We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat, upscale service and excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here while on a vacation in the North Conway area. The check in staff were very welcoming and friendly and gave a full tour of the property. The hotel manager was very attentive and obviously takes pride in his work keeping the place upscale. The staff always remembered your name and room number. The afternoon tea and cookies were a nice touch. The bar and restaurant were always clean and tidy. The hotel suite was very clean as well with a wonderful bathroom in the Presidential Suite. The area is away from the hustle and traffic of North Conway but still close enough to enjoy it. I think its a great place with wonderful views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We wanted to visit North Conway and see the sights. So we booked two nights at The Inn at Thorn Hill based on Trip Advisor reviews. And boy, are we happy with our choice.

The person we spoke to, Nancy, warmly advised us and reserved us in room 203, The Madison Room. We loved the spacious floor plan, the view of the White Mountains, a whirlpool bathtub for two, steam shower, working gas fireplace, marble bathroom--all working beautifully, and classy antique furniture and Pella Windows. Fine touchs throughout the room, and a huge 50" HD plasma television too!

We enjoyed our gourmet meals, 2 breakfasts and a lovely dinner. I was served by two excellent waitresses, Nikki so exuberant, dinner server, and Sonja so warm and personable, our breakfast server.
I must describe my dinner. I am a foodie. And I cook pretty good too.
I started off with appetizer of two "lamb lollipops". It was so wonderful, I lost my ability to speak. Portions size? Two huge delectable lamb pieces could have almost served as an entree, so meaty and juicy, perfectly pink and rare inside. Then followed my NY cut steak, perfectly grilled, medium rare with broccoli rabe and a blue cheese sauce. Again amazing. I glowed with satisfaction after my memorable meal. Then, asking to meet the chef , I shook the hand of the genius--a calm, dedicated hardworking man named Guy. We had a two minute chat whereby I complimented him on his culinary skills and I told him how much I enjoyed my superb meal, thanks to him and his kitchen staff!

Throughout the three days, I was genuinely impressed and astounded by how busy Klaus was. He was always there, visible, helpful, attentive and warm--the perfect host and manager.

Local activities?
We drove the Kancamagus and up we went on the cog railway--all the way to the top of Mt Washington a good steep 6288' peak. But the "pinnacle of our vacation" was living like a king and queen at the Inn at Thorn Hill.

If you'd like to be treated like royalty, take it from Jimmy Li and Susan Bady, and stay at the Inn at Thorn Hill !!

Room Tip: The premises are quiet and distinguished with luxury touchs throughout. For the best room choice adv...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank beaujtyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear beaujtyboy
We are very pleased reading your review and would like to thank you for your great comments.
Most of all we appreciate you mentioning our staff. From Klaus as you described him best " The perfect host" to our other team members like our Chef Guy, Nancy,Sonja and Nikki.
All the Credit for your experience truly belongs to the entire team of the Inn under Klaus's leadership.
We are trying very hard to give the best service and product to our guests and make it a true retreat for couples.
Looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller
Owner The Luxury Inn Collection
The Inn at Thorn Hill and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a perfect stay at the Inn at thorn Hill last week. I am generally a critical person but I could not honestly find anything wrong. We arrived at about 3.15. We were given a tour of the inn prior to check-in. The room (Jackson room) was large, pretty and very clean. Then we settled in for tea and cookies in the lounge. We took a brief walk around the Jackson loop to the covered bridge and back. We arrived back in time for our 6.45pm dinner reservations. We enjoyed a 3 course gourmet meal as part of our package. We could order any appetizer, entre and dessert. We loved the freshness and taste of the food. I especially enjoyed the brownie sundae for desert. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful cooked to order breakfast again off a menu before our mountain hike for the day. The next morning we again enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. The omelette was one of the best that I have ever had. I would definately stay here again. It had all the amenities of a larger hotel but the individuality of a boutique hotel or even a B and B. Klaus the general manager was amazing, he seemed to work so hard and be there night and day. Although I have stayed numerous times in the White Mountains, this was our first experience staying in Jackson. It was away from the hustle and bustle of North Conway but still convenient to all of the attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bedfordmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear bedfordmom2
We would like to thank you for your wonderful review about our Inn and its team members.
It is a true couples retreat and Klaus and his team are working very hard on given our guests this experience with all its amenities to make everyones stay as perfect as we can.
We very much appreciate you pointing out the service you received from our staff and the great quality of our food.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room was better than expected. The coupon deal was honoured above & beyond. the dinner
(included in our package) was really, really , really good. No Restrictions. How rare!!!
Service was always great. Klaus & his staff were very professional yet friendly.
Breakfast was again perfect. If you are on a "package/special" order what you want. I asked for a fruit cup & a large Apple juice. No extra charge! I was expecting to pay extra's. Wow, this is the way to run an Inn.*
I am going back next year so please go somewhere else if you can. I am thinking the fall so enjoy the spring in NH at the Thorn Hill Inn.
Inn in short- $$$ great Value, Food-4+ ,Scamp-bartender A1, Ambiance 5* plus.
So please at least let me have a room in Sept,
but you can book any room any other time!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gwhdrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear gwhdrewry
Thank you very much for your great review and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
At first when I was reading the headline I was concerned but quickly understood your " Avoid this Inn Please"
Our Team under the leadership of Klaus are the ones who deserve all the credit as they are the ones who truly give over 100% to our guests.
Thank you again, looking forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Heidi& Gunther Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We first stayed at the Inn in 2004 and went back because we enjoyed it so much. New owners but atmosphere and wonderful staff as good as we remember. Rooms are beautiful and everyone can't do enough to make you feel welcome and at home. Thank you Klaus!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Helen S

We are very happy to see that you returned to Thorn Hill and how much you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments about our staff and how wonderful they are under the leadership of Klaus is very much appreciated.
As you well know, the team members are the ones who deserve all the credit for your great experience.
Thank you for your nice comments in regards to the new ownership ( July 2nd it will be one year) as we worked very hard to improve the product up to the standards expected from us and our guests.
Hope to meet you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Heidi & Gunther Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I booked a package overnight to celebrate our anniversay. What a wonderful find for us. Our package included a 3 course (gourmet) dinner and a lovely full course breakfast. We stayed in a suite that had a steam shower and a whirlpool tub for 2. It was an immaculate room and the property was also beautifully updated and kept up. I would absolutely recomend this Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room looking towards Mount Washington. It is a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Robert V

We would like to thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for recommending our property to everyone as we very much appreciate it.

Hope to you see you again soon in the near future.

Heidi & Gunther Z

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this beautiful property for our 21st anniversary, and found it over the top in service, dining, setting, and accommodations. Klaus the innkeeper was very gracious and went out of his way to accommodate our last minute spa reservations. Dinner was outstanding, with exceptional mountain views from the terrace. Lastly, I cannot forget to mention our visit from a local resident-Bob the Bear! He goes for a morning stroll and makes for great conversation over breakfast, see attached picture. Thank you Thorn Hill for making our 21st anniversary so special!

Room Tip: Choose one of the 5 luxury suites if you are celebrating a special occasion
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtbsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear jtbsam

We would like to thank you for your great review about our Inn and that you chose us for your anniversary getaway.
Your kind comments about Klaus, our Spa and your dining experience are very much appreciated and as you know it is the team that deserve all the credit for your superb experience.

I am very happy to see that you also met "Bob" our local resident as he truly is a Jackson celebrity.
We are looking forward to hosting your next stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
15.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa

Address: 40 Thorn Hill Road, P.O. Box 800, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £96 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Perfect Couples Retreat" Discover an award-winning New Hampshire spa resort in the majestic White Mountains. Our elegant AAA 4 Diamond Jackson, NH lodging offers elegant rooms, world-class dining and a luxury day spa. When you are looking for Jackson, NH hotels or a North Conway B&B, the Inn at Thorn Hill will exceed your expectations. Named by the Washington Post as "One of the Ten Most Romantic Inns in North America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Thorn Hill Hotel Jackson
The Inn At Thorn Hill And Spa
The Inn At Thorn Hill & Spa Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing