We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip”
Review of RiverWood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RiverWood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for an extended stay in the White Mountains. I , without real knowledge, booked a stay in a Bed and Breakfast sight unseen utilizing only what was presented on Web Sites. We travelled 10 hours and when we arrived at the Original booking we were extremely disappointed with the accommodations. We notified the Owner that we would not be staying there. After a harrowing attempt to find another location we visited Hotels, B&B's and any other area where we felt that they could accommodate us for 6 nights. We eventually, out of desperation, booked at the Wentworth for one night. We were at a loss in knowing that we were going to be searching again in the morning. After viewing additional sites The RiverWood Inn was suggested. (As it turns out even the locals know of this GEM) WOW what a blessing. From the moment that we met James and Susan we felt welcome. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast was exceptional. James and Susan were warm and friendly not only with us but with each of their guests as my wife and I observed their interaction. I would recommend The RiverWood Inn to anyone who has taste and expects the very best in what a B&B should be. In all of my travels I would truly rate The RiverWood as a 5 Star win for anyone looking for a beautiful , clean, friendly Bed and Breakfast. Well done and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional. Not a bad room anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Durable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at RiverWood for a weekend of hiking and relaxing in the White Mountains. This may be our favorite B&B and we have stayed in many. The rooms are nice, well furnished and full of light. The house is lovely with an inviting porch for relaxing. Hosts could not be nicer and the breakfast delicious and filling.

We will definitely be back, perhaps for the ski season!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and would recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wow....really, that word sums it all up. Our room in the main inn was beautifully decorated...not over-the-top ruffles & flowers like too many B&B's, just tasteful colors & VERY comfortable mattresses (I'm very fussy about that). Would have liked a dresser, but that wasn't too big an issue (we only stayed for 2 nights). The room was exactly as described on the website, and was wonderfully sunny. The bathroom was smallish, but not too tight (seriously, I've stayed places where it was impossible to close the door once you were in the room!).
We were the only guests, so we were able to peek into all the rooms, including some in the back that were still being renovated. Each had its own character, and they all were very restrained, very elegant.
But the food!!!!!! First day was homemade sausage and four blueberry pancakes, after a starter of poached pears with yoghurt & homemade (I think) almond granola. We were full, but not overly so, and the meal really stuck with us. The second day they served fried potatoes, and an interesting dish that was eggs with ham and herbs, baked in a buckwheat crepe 'bowl', after a starter of yoghurt & granola: again, amazingly delicious, and kept you satisfied until lunchtime.
The owners were very helpful, and recommended wonderful places to see and restaurants to eat at. The first morning, we were trying to decide which morning to try to drive up Mt. Washington...they just looked out the window and told us the top was socked in, and we might want to try the next day...and they were right! Had a beautiful drive up Mt Washington, and the clouds cleared enough for us to see some amazing views.
I cannot understand the bad reviews I see here: my experience was as close to perfect as I think you can reasonably get. Will definitely head up there again as soon as we can get away!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at the Riverwood this past winter. Nice property, location and separate building for storing and waxing skis, but it ends there. Carriage house rooms were very plain inside and not decorated all that well including window treatments. No soap bars or shampoo for shower use, just liquid soap for the bathroom sink. Walkway to the Carriage House could have been cleared and sanded better during snow showers. Skimpy breakfast of 2 small pancakes and a few extras. Innkeeper went around asking if we wanted more pancakes after eating but shouldn't have to ask, 3 pancakes should be standard for a hearty breakfast during ski season. Outside night light of Carriage House also off since Innkeeper unscrewed light bulb to save $$ although rectified once informed of night light not operating. Expected more and too much cost cutting. Appeared to be a 2 person operation for a large property and many rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in main Inn may be nicer than Carriage House rooms but didn't see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awm414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Owner at RiverWood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us assess the quality of our efforts. We’re sorry your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We make every effort to make our guests’ stay pleasant and memorable. While our Carriage House rooms are a little different from those of the main Inn, we feel that at the time they were well appointed - with high quality linens and mattresses. We do provide – in addition to hand soaps – body washes and lotions in each bathroom as a matter of course, and have shampoo and cream rinse available upon request (we’ve found that most people bring their own shampoos). If the body wash was missing it was an oversight for which we apologize. We would have been happy to provide it if we had been notified that it was missing. On a brighter note, we have just spent most of April and May upgrading the Carriage House rooms with new paint, carpets, flooring, bed covers, and window treatments. We’ll soon be posting photos on our website.

As far as breakfast is concerned, we do not recollect ever serving any less than three of Susan’s light, fluffy, buttermilk blueberry pancakes to any of our guests, after a first course of fresh fruit. We feel that the other extras – a selection of juices, coffee and teas, locally produced maple syrup, home-made sausage or locally produced smoked bacon complement the pancakes when served; and when we ask if anyone wants more just to be sure; just about all our guests respond that they’ve had a plentiful sufficiency! But we’ll keep checking.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope that the next time you’re in the Jackson area, you’ll stop by to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for three nights on a trip around New England. Our room in the main house was really comfy with great views over the lawn and front of house. All the rooms have their own individual touches and the whole house is pretty and well thought out.
The owners were so helpful and provided us with loads of information about things to do, places to go and the best restaurants to visit. They even booked a table in one of the best restaurants for us on our first night, on spec, as it is difficult to get a booking at the last minute.
We were provided with maps, driving and walking routes. The owners have lived around New Hampshire for years so know most places well. We were even given energy bars to take hiking!
Breakfast was delicious, fresh home made with a slight French twist.
Great location, good value, lots of help and advice from the owners.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MorganPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

How anyone can give the RiverWood Inn anything but an excellent is beyond me. I stayed here during summer 2013 with my brother and mum, and we knew from the offset we'd made an amazing decision! Jackson is a cute little area, and a million miles away from our usual English city environment. James and Susan were incredibly lovely throughout our stay, taking a genuine interest in our family and our travels, helping us out, pointing us in the right direction, and welcoming us to their lovely Inn. I shared a room with my Mum, and my brother was in one next door, both upstairs in the main house - gorgeous rooms, each with an individual feel. (And a really fun high bed!) The living room areas were homely, clean and friendly - with drinks and cookies out regularly. James spent a good amount of his time going over routes with us for our trip into the mountains, lending us maps and even giving us energy bars. We were shown the lovely river behind the inn, a perfect place to spend some time in the hot summer weather. They recommended a great local restaurant to us, and their OWN breakfasts were to die for - all home made, and so much effort put in!

Would beyond any doubt recommend the RiverWood Inn to anyone staying in the area - it's got just as much to offer in summer as in winter, by the sounds of things! If we didn't live several thousands of KM away across the North Atlantic, we'd be back in a flash :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the RiverWood Inn during the last gasp of the 2014 ski season. It didn't look much like the end of the season in Jackson. They had clearly had an exceptional amount of late winter snow. Warm days, cool nights and rain seemed to be making things a bit difficult for everyone in the area, but thanks to some good advice from our hosts James and Susan, we some got in one gorgeous day of skiing and another fun but rather messy one.
We had two wonderful breakfasts in the inn-proper, lovingly and tastefully restored, very comfortable and cozy. The breakfast room was open and bright and two adjacent sitting rooms invited. A lovely way to start the day. The big front porch and grounds beckon for another visit during summer.
Staying in the carriage house gave us the convenience of a kitchen area and a bit of extra space. Some of the remodeling efforts that had brought such warmth and charm to the main inn building during the relatively brief tenure of these new owners were scheduled to begin in the carriage house immediately after our departure, but the room was already very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Susan has already created something unique and special in each of the guest rooms in the inn building. I look forward to seeing what vision she has in mind for the carriage house rooms.
I suspect that your enjoyment of this place depends entirely on the kind of experience and accommodation you are looking for. These are older buildings, well-tended and lovingly restored. The hosts are helpful, hospitable enthusiastic about creating something special and personal. Our experience at RiverWood was just what we had hoped for. Get in touch with James ahead of your stay to make sure you get the right room for your needs. Potentially important differences don't always translate well into pictures or lists of amenities.
Most of all, Enjoy!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Carter Notch Inn
Carter Notch Inn
#3 of 11 in Jackson
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverWood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverWood Inn

Address: 49 Main Street, PO Box 149, Jackson, NH 03846 (Formerly Village House)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range: £141 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RiverWood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the White Mountains, just across the covered bridge in Jackson Village, you'll find RiverWood Inn - Jackson's newest old inn. With over 130 years of history, and after six months of renovations we are pleased to offer you a lodging experience of understated elegance. RiverWood is a Bed and Breakfast Inn located on over five acres of tended lawns, wild fields, and rolling woodlands. Shaded pathways lead to our private Wildcat River frontage, complete with a natural pebble beach, swimming hole and trout-filled riffles. Please come and stay with us, relax, and enjoy New England hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your RiverWood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Jackson
RiverWood Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing