We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Glen Ellis Falls

Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Islip,ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful river with falls. Great for families to enjoy a cool dip on a hot day. You have to park on the side of the road, so be careful. Bring a chair or find a rock to sit on and listen to the falls. Just wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    34
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A very impressive waterfall for such a short walk. There was an honor based $3 recreation fee to park here. Probably a ten minute walk to the falls, but it is down quite a few stairs. A good destination when you are looking for something short.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cockatiel-dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little easy hike”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful falls. Easy hike down a lot of steps but still easy on us senior citizens. Wear shoes that can get wet. Safety railings are rustic logs that enhance the walk. Need to pay a $3 area user fee for National Forest but it is good in other locations that same day, we got our money's worth.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiring2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive waterfall!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My three girls (9, 7, and 4) had fun and didn't complain about the walk, so you know it isn't very long. Lots of steps, so not stroller friendly, but even our little one could walk the short .2 mile walk.

Helpful?
Thank 97nbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ipswich,NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We swung through here on a tip from a Wildcat employee on a whim and were so glad we did! We were early in the season (May) so parking wasn't much of an issue but the lot is small and likely packed in the peak months, so try to get there early on in the day if you want to find a spot! Parking/fee was self-service and I believe $3. We took a 5 year old and a 3 year old and it was a bit of a hike for the younger ones but not out of the question. At the end of the walk we were rewarded with breathtaking views of the falls. Closer to the road/parking lot we found a tame area to wade and splash. Would recommend stopping by the falls if you're in the area!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyg603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Ellis Falls also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Glen Ellis Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing