We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back home again”
Review of Inn at Ellis River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 11 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back home again”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our 6th trip to the Inn. Each and every time we enjoy it more. The Innkeepers Frank and Lynn were gracious as always. Breakfasts that make your mouth water {especially like the bacon and cider doughnuts). The room was warm and cozy, with the fireplace and sounds of the the river. We arrive each time with a renewed feeling of being home

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithherlong06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    63
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
416
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We certainly did not expect to find the facilities we did, the swimming pool and Jacuzzi were a surprise. we could not resist having a swim even though it was nearly 5pm and the pool area was all in shade. It was cold but worth it for the fun. The Jacuzzi soon warmed us up. the pub was also fun to use in the evening, having the pool table and darts virtually to ourselves was a treat. The garden and stream were a lovely peaceful area to sit in. Teas and coffees were available at all times for guests to help themselves and there was a nice selection of afternoon snacks. the inn keeper was very helpful about places to eat and guided us on a lovely circular walk taking in the falls, a few shops which were sadly closed because we arrived late, the covered bridge and the Red Fox where we had a lovely meal.

Room Tip: We had the champney falls room, overlooking the swimming pool. A lovely room we were happy with. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are delighted you had a wonderful stay at the inn, and had the opportunity to enjoy its amenities such as the peaceful riverside setting, the heated pool, hot tub, and gameroom/pub. We hope you will return on your next tour of New England and be able to enjoy even more of what the Jackson area offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My boyfriend and I came up to Jackson for a weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary. Upon arriving at the inn, we were greeted so kindly by the innkeepers and taken for a tour of the inn, with a lovely story behind the inns origins. The inn was so welcoming and inviting, and our room itself, although small, had a quaint and relaxing vibe to it. The fireplace was an added bonus, as it was pretty chilly that weekend and the extra heat was not only nice, but romantic! We ate breakfast both mornings we were there, and I'd have to say it was by far the best breakfast i've had while visiting the white mountains. The breakfast was included in the room price; it was continental as well as entree style, and the apple french toast melted in my mouth. The inn had its own bar, and although we didn't order any drinks, it was nice to know that we didn't have to travel far if we wanted to!

The inn is located in a great area, only minutes from Conway, and right down the road from the Red Parka Pub, one of my favorite restaurants in the white mountain region. It is also next to the river, and i'm sure it looks fantastic in the summer months being able to sit by the water and enjoy the scenery. My boyfriend and I loved our time at the inn at ellis river, and will be back soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xixpeachypiexix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We’re so glad you had such an “amazing” anniversary getaway, and that you especially enjoyed our home cooked breakfasts and the inn’s historic ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We go back to Jackson, NH frequently and almost always stay at the Inn at Ellis River - feels like home away from home. Everyone is so pleasant, cheerful and accommodating - they even made dinner reservations for us in town prior to our arrival. This trip we stayed in the beautiful Paradise Falls suite with a sitting room that has a walkout to a balcony overlooking the grounds and Ellis River, bathroom with Jacuzzi and bedroom with king sized bed and fireplace. The bed was so comfortable and the surroundings beautiful. The room was not only beautiful but also immaculate. A delicious breakfast was included with our stay and served each morning preceded by choices of baked goods, fresh fruit, homemade granola and yogurt, juice - an endless flow of fresh coffee! There is coffee and teas available for the guests anytime of day in the dining room and fresh baked goodies are there too each afternoon. While at the inn there are many areas for relaxation, reading a good book, doing a puzzle or playing a game of pool. The Inn is owned by Frank and Lyn who have made this a great place to stay and have surrounded themselves with great staff like Christine who, in addition to working tirelessly, does so with a smile on her face and makes it her business to spread the laughter and smiles to each and every guest; Teenie that not only keeps the rooms immaculate but is also in the business of "smile making". We were introduced to one of the new innkeepers, Peter, who also seems very nice and working hard at making everyone's stay effortless!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNorcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are delighted you have enjoyed your stays at your home away from home, and have taken the time to post your comments for others to see. All of us look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had previously spent four nights at the Inn at Ellis River in 2010 and had a wonderful time there. We never thought that our travels might take us back to the New England region again, but when we were planning our current holiday, we decided to make a little detour so we could go back to this beautiful area and, of course, the Inn for one night. The location is idyllic. Prettily situated beside the Ellis River, it was very quiet and yet an easy walking distance to the centre of Jackson (and the covered bridge). The rooms aren’t big, but are certainly beautifully decorated, appointed and very clean. We especially like the fireplace in the rooms and loved the ambiance it provided. On our previous visit, which was during the busy autumn time, we had the pleasure of staying in two rooms, the Nancy Cascade and the Arethusa Falls which were both lovely, though the Nancy Cascade is smaller. The pretty bathrooms were on the small side and the hand basin was in the room which we found great if someone just wanted to clean their teeth while the another person was using the bathroom – no waiting. This time we stayed in the larger Crystal Cascade room with it's lounge area, en-suite and balcony overlooking the backyard with the river to the side. As we were travelling for a couple of months and had four large suitcases, we found the room size to be perfect. The queen size bed was luxuriously comfortable and the room impeccably clean. So if you need a little more space, there are larger rooms to be had. Just check the website as it gives you ample information to make the perfect decision for you requirements. But a word of warning, book early as this Inn is popular!! The home cooked breakfasts were delicious and the afternoon treat of freshly baked cookies was eagerly awaited. We enjoyed spending time in the bar/billiard room with its open fire and bar area, enabling friendly banter between the guests. The staff welcomed us like old friends which was lovely. Nothing was too much trouble, you had only to ask. They provide a home away from home for all their guests and we loved chatting to the Innkeeper, Christine, with her sense of fun and good humour and who never tires making sure that her guests are having an enjoyable stay. I maybe dreaming, but I would love to return one day and stay for a longer period, maybe even to experience my first White Christmas!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so mich for your very kind review, and we are thrilled that you came back to visit us again all the way from Australia! We hope your dreams will be fulfilled, and you will be able to return to celebrate a White Christmas someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Inn at Ellis River and once again, our stay was memorable. We stayed in the Sparkling Cascades room with a Jacuzzi tub and three sided fireplace and the highest king size bed we have ever stayed in! When we entered our room there was a special handwritten note on a plate of goodies (awesome, addictive Williams and Sonoma pumpkin candies) thanking us for joining them once again. We spent our evenings enjoying the Jacuzzi tub with the windows cracked to listen to the river that flows right behind the room. The next day after enjoying some hikes to nearby waterfalls, we enjoyed a cup of coffee on our little balcony basking in the sun overlooking the Ellis river. We always look forward to afternoon time at the Inn and what fresh baked cookies they will be offering. The Inn itself is very homey, well decorated and inviting with several common rooms. The homemade breakfasts is always a good start to the day and the cheerfulness of the staff. The homemade granola is a must and the breakfast choices is a treat. The Inn is set off from the road and in a perfect location for hiking and enjoying North Conway. If you are looking for a good dinner try Mae Kelley's Irish Pub on the outskirts of North Conway. The Inn at Ellis River is home away from home with some added relaxing luxury New England Style.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acadiacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We appreciate your effort to post your review, and your kind comments. We try to welcome all our returning guests with a little surprise of some kind, and since it was almost Halloween, we decided to wish you sweet dreams with some seasonal treats. We’re glad you enjoy our granola and afternoon treats, and we’re happy to provide recipes for most things including the granola for your enjoyment at home if you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We visit Jackson fairly regularly in the fall and this is not our first stay at Inn at Ellis River, nor will it be the last. We acknowledge that the rooms are small, but they are oh so charming and comfy.
There are several public rooms where people gather and share experiences; the lovely dining room, a parlor complete with piano, puzzles, books and magazines ,and a bar/game room with a special "drink of the day", pool table and games, plus a beautiful yard that sweeps down to the river. We don't think of the Inn as a sunset gazing location, but we had a spectacular one this last visit. Breakfasts are wonderful--always a choice of sweet or savory and then there's the bacon. Don't know what it is about the bacon, but it's the best. The staff is always fun in the morning and that sets the tone for the day. We love the location of this Inn on the river and a pleasant walk to the charming little town of Jackson. Don't miss the library! When you get "home" from a day of hiking and leaf peeping there are always yummy cookies waiting along with a friendly greeting. Maintaining this old Inn has been a labor of love and Frank and Lynn have given it all they've got. Thank heavens for them and their gift to us all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, some smaller than others and some with balconies. Their website describes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you so much for your generous words and your understanding of some of the quirks of an inn first built in the 1890s. We appreciate your suggestion about viewing the website description of differences between rooms, and we are happy to assist any potential guest with a telephone discussion about what room they might find most comfortable. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 11 in Jackson
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
14.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Property: Inn at Ellis River
Address: 17 Harriman Road, PO Box 656, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. In the winter enjoy many cross country and alpine ski opportunities in the immediate and nearby ski locations. Voted "Best Bed & Breakfast" in The Conway Daily Sun's "100 Best of 2017 Mount Washington Valley". Reserve today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing