We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the one place to stay in the white mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
westport, ct, usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“the one place to stay in the white mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

the location is ideal; off the beaten path but close to eveything. the hosts are wonderfuln re a lly wonderful and the reason we keep coming back time after time. the experience is like no other b&B. the place is spotless. the prices fair. what more could one want?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
337
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We selected this B&B based on the reviews in TA, and it fully met our expectations.Sally and Dick make exceptionally good hosts, and their Old English Sheepdog, Dudley, is a (hugh) delight.
We stayed in the very comfortable and quiet Room 6; with a garden view from its own balcony, lovely gas fireplace, Jacuzzi bath (for 2), and separate large shower.
Sally's breakfasts were very plentiful and delicious.
Dick gave us details of what to see and do in our 4 day stay, was very helpful in providing handouts and directions, and making recommendations for evening meals. The Thompson House Eatery and Christmas Farm Inn were 2 of our favourites for Ev Meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandkathChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This lovely B&B is everything you would have expected PLUS:
Especially gracious and warm hosts that helped us with any detail from dinner reservations to where the leaves would be their loveliest, to where to walk, hike, or drive.
Immaculate and cozy room.
Delicious breakfasts and abundant snacks and beverages.
Quiet, Comfortable and Cozy!
We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We had room 8. It had an in-room Jacuzzi loft area; and lovely sitting area with fireplace. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby2346
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We decided to mark my husband's 30th birthday by climbing Mount Washington. I booked our two night stay at the Carter Notch Inn based solely on the Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hosts were extremely pleasant and accommodating to our very late arrival. The hot tub was the perfect treat after a long hike and the breakfast was amazing. Unfortunately our trip was very brief, but we'll be back next time for a longer more relaxing stay.

Pros: adorable; very welcoming and inviting; nice to get to know other guests at breakfast or in hot tub; close to so many sites; lovely rooms (ours had fireplace); great hot tub over looking the massive yard and foliage; delicious breakfast; cold beer awaiting us after a grueling hike.

Cons: the bed is very firm (not really a con unless you were expecting a cushy soft mattress, slept incredibly well); the bathroom is not a spa bathroom with crazy water pressure or anything (we weren't expecting anything other than a nice hot shower so we quite content).

Looking forward to next time!

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 and the fireplace was lovely, no need for it though as the room was nice and toast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosby2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

From the moment you enter you will feel at home. Sally and Dick are the warmest, kindest people you could meet. Everything comes together to make this the ideal B&B experience.

Our room was impeccable and no detail was missed. Even though there were a lot if guests, everything felt quiet and peaceful at all hours of the day and night. The grounds are stunning. The location was ideal for us: super close to local restaurants and attractions but far enough away from any of the hustle and bustle.

The extra details, epic breakfasts, and charming hosts make for a memorable getaway. We also had a blast throwing the ball around in the yard with Dudley, their loveable dog. We were also delighted to have Lulu the cat join us on the porch for afternoon tea. We will never stay anywhere else on our next trip to the Whites--no other place could compare!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We absolutely loved the Carter Notch Inn, everything from the location, the facilities, the rooms, the breakfasts, the owners Dick and Sally and the dog and cat. It was absolutely fabulous. A magnificent setting with warm friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Ask the owners when making a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Carter Notch Inn, Dick and Sally made us feel very welcome and are extremely helpful with planning your excursions in the area. The inn is spotlessly clean and very homely and we felt relaxed as soon as we arrived enjoying complementary drinks on the porch and taking in the fantastic scenery.
Dudley and Lulu added enjoyment to our stay, with Dudley in particular providing entertainment on the porch.
The breakfasts were excellent in particular the stuffed french toast. All in all an excellent place to stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BooMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#1 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson
Carter Notch Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing