We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from Jackson, NH after spending a few days in the White Mountains. We stayed at the Thorn Hill Inn and could not be more delighted with the lovely inn, the courteous staff, and the terrific service we experienced at the inn! Our suite, the Mt Washington was spacious and had incredible views of the mountains surrounding us. We enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfasts at the inn which were yummy! My favorite from breakfast was the homemade muffins! One afternoon, we sat by the grand fireplace (one of many) in the lounge and enjoyed a bottle of wine without pushy servers bothering us. The only reason I gave the inn a 4 instead of a 5 was the matteress for the bed was somewhat hard. I prefer a softer mattress to sleep on so by the end of the trip, my back was somewhat achy. Having said that, we are planning to come back in the summer time and see what Jackson and the White Mountains have to offer and we will be staying at this delightful inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtywatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear dirtywatergirl

Thank you for your review and your great comments about your stay. In regards to the Bed as you know we did install all new Beds but of course understand if it is to firm for your liking. We do have some featherbeds available and on your next return please let us know and we gladly prepare your Mattress with the addition of the featherbed for a more softer comfort you are used to it.
Your comments about the courteous staff is very much appreciated as we well know it is the team who makes it happen and deserves all the credit.

Looking forward to hosting your stay in the summer.

Kind Regards
Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    66
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
463
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manomet, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Fantastic! We can't recommend Thorn Hill highly enough. We've been visiting the Jackson area for 30 years but had never stayed here. Our big mistake.

Our room, Madison, had view to Mt Washington, which was snow covered. We could lie in bed in the morning and look out to it. Room was elegant, with antique furniture, gas fireplace, wonderfully appointed. The bathroom was bigger than our two bathrooms at home combined, with Jacuzzi and steambath/shower for two combination. No issues whatsoever with heat in the winter. Quiet.

The lounge is welcoming for a simple drink. Comfortable, sink into them chairs and couches. Or hang out at the bar. Carlos the barkeep was superb, knowledgeable and accommodating.

And the dining room! Not a restaurant...this is a dining room. White tablecloths, substantial silverware, cozy fireplace, excellent views to the mountains. Excellent for both breakfast and dinner.

And the dinner! By our third bite of entree, we had decided this was the best meal we've enjoyed in two years. Absolutely special! We had veal medallions cooked in a lobster thyme sauce (with a healthy portion of lobster meat) served over risotto. Tender veal. Risotto cooked to perfection. With a nice Pinot Noir. Service staff friendly, helpful, attentive and not overwhelming.

Would we stay at Thorn Hill again? Yeah, probably in about a month.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear PAWms

What a beautiful Title you gave us " Inn at Thorn HIll - A Rose" we are very happy that you stayed with us for the first time after so many years visiting Jackson and that we lived up to your expectation. Reading your review is extremely rewarding to our team as they are the ones who ultimately deserve all the Credit. We are looking very much forward to your return visit and thank you for your kind words in your review of our Inn.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was a lovely inn and resort and in a beautiful location. The staff was so personable, especially Klaus, the manager. We were here for an office holiday party (overnight) and it was the perfect choice. We were welcomed to our beautiful suite with a box of chocolates and a personalized welcome note. The room was huge and very detail oriented, and yet still felt updated though it had a french country feel. The bathroom was also very spacious with a cteam shower and a huge jacuzzi tub. The food was delicious, we had a catered event so it was a set menu. The breakfast was equally delicious and the morning views of the mountains and nature made it extra pleasant. We did not stay long enough to try the spa but definitely would like to return and spend more quality time here. Highly recommended and I am certain we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear rmia24

Thank you for your review and your nice comments about our " Great Getaway Resort".
We are very happy you enjoyed one of our spacious rooms with all its amenities.
Your great comments about the food and beverage at the Inn and the recognition of our personable staff and our manger Klaus is very much appreciated as they deserve all the credit for your experience.
Looking forward to your return in the near future.
Kind regards
Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Needed a getaway to unwind and relax. Found exactly what we needed at this charming Inn. A beautiful property, wonderful food, friendly and knowledgeable staff and a classy calm throughout!! Our room was perfect with a view of Mt. Washington, gas fireplace and a very comfortable bed. The manager, Klaus, made us feel right at home and was very accommodating. Great breakfasts, elegant dinners and a warm, cozy lounge made for a perfect weekend. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Debora D
We would like to thank you for your kind review about our Inn. Most important that you enjoyed our services and accommodation as it is very important to us that as you described it best as classy calm feeling throughout the property. It is very important to us that each couple visiting us feels relaxed and have a weekend of rejuvenation.
Our Manager Klaus and his team deserve all the Credit and we appreciate you acknowledging our team members.
Looking forward to host you again in the very near future.
Best Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany new york
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our stay in the Presidential suite was very enjoyable. The inn is very well kept and very nicely decorated for the holiday. The suite has everything you could want from a gas fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, steam shower, great view and a nice setting room that got little use. Our room was very clean and cleaned every morning while enjoying breakfast. Our housekeeper was very good and took pride in her work. The rest of the staff was very pleasant and helpful before and during our stay.We had great meals our whole stay. The only place improvement could be done is in the bar area. Opening up earlier and having one steady bartender. It would have been nice to have a drink in the afternoon by the fireplace or in the sitting area We would advise friends & family to go to the inn.

Room Tip: get a room with the view of the White Mts. / Mt. Washington
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honestguy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear honestguy1950

Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay with us over Christmas.
It is very nice of you to point out the excellent job our housekeeper does she truly is very valuable to our Inn. Your recommendation in regards to the Lounge already has been reviewed and adjustments are being made. We appreciate your recommendation to your friends and family and we will look forward to host your next stay.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the Inn in the Presidential Suite. The room was beautiful with the gas fire place and a most comfortable king size bed. It also had a steam shower and jacuzzi tub. The Inn was immaculate. Staff was very helpful with any questions we had. Breakfast was also very good. It was a 6 hour drive, but was worth it. We will return and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edkar1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Edkar 1986
Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments. I am very happy you enjoyed our new Beds as well the fireplace in the room. Your comments in regards to our helpful staff is very much appreciated as they are the ones who deserve all the credit.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent our anniversary at the inn for two nights. It was very romantic, with a wonderful room and large whirlpool tub and gas fireplace. The bed was comfortable. We went to the lounge for drinks the first night and the main dining the second. The food was very good for dinner and breakfast. The manager Klaus was very nice and present during our stay, attentive to whatever we needed. Location is very nice. Locals do drive awful fast down the road though. Few close calls crossing from parking lot to the inn at night. Only complaint is the front door. Swings out and slams shut every time. No hook or spring. Gets hard to sleep at night over and over slamming. Overall a great bed and breakfast. Will return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsoxfn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear redsoxfn79

Thank you for your kind review and recognizing our team especially Klaus our Hotel Manager.
We are very happy you chose us for your such a special day as your Anniversary. I will be looking in to your comments in regards the front door and for a solution, thank you for pointing this out to us as it was a first time for this comment and it will help us to improve.
I am happy you mentioned the comfort of our Bed and the wonderful description of our rooms.
Hope to see you back at the Inn soon.

Kind Regards
Heidi& Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn HIll and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
15.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa

Property: The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Address: 40 Thorn Hill Road, P.O. Box 800, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Couples Retreat" Discover an award-winning New Hampshire spa resort in the majestic White Mountains. Our elegant AAA 4 Diamond Jackson, NH lodging offers elegant rooms, world-class dining and a luxury day spa. When you are looking for Jackson, NH hotels or a North Conway B&B, the Inn at Thorn Hill will exceed your expectations. Named by the Washington Post as "One of the Ten Most Romantic Inns in North America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Thorn Hill Hotel Jackson
The Inn At Thorn Hill And Spa
The Inn At Thorn Hill & Spa Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing