We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to go back!”
Review of RiverWood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RiverWood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I love this place so much I can’t wait to go back again! James and Susan are the most wonderful and welcoming hosts. They were so helpful pointing out the best sites to see and what was happening around town. The inn is beautiful and elegant, the design and decor is luxurious and sophisticated. It’s the perfect place for a relaxing, romantic getaway. It’s walking distance to everything in town. They have a small pool and there is a river on the property. I can’t wait to go back during ski season!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, I would like to try sleeping in each one. They all have different advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethyNewcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I am so very please that James and Susan have breathed new life into to wonderful Inn!!! We were the first guests last year - before they were ready to open, but were so very gracious and allowed our bicycle group to stay to participate in the Mt. Washington Auto Road Bicycle Hillclimb race. We could tell by the work in progress that this inn would be magnificent once completed. We returned again this year for the same race, and our expectations were "blown away"!!! James and Susan have done such a remarkable job to restore and improve this inn. The attention to detail and the décor is spectacular. All of the antiques have been carefully chosen and give this inn an inviting elegance. Each space is cozy and comfortable. The breakfast area is absolutely gorgeous! The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. James and Susan are wonderful hosts, friendly and personable. I would highly recommend this inn, and we look forward to returning again in January for our anniversary. See you soon James and Susan! Thank you for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As soon as we arrived at the RiverWood Inn, we knew that we had chosen the right place to spend our 3 nights in the White Mountains. Not only does the cheerful yellow and white inn, with the wide veranda, look immediately inviting from the outside, the inside, with its Oriental rugs, hard wood floors, antique filled living room and library and sun filled breakfast area is if anything even more appealing. Our third floor room, also filled with antiques, was incredibly quiet and peaceful and had a very comfortable mattress. The attention to detail doesn't stop at the decor, however. As soon as we arrived James and Susan, the hosts, led us to the breakfast area, where a three tier tray filled with different irresistible homemade cookies awaited us. This was a hint as to how delicious the breakfasts would be and we weren't disappointed. They were wonderful, with French pressed coffee, fruit salad with fresh whipped cream, waffles and eggs and delicious smoked bacon. As for other meals, the Inn is within walking distance of many restaurants in Jackson. Susan and James gave us much good advice about the various choices, when to go, etc and made reservations when they thought we would need one. It's also within an easy drive for excursions within the White Mountains. All this alone would make the Inn a great place to stay, but what makes it even more special is the genuine warmth and hospitality of Susan and James. They made us feel like we were really their guests and not just people staying at an inn. We highly recommend the RiverWood Inn and are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waterside2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My stay at the Riverwood was AMAZING! Exactly as advertised. Perfect for those looking for five star accommodations and treatment. It starts with the inn itself.....newly remodeled in a style that exudes taste and elegance. Inviting spaces to read a book or enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fireplace. My stay started with a look at the river behind the house. I could have been in the wilderness, it was so quiet and peaceful. Don't let "river" worry you.......it's more like one of those gently rolling New Hampshire mountain streams that you hike to, but this is on the property! It is rare to find an inn that offers a secluded feel in the back, but a town experience in the front! Each morning after breakfast I enjoyed my second cup of coffee rocking on the porch watching people walk and bike by. The view of the mountains is stunning. And speaking of breakfast......how does this sound? Prosciutto with melon, quiche Lorraine with Julia Child crust to die for, waffles with local smoky bacon, and fruit with creme fraiche. How many inns serve gourmet breakfast?? The Riverwood is a jewel among inns. My husband and I have already made plans for ski season! /Melissa




ook forward to the day Trip Advisor allows one to taste the incredible waffles we ha

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If honesty, hard work and creativity are the building blocks of business success then Susan and James have hit a home run. Their personal signature and attention to details is evident in all regards and their knowledge/passion of the area just adds to the Excellent rating. Both the 'bed' and 'breakfast' portion of the B&B were outstanding as well as the location (walking distance to several eateries and short driving distance to many hikes). Crossing the covered bridge always sets the tone when going into Jackson and RiverWood completes it. Will stay there again and enthusiastically recommend it to others. Well played indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a charming, newly renovated and well decorated bed and breakfast. Personal service and delicious breakfast. James and Susan were welcoming and attentive hosts. James offered to personally take us to the wedding that we were attending that weekend. He also gave us valuable information on where to go hiking. We would stay there again, should we be back in the area.

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This inn was purchased by James and Susan in 2012 and they have done a phenomenal job of restoring it! I went to Jackson for a wedding and they were wonderful hosts. Always available to answer questions or talk about the area, James even offered to give us a ride to the wedding!

Highlights included the oh-so-comfortable mattress (my room was in the carriage house), which may have played a part in me sleeping through breakfast. I also enjoyed the book about the history of Jackson that I found on the nightstand.

Thanks for your hospitality, James & Susan!

Meridith

Room Tip: My room in the carriage house was very private and included a little kitchenette, even though I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meridith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Carter Notch Inn
Carter Notch Inn
#3 of 11 in Jackson
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverWood Inn

Address: 49 Main Street, PO Box 149, Jackson, NH 03846 (Formerly Village House)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: £141 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RiverWood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the White Mountains, just across the covered bridge in Jackson Village, you'll find RiverWood Inn - Jackson's newest old inn. With over 130 years of history, and after six months of renovations we are pleased to offer you a lodging experience of understated elegance. RiverWood is a Bed and Breakfast Inn located on over five acres of tended lawns, wild fields, and rolling woodlands. Shaded pathways lead to our private Wildcat River frontage, complete with a natural pebble beach, swimming hole and trout-filled riffles. Please come and stay with us, relax, and enjoy New England hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your RiverWood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Jackson
RiverWood Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing