We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not for foodies.”
Review of Christmas Farm Inn

Christmas Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant features a variety of classic New England dishes, steaks, pasta, seafood, and sandwiches. Our restaurant specializes in seasonal cuisine that reflects the best of New England, with a menu that is eclectic yet approachable, created from fresh, local ingredients as often as possible.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK, but not for foodies.”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Dinner for five last week.

Dining area full of children. Don't cone here until 8:00 pm if you like eating with adults.

Food ranged from good to indifferent to bizarre.

Worst was overcooked linguine with flavorless, doughy meatballs.

Best dish was also a bit bizarre. Properly-cooked, large tortellini filled with ground beef and veal, served with an excellent horseradish cream sauce. So far so good. But the addition of small boiled potatoes and freshly grated carrot was bizarre.

Salads were fine. Buffalo tenders app was quite tasty.

Good dessert.

Warm friendly service from owner's daughter.

Well-prepared cocktails.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StanRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your review and we were glad to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. We take all comments very seriously and discuss these with our award-winning head chef, Stan Shafer.

All our food is cooked fresh and we try to source natural and organic ingredients wherever we can. Our style of cuisine and service is country casual with good, honest food. Our tortellacci are very delicious and the addition of potatoes an unusual, but tasty move, especially with that wonderful sauce. We note your comment about the linguini and will address this.

During school vacation we host a lot of families who visit the many local attractions. You will find that all family friendly restaurants in the area will be busy with families dining late. There are other times of the year such as fall foliage and winter when our guests are mainly couples and groups of friends.

Once again, thank you for your time to review your dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    83
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is great, service is well-intentioned”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Reservations recommended, food was great - we had kids meal chicken terriaki & porkchop the only items not fresh were cooked veg and rice pilau. Included breakfast is very nice esp. with fresh fruit options. Service is well-intentioned smooth and friendly but perhaps a little too attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uspickerings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you very much for your great review. Our staff is very friendly and eager to please and receive many positive comments on tripadvisor. Their efforts were indeed well-intentioned! Sandra, Gary and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Inn to stay and eat at!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Attended a wedding this past weekend at the Christmas Farm Inn. The service was held in the Barn which great and the reception was in a tent on the property on the grounds of the Inn. Everything was done perfectly. The owners were present throughout the entire wedding to help in any way. One of the guests at our table asked for a special dinner meal and one of the Inn Keepers had the meal to her within 5 minutes. Great food, great service, great location. The Room was clean and very comfortable. A friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carnfam539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
We really appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed the wedding weekend with us. We do elopements and weddings of all sizes and pride ourselves in our personal approach and fully customized services. Food is such an important part of a wedding celebration and we are very grateful for our excellent chef and team who always receive glowing reviews from our brides and grooms. Thank you again! Sandra, Gary and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food and service at the Christmas...”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The food and service at the Christmas Farm Inn is terrific and we will return again. The breakfast if you're staying at the Inn is good too. We recommend staying and dining here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFIManager, General Manager at Christmas Farm Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christmas Farm Inn also viewed

 

Been to Christmas Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing