We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

It seems we visited the Inn on a very important day. We were the first guests of Donna and Dan, new owners of the Carter Notch Inn. Although we were a first a bit confused when they greeted us at the front door, they quickly explained the situation. Not to worry, Dick and Sally were there to help them get started. Our room was exactly what we expected, tiny yet lovely. The private bath on a different floor was only inconvenient in the middle of the night. A fan was provided as soon as I mentioned I needed one. Breakfast was yummy and bountiful, both mornings. We wish Dick and Sally the best as they move on to their next endeavor and hope to visit Donna and Dan on another trip. ( and maybe recover our cooler we stupidly left there!)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fabulous with different perks. We chose room 9 to save money, which it did. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDonnaNorthAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarterNotchInn, Owner at Carter Notch Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Donna and Tom,
Thank you for being our first guest to arrive and our first guests to be welcomed into the Carter Notch Inn under our watch.
We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and that the room had met your needs.
We have your cooler set aside awaiting to see if it can hitch a ride home with another guest living north of Boston.
Best wishes and thanks for our first review on Trip Advisor!
Donna and Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
342
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Dick and Sally's hospitality is second to none. They are very accommodating and in tune with their guests needs. Their attention to detail inside and outside the inn is excellent! I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to the Mount Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclist1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 737 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were so lucky to have chosen Carter Notch Inn for our stay in the White Mountains. I cannot imagine a better B&B, Sally & Dick seem to have thought of everything. There are perfect hosts, friendly, helpful and with an extensive knowledge of the surrounding area whatever your interests are. They will make sure you get the best out of your stay here. Jackson is an ideal base for the White mountains. A lovely little town, with some great dining options nearby, it's only a couple of minutes from this B&B.
Our room was wonderful, we could not fault it in any way (normally there is some little thing you would like to change). It was comfortable, spotlessly clean and had every amenity you could wish for. The balcony is a great place to sit and enjoy the evening.
Don't forget to try the hot tub, I really enjoyed relaxing in it.
Breakfasts are fresh cooked and excellent, you will not go hungry here. Sally is definitely a good cook!
This B&B was a highlight of our New England tour and is highly recommended as the perfect accommodation in the White Mountains.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6. This is a lovely room overlooking the garden with a private balcony. It has a 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at the Carter Notch Inn and cannot praise the accommodation and Sally's breakfasts, not forgetting Dick's waffles, enough. The setting in Jackson is idyllic, in the heart of the White Mountains, with a fantastic vista from the front porch. Sally and Dick are excellent hosts, on hand to help plan your day, giving tips and advice on places to visit. The Carter Notch Inn really does live up to being 'your home in Jackson', New Hampshire. Thanks again Sally and Dick. We really will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We've stayed at Carter Notch many times over the past few years, most recently in early August 2014. The inn is beautifully kept with comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms (we've stayed in most) and breakfasts are always delicious and fresh. As soon as we arrive the feeling is always instant relaxation for us. Innkeepers Dick and Sally are warm and friendly and do a fantastic job of making your stay pleasant and both have extensive knowledge of the area's restaurants, recreational activities and more. The inn is conveniently located, a short drive or comfortable walk from the center of Jackson and close to plenty of hiking/biking trails, shopping, and restaurants. By far Carter Notch is the best B&B that we've stayed in and it's our favorite home away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our family just spent the most enjoyable four days in the White Mountains at the Carter Notch Inn in Jackson NH. Easily one of the best B&Bs we’ve experienced in our US, Canada and UK travels. “Inn-keepers” Dick and Sally dedicate themselves to the comfort and enjoyment of all guests with their delightful bedrooms (each one is different), the delicious breakfasts and tea & drinks in the afternoon. We especially appreciated the time they took to explain all the local attractions (there are many); advice was spot on for all we chose to do… kayaking, hiking, running, zip-lining, Mt. Washington & road trips. Same goes for the restaurant advice!
If the perfect hosts still don’t cut it for you, there’s always Dudley the Old English Sheepdog (part Pony!) and Lulu the cat, waiting to give you an unconditional welcome. Needless to say, we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have stayed there twice, most recently in March, 2014 and will return in the near future. Great Inn and rooms, great hearty breakfasts and cordial English Innkeepers. Can ski on the Jackson x-country course across the street and even has free passes to Great Glen. If you are looking for an excellent B&B in the area, this is the Inn to book. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awm414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
578 reviews
14.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carter Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson
Carter Notch Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing