We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$104
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wentworth(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordic Village Resort(Bartlett)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Chalets Village Inn(Intervale)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Attitash Mountain Village(Bartlett)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
614
79
23
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
79
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitedining roommurder mystery weekendmy husband and igas fireplacemadison roomwhite mountainslamb lollipopsnew ownerswrap around porchsteam showersurf and turfthe entire staffpresidential rangedining experiencefiletthe wait staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed at this B&B many times in the past and overall it seen noticeable changes.
I know the owners read the reviews so I hope they look at this review.
Let's Start with the overall Inn it has to be the one of the best and most beautiful inn in the area hands down beautiful, new owners had made nice improvements for the better.
The Staff are all Rock Stars starting with Nancy,Megan and Scamp she is so down to earth very helpful told us place to visit eat just a real plus.
Now for the negative
My Wife and I were sitting in the lounge when Klaus came in at 5 to start the dinner shift he made eye contact never never said hello and he the hotel manager we were the only ones in the lounge just seems not overall friendly again many reviews in past comments

Afternoon tea is wonderful but grocery store cookies are tacky it takes no effort to make daily say chocolate chips I have seen this on reviews before so this tells me the new owners are ok with this.We had friends who we're staying down the street and they had fresh homemade cookies each say

Breakfast was just ok never had eggs served with just 1 single piece of toast cut in half I know you need to cut but 1 slice of bread.
The coffee used be coffee from a local company in town now it's Green Mountain which is a step up from DD I asked the waitress and she said it was changed and your not only person who did not like it.

Outdoor Pool
Should read take a tip in our outside ice cold pool man was that cold this has to be the only BB without a heated pool we had friends staying at another BB and they had an outdoor heated pool.
We talked to many people who stayed here in the past and all agreed it all about just cut cut cut

Room Tip: Need to know the area ask Scamp she knows everything about the area
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Frank M

Thank you for your detailed review about our Inn.
We do very much appreciate your comments in regards to us making nice improvements for the better and your statement that hands down it is the best and most beautiful Inn in the area. Thank you! We are also most appreciative of you pointing out some of our dedicated staff from Nancy, Meghan to Scamp as you know without them it only would be a beautiful building.
I am not ignoring your other comments and take every suggestion very serious and will be looking in to them and would like to thank you for mentioning them.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Heidi & Gunther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First, this Inn is lovely. Easy to find, you come up a mountain road and there it is, welcoming, wide porch, nice furniture, just great. And the staff are great. Megan was a great help, showing us around, getting my wireless hooked up. The décor is really quite nice. The bar is full of deep, comfy seating, and the dining room extends out to the lovely porch, which we enjoyed very much during our meals and in between on a lazy afternoon. We even sat out there for breakfast during a soothing summer rain, which was so nice! And, as a bonus, we got to see the bear that day. Yes, kids, there really IS a bear. He’s not small, and quite a handsome devil.
So, let’s talk about the meals, shall we? The food was fine. Not great. If you’re lovers of really good food as we are ( not needing fancy schmancy but well prepared and delicious), this is probably not your food destination. Breakfast was included in the package we purchased, and it was a small but respectable selection, off the menu, not a buffet. The omelet was ok, the special apple pancake super sugary as I expected though fresh apples would have been better than canned, and the Benedict had super runny eggs, but now I’m just being a fussy pants. It was all fine, as I said, but all unimpressive. We asked for a latte drink, which we wanted even after learning it was NOT included in the price (seriously?) and it was delivered only following a long wait, and was as a result, tepid. We asked for a fresh one, and our waitress obliged, which was nice. It was difficult to get a coffee refill, oddly. Not for lack of effort or willingness, but because there were too few waitstaff to manage the volume of guests, since the inn was full. One would think that a manager might have planned for this (call me crazy), after reviewing the reservations, but I guess not. They could have used another set of waitstaff hands, for sure.
In a similar fashion, we came down for the (included) dinner, promptly at 7, as reserved weeks ago. The manager let us know that we would have to wait since too many people came down at once and he couldn’t seat us. Not sure how this was our problem, but there you go. Dinner reservations are often used as a helpful planning tool. Here, not so much, I think. So off we went to a wicker couch on the porch so we could watch our fellow guests order their food and drinks and actually receive them, though our measly cocktails took 30 minutes. Oh goodness, I just don’t know. And be sure to note that the wine is served in a very skimpy pour…. Overall, the food at Dinner was ok, not unlike breakfast. But I’ll warn you – don’t get excited about the risotto; it’s really just Near East pilaf that sat in the pot too long.
And OK, while I’m on a bit of a rant, the hotel manager really is a very lovely European gent, but seemed to be in a bit of a fog sometimes. For example, we noted before arriving that there was a hot tub for our enjoyment. What a lovely after-dinner diversion! We went looking for it, aided by the directions of a couple of helpful staff members. On the deck by that red building, they said. Just a short walk, they said. Right. So we wandered around that red building for a while, fruitless in our search for the tub of hotness, then snagged a staffer who had the ill fortune to walk by in our moment of exasperation. He fled inside to find out what was what and several minutes later, the manager emerged to inform us (at great length, I must add) that the hot tub had been removed, and why. We did not care why. Nope. Not even a little bit. We did ask however, why his staff seemed to believe it still existed, since they had most helpfully provided us with directions. He was confused. He had changed the brochures and website, apparently. I guess the staff was on their own to figure stuff out. Oy vey.
OK, enough ranting. The dining experiences were not great. And there was the hot tub scavenger hunt. But there were many good things about the Inn at Thorn Hill too. The therapists in the little but lovely downstairs spa were excellent – Dawn and Jen gave excellent hot stone massages -- those gals were the real deal. Awesome.
And our room was fan-youknowwhat-tastic. We sprang for the suite upgrade and stayed in the Tuckerman suite. The photos on the site do not do this lovely suite justice. Just lovely. Spacious, beautiful. Bedding was great, nice furniture. Huge tub, big enough for a small elephant to have a soak. Steam shower – how exotic. And spotlessly clean, all of it. Nice little fridge and wet bar, by the way.
So, to summarize, this is a really lovely destination. Fantastic things: location, room, view, porch, comfy bar, staff. Not so fantastic: Food, waitstaff (too few), Klaus the manager, who spent too much time explaining why something was wrong instead of fixing it. (Did I mention there was no house phone in our room? Want to know why? Neither did we…) SO: set your expectations accordingly, find a great place to dine nearby, enjoy the porch and your suite. And the hot tub! Oh, wait….

Room Tip: The suite was totally worth the extra we paid
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PamelaHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Pamela Helen

Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay at our Inn.
We appreciate very much you pointing out Meghan our Guest Service Director who gave you a detailed tour of the property at your arrival.
We are also very happy to hear how much you enjoyed dining on wrap around porch and the added attraction of "Bob"our bear who indeed is handsome and he knows it. I am reviewing all your comments and suggestions carefully and thank your for mention them.
Your comments about the exceptional cleaneliness and the comfort of our rooms is something we take great pride in it and our housekeeping staff is the best one can have all the credit goes to them.
Our Spa services are the best in the area and thank you for pointing out Dawn and Jen and how as you said it best " " those were the real deal"

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited the inn for three days. The architecture and landscaping are impressive and the decor of the inn is upscale and elegant, yet comfortable and relaxing. Our room was spacious and beautiful. (We did not have a view of the mountains.) The large bathroom was stylish and impeccably clean.

One thing that impressed us was the concern and attention paid to my food allergies by dining room staff. I had called the inn to discuss this prior to arrival and they took great care to see that I had wonderful dining experiences. We enjoyed a delighful dinner and two very nice breakfasts. We were fortunate to enjoy great weather, and dining on the beautiful wrap-around porch was a treat! We interacted with several staff in the dining room and lounge and want to mention that Carlos was a star! His welcoming approach, great smile and professionalism were top notch.
The Inn host, Klaus, was very attentive to detail and had great rapport with guests.

The two of us enjoyed massages at the spa. The atmosphere was relaxing and we were refreshed and mellow at the end - thank you to the two congenial and skilled spa staff who provided the massages!

One disappointing factor involves the dress code for dinner. We had been told that "business casual" was required. That was fine with us as the inn is elegant and one would expect guests to dress nicely. We were surprised that several guests wore shorts or other very casual clothing. Dining in the lounge would be a good option for those who prefer to be very casual.

Our first (but hopefully not our last!) visit to the inn was overall a wonderful experience. We appreciated the hospitality shown to us and will happily recommend this lovely place to friends.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have a mountain view . . .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_on_the_go_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Annie_on_the_go
It is a pleasure to read your comments about our Inn and how much you enjoyed you stay.
Klaus indeed is an excellent Innkeeper and his team that supports him deserve the credit for your excellent experience. We also very much appreciate your comments in regards to Carlos as he is one of a kind and very personable.
I am also happy to hear that our staff took care of your request in regards to the food allergies and you enjoyed your dining on our beautiful porch.

Looking forward to host another stay of yours in the near future.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent 4 nights in July. On a quiet street (an excellent bypass road around traffic delays). We stayed in a suite on a top floor with a street view - bedroom, living room and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi and steam shower. Suits are $50 more per night, and are worth it. On chilly nights the fireplace (between bedroom and LR) warms the place in 5 mins.
The hotel is one of the nicest in Jackson. We had dinner at two others and Thorn Inn is definitely more classy and sophisticated. Dark wood paneling, nice lounge, library. Lots of space to relax. Huge wrap around porch for dinner / breakfast and lounging. The clientele tends to be older and wealthier.
Breakfast is excellent. Served on the porch. Different homemade muffins every day. Try the Egg Benedict. Yes, its calorific, but you are on vacation. And if you linger long enough in the morning you may see Bob - the patriarch of the local bear family. Bob often comes around - walks up the road, then to the garbage containers (the are locked,but he still tries) and then around the porch to the back. Sometime, Momma Bear with two cubs visits instead.
Dinner is very satisfactory, but will not be as memorable as the hotel itself (or breakfast!)
The hotel is about 25 mins from numerous hiking trails in White Mountains, but to get information and maps you will need to drive to AMC Highland Center and Crawford Notch (most of the trails start around there) - hotels concierge is best for information on non-physical activities. Overall, a very memorable stay

Room Tip: Get a suite in main inn
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ella_RM

Thank you for your review and your very nice description of our Inn. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We try very hard to keep it as you said it best " Classy and rich"
to make it a special place for couples to get away and enjoy a relaxing time. I am happy to hear you also met Bob and some of our other visitors from the woods.

Looking forward to host you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Heidi & Gunther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned from our second wonderful visit to The Inn at Thorn Hill. We have been to many beautiful New England inns, and Thorn Hill is most certainly one of the best.

The rooms are spacious and have gas fireplaces and lovely furnishings. Our bathroom was enormous with a walk-in shower and jacuzzi tub. The large wrap-around porch is inviting for reading, chatting or just relaxing. The restaurant serves gourmet dinners, fine wines and unusual, as well as traditional, cocktails. Scamp, the bartender, is fantastic, and noted for her
innovative martinis. The entire staff is warm and welocming.

We plan to return to The Inn at Thorn Hill soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhillowner, Owner at The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear RosemaryK

Thank you for being a loyal guest and and all your kind comments about our Inn.
Scamp indeed is one of the very best especially when it comes to Martini's. You comments about our welcoming staff is very much appreciated as they are the ones who ultimately make the Inn what it is today.
Thank you again
Kindest Regards

Heidi & Gunther Zweimuller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews