We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Ranked #8 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in their annex, needs an upgrade but was clean, comfy and suited our needs.
The restaurant was great with good food and nice atmosphere, the staff happy to help and made sure as guests we got a table quickly. Good location, and easy parking. Nice out door seating. Great to have the choice of proper resturant or bar area for eating.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyOswestryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Wildcat Inn & Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was our second visit this year (last time was in Feb – see previous review). We had a restaurant.com coupon also. It was a Friday night and there were about six other tables busy. We were seated promptly and ordered drinks, which took quite a while to arrive. My drink came first but my husband’s lemonade took even longer to arrive. We ordered an appetizer – potato skins with bacon on the side. We waited and waited and saw other tables getting their food so called over the waitress to cancel the appetizer to only then be told they had to redo it because the kitchen had not put the bacon on the side. She said it was ready now so we went ahead and ate it. It was good but would have liked to have known about the reason for the long delay. We ordered salads and entrees and advised up front that we wanted to finish the salads first before our meals arrived. That did happen this time but the wait between was way too long. Finally the entrees arrived. My husband had ordered steak tips with creamed broccoli and rice pilaf – all very tasty and good portions. I ordered the Haddock supper with lobster/crab stuffing which was excellent. We decided to skip coffee and desserts since we felt we had already been there too long and not sure how long it would take to get those. The chef, Richard, visited several of the tables to check how everything was – which was a nice touch. He said he had only been there about 4 months and was very interested in our feedback and making the place even better. Atmosphere is cozy rustic even with the very loud a/c in the corner. Overall the food was excellent but service could and should be better. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Terrible service and mediocre food. Very expensive and the dinner was terrible and diners seated close by we're experiencing the same. Waitress very nice and apologetic . Do not order the crab cakes or ask for anything that doesn't come with your plate. Better yet, just don't go there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 115Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had become stranded in Conway, NH a few years back and someone recommended the Wildcat Inn in Jackson. We loved it! We stayed two nights this visit and enjoyed every minute. The Inn is adjacent to the the tavern and the rooms are cozy and quiet, despite the live music several nights a week. (There are 'tavern rooms' above the bar for late-nighters.) Our windows opened up on the rear garden which is gorgeous! We had dinner and drinks in the tavern both nights and the food was very good. I had the last watermelon margarita, and it was delicious! The staff is friendly and very helpful. There are many sights to see within walking distance, including the falls, a museum and the Jackson Covered Bridge. Yesterday's is a good restaurant two doors down for breakfast, and several little shops to browse. They have four season appeal, especially accommodating the skiers in winter, and fly fishers in summer. Mt. Washington Auto Road is close, as well as moose safaris (we saw moose and black bear), and 'Storyland' for the kids. It is 100% non-smoking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have cozy gas fireplaces. Inn suites are larger with a sitting room and in...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Cool little Inn and Tavern. We haven't stayed here but I would. The Tavern was fantastic and the food was very good, creative (lobster quesadilla rolls!). The staff was helpful and accommodating. I would plan a trip here...it's clean and the Owner (or Manager) was very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't book a room over the Tavern if you want to go to bed early, it gets loud on or near the we...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank alwaysontheroad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Second time dining at the Inn. Dining room is classy yet casual. Food was great and service warm and welcoming. I had the halibut which was a winner. We went on there two for one night and the dining room was busy. Great value. Will go back next time we're in Jackson.

Room Tip: Didn't stay just dined at the hotel.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank CanuckontheGo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

All I can say is I experienced the worst service I ever had in my life. 15 minutes to get a drink. Got my soup and then my meal came out 2 seconds after that. I had to ask for my salad and salad dressing.plus got no bread on top of it. My meal was sub-par nothing to brag about. Probally will never eat there again. Went to the bar afterwards, they do have a good bourbon selection and the service there was much better.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
11.4 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
309 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,606 reviews
9.4 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
7.5 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: £78 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing