at the front desk was amazing. My first morning at the hotel she pointed me to the free coffee and fresh orange juice. She also pointed me next door to yesterdays for a great breakfast. I came back later on after exploring the beautiful town of Jackson and was amazed to see the Bar/Tavern area very lively. It seemed odd to me that the Tavern would be busy on a beautiful day, however when I met the staff it did not suprise me one bit. The bartender (who's name is escaping me at the moment) was very informative on the great selection of beer the tavern had. Jordan, the hostess was very friendly and is a true credit to this establishment. She informed me on where to go and what to do. However after having so much fun that afternoon, I knew the tavern would be my one and only stop later on. My room was room number 12 and it was awesome. I highly reccomend this room due to its beautiful views of the garden. The bed was super comfy and the room as a whole was very well appointed. The halls of the hotel are filled with amazing paintings and pictures, giving a very real feel to the property's history. Later that night I headed back to the downstairs for dinner. I was going to eat in the dining room, however due to my earlier experience at the tavern I chose to eat there instead. The dining room has a very old New England feel to it and is beyond beautiful. The Tavern was awesome and the food was great. Sandra the bartender was on point all night. The band was also very good playing mostly blues and classic rock. The Tavern got real lively and was alot of fun with a great mix of people. My favorite part of the tavern is they have an old ski chair as a seat for the table. The tavern decor was exposed wood, old pictures and plenty of seating. All and all a perfect stay I will be returning!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I mostly picked this place for the advertised price in the location I wanted to stay. When I called (they didn't respond to my reservation inquiry by e-mail), they said they were running a special, making the price even better. I really enjoyed the atmosphere. We were in room 5 at the top of the stairs. It was a double bed, but I didn't mind sharing the smaller space with my boyfriend for just one night. The TV and a couch were in an attached room and the bathroom was on the other side. Noise wasn't an issue for us and we found the staff to be very friendly. We ate dinner in the tavern. The food wasn't special, but it was good with very large portions. I think next time we would eat in the dining room. Both are really charming. My boyfriend subtracted points from our experience for the lack of WiFi, missing remote control for the television, and the fact that the toilet was right up against a side wall making it a bit of an uncomfortable sit. Despite these, I would rate our overall experience as a very good one--especially for the price--and would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I overheard them describing themselves on the phone as a “ski lodge with attitude”, I do think that they got the attitude part right! I would never recommend traveling here and would suggest saving your money. I would have suggested you stay at their sister location… however I was informed by the Wildcat staff “They have ants too!”

PRO’S:
Price was good
Food was good
Service in tavern was good
Allows pets

CON’S:
Very poor customer service, inn staff was VERY rude
No amenities that you would expect like air (it was very early in the season for air so we understand that it was not yet installed, however a nice fan or screens in all of the windows would have been helpful)
$30.00 per night for your pet to stay
Ant infestation
Poor water pressure
Bathroom could have been cleaner
13” TV was blurry and remote didn’t work

Room Tip: A good room would be in another establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Property: Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing