We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Inviting, a Great Inn to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Ellis River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #2 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm and Inviting, a Great Inn to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed at the Inn at Ellis River three times this ski season so far, and each time have picked a different room. We love them all! The common rooms are warm and inviting. We always find time to use the hot tub in the sunroom, and to play billiards in the "pub". After a day of activities it's nice to come back to afternoon tea and freshly baked cookies in the dining room! Breakfasts offer fresh fruit, homemade granola and yogurt, baked goods and a choice of a hot entrée! The staff is friendly and there is always someone to answer questions on where to go for a nice meal, or anything else you'd like to know about the area! They really go out of their way to make your stay perfect in every way!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and clean and have everything you could possibly need. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteMtnskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your skiing getaways, and that we are located in an area with so many skiing options. We hope you will come back to visit in the summer, too, so you can enjoy summer activities in the area and the sounds of the Ellis River at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    62
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
407
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at this inn recently because the inn where we usually stay in Jackson was booked. We are so glad this happened because this is our new favorite place to stay in Jackson! The innkeepers were wonderful about showing us around when we checked in and later offering suggestions on places to eat and things to do. We had mentioned possibly taking the Snow Coach up Mt. Washington the next day and found the brochure slipped under our door. Little things like complimentary bottled water in the room and a couple of chocolates were nice touches. Plenty to do with a hot tub, pool table, bar and a room to sit and read or play games. It was extremely quiet at night in our 3rd floor room. There is hot water available for hot chocolate or tea and a coffee machine. Homemade cookies out in the afternoon were delicious. Breakfast included blueberry coffee cake, scones and fruit, followed by waffles with warm apples and bacon. Delicious! Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are delighted we’re your new favorite inn in Jackson, and we look forward to seeing you soon. You’ll find lots to do in the summer, too, and you can enjoy our gardens, heated pool and gazebo, or just relax in Adirondack chairs by the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

If I could give the Inn at Ellis River more than 5 stars I would! My husband (boyfriend at the time) took me here for my 30th Birthday. We had the best time ever and truly enjoyed our stay so I brought him back for his 30th birthday. We can't say enough about how romantic this bed and breakfast is and how wonderful the service and food is! We decided to come back for our honeymoon in December 2013 because we couldn't imagine celebrating our honeymoon anywhere else. We just got back from a mini moon on Sunday because we couldn't get enough. We love the homemade granola, fresh fruit, and the delicious hot breakfast. Even the fresh out-of-the oven cookies and hot apple cider they serve in the afternoon are always so delightful. For our honeymoon and other previous stays, we stayed in Paradise Falls. We absolutely love the real fireplace and the jacuzzi tub. Our last stay Paradise Falls was booked so we booked Pearl Cascade and fell in love with it! There is a mini fridge in the room and a coffeemate in case you want coffee or tea in the morning and don't feel like walking to the main Inn. I can't wait to go back in a month or so for another relaxing weekend! The rooms are so clean and gorgeous and we love the small details of the Lindt Chocolates and bottles of water they leave. The Inn Keepers Lyn and Frank are such warm people that the first time you meet them you feel like you've known them forever! Christine is the best and I have nothing but great things to say about her. When we arrived on Friday, we got there later than expected and she had a bag of the best chocolate chip cookies waiting for us with a sprinkle of confectionary sugar! It's all about presentation! A+ Inn, A+ Service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind comments, and you’ve helped us decide on triple chocolate chip cookies for this afternoon’s refreshments! We hope you will continue to celebrate your birthdays with us for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I love the White Mountain Region of New Hampshire and go pretty often. We have found our home away from home at the Inn at Ellis River. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.The rooms are so clean, beautifully decorated and cozy! Each room is so unique that we are working our way through each of them one at a time :) Our last visit, we stayed in the Pearl Cascade which is a spacious room with king-sized bed, jacuzzi and three sided fireplace that makes the room warm and beautifully cozy! There's always delicious snacks in the afternoon, coffee or tea anytime we want and a delicious full breakfast each morning in the bright and cozy dining room that looks out over the grounds and the river. Most of all, the innkeepers and staff go out of their way to make our stay a great experience each and every time we visit. Only question is now, which room will we book next :) Craig and Vanessa from RI

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNorcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for paying us the greatest compliment of being your home away from home. We’ve been busy refreshing three rooms this spring (Franconia Falls, Beaver Brook Falls, and Diana’s Baths), so perhaps you might choose one of them for your next visit. Or you might want to try Sparking Cascade, which is similar to the Pearl Cascade room you enjoyed on your last stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I travel a lot, weve stayed in some of the so called great hotels of the world. We loved the Inn. The rooms are OK, the Breakfasts are fantastic! the views are stunning! The staff are crazy in the best possible way, nothing's to much trouble for them. The Innkepper has some great story's. Best of all they understand our strange ironic British sense of humor. We never stopped laughing! PS The bars great. Peter Simpkin( London)

Room Tip: One of the rooms with a terrace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winchmorehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We almost cancelled our last visit here due to a pending ice storm.It was the week before Christmas and we had to do all of our Christmas shopping in 2 days!!! We would never miss a
chance to unwind and recharge at our favorite Inn. We know we have many choices in this area, and have tried many, but it's never the same level of warmth, caring, awesome food, beautiful rooms, and most of all, the personal attention to details!!!!These dear people love what they do and it shows!!!!! If it's not broken, don't fix it!!!!!! HAAA!!!!! The weather was horrible, icy as all get out, but we shopped till we dropped, and headed back to our awesome room, and wrapped presents, ate chocolate, from them of course, and relaxed, a lost art form!!!We will be there for both of our birthdays to hike, shop, eat, and continue to be blessed each time we walk through their doors!!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms, each one is unique,beautifully decorated,beds are so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lovely inn with helpful and charming staff, nicely appointed rooms and delicious breakfasts. Be sure to partake of the afternoon hot cider and cookies, a welcome treat on a winter day. Look forward to a future stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnadimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#1 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Property: Inn at Ellis River
Address: 17 Harriman Road, PO Box 656, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. Reserve today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing