We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for two nights the week of Oct 4 & 5 in 2013. Very charming, beautiful view from room 115 which faces the golf course and mountain view. We played 9 holes on their golf course which was great. We ate at the bar for lunch which was priced rite and very good. There was a wedding going on that weekend but no disruptions. They are managed by a new company who continues to make repairs and update the property. We will be back!

Room Tip: Must overlook the golf course and mountain view. Rooms 110 to 116 and same on the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a very old, wooden country inn. The view, particularly in the fall, is fantastic. It's in a semi-secluded area, a most relaxing place to stay. The rooms are rather small, the sprinkler system is made up of exposed pipes throughout, the elevator is ancient, the floors creak a little and are not perfectly level............all of which adds to the rustic, historic charm of this place. Didn't play the nine-hole golf course, but it looked like fun. Easy drive (not walk) to area restaurants. Know what to expect before you reserve here. If you're expecting tons of modern amenities, you'll be disappointed. We loved it and will definitely stay again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kycuzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our dog as they have dog-friendly rooms. It is a charming old hotel, perhaps in need of some repair on outside on building, but our room was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good, the only complaint being the rather loud waitresses who were milling about setting up tables, even shouting at times!! I complained to the hotel about this. We ate in the bar one evening and the food was pretty good too, with a good choice of beers.
Lovely setting and nice to sit on the old verandah with a drink at the end of the day relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel still retains it charm and beauty from by-gone eras. It IS a quaint, old rustic New England Hotel, five minutes from Jackson Center. It's at the top of a very steep hill, so don't plan on walking to and from Jackson (unless you're into cardio-walking). We stayed in a 2 room suite . . small functional living area with couch, chairs, and TV. A small bedroom (no TV) with comfortable bed and attached bathroom. WiFi available and worked fine. All rooms were rustic, tastefully appointed, and clean. Yes, there is quite a bit of exposed piping, both for heating and fire protection. (I, for one, don't mind seeing a large number of exposed sprinkler heads in an old, large, four story wood frame hotel.) The one elevator is a little "balky", and the floors do creak and the surrounding area is extremely quiet, so you will hear your neighbors moving around and some occasional conversation in the hallways. Again, know what you're looking for.

The surrounding grounds are well maintained and the porch on the entire side of the front has rocking chairs and very pleasant to sit out and enjoy the scenery. We did use the golf course twice. The staff was pleasant and honest. Stated their greens were not in good shape. And they weren't. Still, a fun little course, not overly hard, and scenic as many holes run along a small mountain stream. If you're a little more picky, try Wentworth in Jackson.

We were there for three nights and had a blast. Ate in the dining room once and the food was fine and service excellent. They have a very quaint tavern off the lobby and we enjoy having an evening night cap at the bar. The only service glitch was on the second nite, the tavern was packed and you can eat there as well. There was only one bartender and she was also the waitress for those eating there as well as making drinks for the main dining room and the tavern as well. Suffice to say, service was terrible on this night and a few frayed tempers. But that might have been a one night thing.

This is NOT a modern luxury facility with quiet elevators, large rooms, flat screen TV's, etc. In fact, you can't have coffee pots in the room (fire regulation), So if that's what you want, this may not be the place for you. But if you're looking for a nice charming "throw-back-in-time" hotel clean rooms, good food, and reasonable service, give this place a try. We did, and we'll go back.

Room Tip: Rooms / suites on the front of the building have nice mountain views - but are also on the street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed one night at Eagle Mountain House in October 2013. It is a quaint, 100+ year old property with lovely views off the front veranda or front facing rooms. The lobby, reading room, bar and restaurant on the main floor are also very nice.

The first problem we had, however, is that we had reserved a "view" suite. Further, we called from North Conway at 1pm to ask whether or not we should come directly to check in, or do our activities in North Conway, train ride, etc, and then come up and check in. We knew they were sold out for the night, and wanted to make sure we got a good room, we told the desk clerk. He said, no worries. Our room was confirmed and paid for, so they wouldn't give it away. I asked him to "PLEASE MARK OUR FILE. WE WILL BE THERE!"

We rested assured, did our North Conway activities for the afternoon and into the early evening, and made our way to Eagle Mountain for a 6:30pm check in. Well, the SOB's gave away our room! No kidding!

And then we got to the NO VIEW SUITE they had left for us, the last room in the place, the desk clerk told us, it looked out on a back courtyard of the hotel and was extremely dated. Actually, extremely dated is being generous. Our suite looked like it had last been updated in the 1960s, complete with a saggy couch, 19" tube TV and all. The mechanicals/plumbing were all cranky and loud; eg. when you flushed our toilet it sounded like a 747 was landing on the building.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was very tasty! I had the crock of onion soup and the pot sticker appetizer; my wife had the Soup of the Day, tomato bisque, and a half order of pappardelle pasta with chicken. Unfortunately, that night my wife got sick, so we had a 747 landing ALL NIGHT LONG! Between that, and the tiny, dated, double bed, neither of us sleep worth a lick. By the next day, we were both sick, making our drive to Burlington, VT extra long.

Obviously, we do not recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikie376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed at the Eagle Mountain House in August. The surroundings were picture-perfect; and there is a long, long porch from which you can view them; the hotel is a short and delightful walk from the town of Jackson, with restaurants and entertainment- but dining in the hotel was like eating at a New York restaurant. The breakfast buffet was lavish.
As in all historic hotels, the public rooms are elegant (in this case rustic elegance) but the guest rooms (at least mine) are somewhat basic, but spacious enough and clean. The golf course is directly across the country road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscillaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just spent a long weekend at the Eagle Mountain House on our "Babymoon". I have to say, this is exactly what we were looking for. As some of the other reviews acknowledge, the inn is situated away from town on a hill overlooking spectacular New Hampshire scenery (rolling hills, the golf course, mountains in the distance). If you walk down the road to the right, you'll find a beautiful rocky river with waterfalls, if you walk to the left it's forests, groves, and rolling fields. That said, if you're looking to be in the center of the action; walking distance to shops and restaurants, then this is not for you. But remember, a 10 to 20 minute scenic drive is all it takes to reach these attractions. The Mount Washington Auto Road is only 20 minutes or so away!

The Inn itself is lovely. The lobby is full of beautiful polished wood, a fireplace, and sitting areas in front of giant picture windows that face the mountains. You receive an actual key to your room...not one of those throw away cards. We stayed in a standard room which was more than acceptable; clean and tastefully furnished. We felt a bit like we were staying in a cozy guest room at our grandparent's house. I noticed that a few guests complained about the window AC units and old school TV's...well, if that's what defines a great hotel for you, go stay at the Marriott in North Conway. I read one particularly ridiculous review about how the owners must not care about the integrity of the hotel because they haven't updated the building to include central AC. Seriously? The place was built in the early 1900's. It would have to be demolished and rebuilt to include central AC, which would totally ruin the charm.

The staff was great and I highly recommend including the hot buffet breakfast with your package. At $11.95 per person it was a steal and it'll more than likely suffice to fulfill your breakfast AND lunch appetite.

We had absolutely no problems with cell phone service by the way, and the inn offers free wifi (if your phone has LTE you'll find it's a bit faster than the wifi).

The bottom line - if you're looking for the atmosphere of a charming, historic inn in a beautiful, quiet, scenic location, then this place is for you. If you're all about flat screen tv's, contemporary furniture, renovated this and that, sterile lackluster environments with fresh paint and new carpets...like I said above, go stay at the Marriott in North Conway. Or, at the very least, keep your negative comments to yourself because this place never claimed to have or be any of those things.

OH, and we're not into golf but if you are, the golf course is absolutely beautiful! If I were to take up golf it would be at the Eagle Mountain House, preferably in the fall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLynne502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
879 reviews
1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £70 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing