We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We have stayed in quite a few rather ordinary B&B's in the UK, but this was our first taste of a B&B in the US. From the reviews, Carter Notch sounded too good to be true. However, the reviews are all accurate, it was quite unlike anything we have experienced before, more like an intimate hotel, great facilities with a personal touch, more like staying with friends. The breakfasts were inventive and delicious, and really filled us up. We would love to have stayed longer to enjoy the jacuzzi and perhaps catch sight of one of the bears that frequents the garden. Dick and Sally helped us choose our evening meals and gave good advice about local walks and things to do. We would definitely stay there again if we return to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
339
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Dick and Sally have generously opened their home and have made a quiet place for an amazing retreat from reality. My husband and I had the privilege of staying in their home for a couple nights. The rooms are amazing and all unique. The breakfast that they cook (Dick says he is responsible for them as he makes sure Sally gets out of bed to prepare them) is top notch. The family style eating is a reminder of the past and the things that our young people are missing out on these days. But more than any of the beautiful "things" that are on their property is them themselves. They are so warm and friendly and you feel welcome from your first step in. It was so fun talking to them and before our trip was even over and we had checked out, we were already talking about our return trip. We both agreed that there is no reason to look anywhere else for a place to stay when visiting the White Mountains.

Room Tip: Room 6...private balcony on the third floor, Jacuzzi Tub, Quiet, in its own little hall so no one el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanHeidiVeilleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is everything for which everyone hopes and dreams. The inn-keepers are fun and feel fully responsible for ones comfort and well-being. The breakfasts are superior and the rooms are comfortable and charming. The locations is glorious and the little village of Jackson, NH has a few shops and several excellent dining establishments. We have visited several times (most recently to celebrate our 50th Anniversary) and already have our reservations for the "leaf" season in the fall.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Room #8 but prefer Room #1 as it has a view and a cozy seat under the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, ME
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here and wish it had been longer. Everything was fantastic- the breakfasts, room, inn keepers Sally and Dick, Dudley the Old English Sheep Dog, and the room. It exceeded all our expectations. It was comfortable, very clean and well maintained, quiet, and relaxing. Sally and Dick are very knowledgeable about the area and offer good suggestions of activities and dining options. We stayed in room number 1 and were greeted in the morning by the sunrise over the Wildcat (?) mountains. It could not have been any better; their service is phenomenal. A good bonus is Jackson is centrally located to many things to do and places to eat. We are already planning another trip back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeline o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

There's a reason this place is the #1 B&B in the entire region. It's really that good! My wife and I spent a lovely weekend in room #8. The room was spacious, immaculate, had a gas fireplace and a loft with our own jacuzzi! Sally and Dick are really what make this place special. They couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable from waiting up to welcome us for our late arrival to providing restaurant suggestions, hiking recommendations, and trail maps for us. And we loved meeting Lulu, the cat, and Dudley, the Old English Sheepdog. It's quite competitively priced despite the fact that they're clearly superior to most other B&B's/inns in the area. Breakfast was scratch-made and hot every morning. There's a framed certificate proudly displayed on the wall in the breakfast room from the NH state legislature declaring it the #1 B&B in all of New Hampshire. I agree! Will definitely stay here again when we travel to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorfan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the inn for two nights earlier this month, and we had a wonderful time. We decided on this inn after reading through many reviews on trip advisor, and were impressed with the unanimous high praise. We were definitely not disappointed - not only is the inn itself cozy and beautiful, the inn keepers are also exceptional. I had forgotten to pack my snow boots, and not only did Sally lend me her own boots, they also lent me and my fiancé snow shoes for the day! We stayed in room 6, the suite with a large jacuzzi and nearly panoramic view of the surrounding woods, and it was romantic and just lovely - it even had it's own electric fireplace! We loved our stay and will definitely be back. If you're looking for a warm, comfortable visit to New Hampshire, you won't be disappointed with Carter Notch Inn.

Room Tip: Choose room #6 for a gorgeous view and en suite jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

It is very difficult to imagine that you could find a better B&B than the Carter Notch Inn in the Jackson/Barlett/North Conway area. For many years, my wife and I have taken a long weekend each winter to go skiing (alpine and cross country) in this area. We've stayed at a good number of B&B's and researched many more. For the past 6 or 7 years, we've always come back to this Inn because it is consistently superior in every respect. The innkeepers, Sally and Dick, work exceptionally hard at providing a wonderful experience for their guests, but somehow make it look easy, from the most obvious items to the smallest details. They strike a perfect balance of being completely helpful and welcoming, without being the least bit intrusive. The Inn and its rooms are immaculate, homey, relaxed, and comfortable. The location is beautiful, just off the beaten path, and quiet--you have the advantage of a peaceful rural setting that is still within easy reach of whatever activities interest you. The people that stay here tend to be very interesting and engaging folks of all ages and walks of life. Try it out--you will thoroughly enjoy your stay at the Carter Notch Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallFries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson
Carter Notch Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing