We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priceless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Priceless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 glorious days at Carter Notch about a week ago. I won't go over the items on my checklist that are nonnegotiable, cleanliness, comfort, reasonably priced, fantastic breakfast, and so on..because on all of those they score an A+ easy. Where they shine, the owners, Dick and Sally, is in their ability to check you into their Inn as a stranger and check you out feeling like an old friend. You can't fake that, you are either born with that ability or not and those two were equally blessed. This place is a "not miss" in my opinion and Room 6 was by far the best room we encountered on our recent 10 day New England B and B tour. Book this place, you won't be disappointed! We'll be back for sure.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ERYWCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
337
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

fabulous inn and made great new friends. Dudley, the OES was so amazing we went and got our own. great choice of places to go, things to do and restaurants to try. The inn keepers make the stay a great one. The inn is immaculate and comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Sally, Dick and especially Dudley have created something special in Jackson. Exceptional accommodation with all the comforts of home on tap yet in a tranquil wilderness that leaves one breathless with awe and utterly relaxed and revived. A stay at Carter Notch Inn should be on everyone's bucket list and especially in the Fall.

Bed and breakfast, excellent though they are, barely scratches the surface of what is on offer. Hot tub, jacuzzi baths, a comprehensive film library and extensive local knowledge of sights and tourist trails make this a perfect destination.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bedonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Once again we arrived in Jackson to be greeted by Dudley, Dick, Sally and LuLu, with open arms (or paws) and bright smiles. Room 6 was as comfortable and inviting as ever and the foliage was amazing right there on the property and the surrounding valley. What more can I say that hasn't been said? The Carter Notch Inn is always comfortably appointed, always filled with charm and personality, always provides a delicious and nourishing breakfast, always offers the hospitality expected by travelers, always represents the quintessential New England experience.
Our visits are always refreshing and rejuvenating. This is our country escape... whenever we need it.
Kudos for the consistently satisfying service year after year !

Room Tip: We enjoy the privacy and space in room 6, with fireplace, porch, views of the yard and mountains, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Better because we do nothing but be there and enjoy our hosts, their wonderful pets, the other guests, with whom we always feel a connection, the splendid location, the comfortable front porch, the living room with a fireplace, the fire place in our bedroom, the wonderful breakfasts. And did I already mention our gracious, and friendly, and welcoming hosts? We've already made our reservations for 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben050938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Everything you'd expect from an American B an B, with a healthy dose of British humour.

A stunning setting, comfy room with plenty of nice touches and friendly, knowledgeable hosts who are happy to share tips on what to see and do in the area.

Can't fault a single thing about our stay and would certainly return!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Great to see Dick and Sally again, great hosts as ever and lovely to meet Dudley. We took our friends for their first visit and they loved the place. You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive to when you leave. Nothing is too much trouble including when I was ill and Sally doing me something different for breakfast. Nice touches like DVDs to borrow, chocolates and even a wine or beer, there is also tea (with boiling water and English tea bags) and cookies. We stayed in room 6 and whilst it is more expensive its great having the balcony and big bath. Only thing to be aware of with this room is you get to hear the conversation of those in the jacuzzi (can be quite entertaining) but luckily they are asked to vacate it by 10pm otherwise it could be noisy. We will definitely return its a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LandC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#1 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson
Carter Notch Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing