We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Eagle has landed.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the historic Eagle Mountain House in Jackson NH for a few days last week and really enjoyed it. We love to cross country ski and knew that the Jackson ski trail system comes right up to the front porch. This grand old hotel is a touch worn and if you demand super posh look elsewhere. It is a comfortable old New England country resort that features true Yankee hospitality at a good value. The Eagle Mountain House is for practical people on an adventure. Order the great custom made omlets at the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: The south end is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel was built in the 1800's and has lots of old time charm. Cool architectural features galore. It may be the best that the town of Jackson has to offer. But there is no way that it should be receiving 4 stars unless a couple of them are sentimental. Thread bare, stained carpets, peeling paint and wallpaper, super plain (sort of rustic, dumpy actually) rooms and 19" inch tube TV's are not in 4 star accommodations.

Surely it is difficult to keep up with a large hotel that was built a long time ago but management here should be shooting for a top to bottom clean, paint, polish and shine session. Sorry to note that this hotel needs it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank randaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I will preface this review saying that this is definitely not the Marriott, Hilton or Sheraton, It is a unique property on the Historic Hotel register. These hotels should be appreciated for what they are, part of our American history. We have been coming to The Eagle Mountain House for over 30 years, with and without children. We just got back from a mid week winter visit. Haven't been there for the past few years, I would have to say the hotel itself was looking better than I remember. The lobby, dining room, public spaces looked updated, warm and welcoming.. Our room was on the second floor 122 and had two large windows, two beds small TV, chair and footstool for reading and an adequate bathroom with tub and shower. Everything was clean, the beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of towels and extra blankets in the closet. There was a thermostat that we could adjust in the room and electric baseboard heating. As we went midweek, the hotel was not crowded at all. We spent a lot of time in front of the fireplace in the lobby area just reading and conversing with the couple that came with us. We also spent time in the adjacent small game/music room where we enjoyed picking out tunes on the piano. We were able to buy our cross country ski tickets right at the desk and go across the street to pick up the Jackson cross country touring trails that are tracked and groomed several times a day. The first day was beautiful and sunny, the next day we had a foot of snow. Nothing could be better than watching the snow fall across the valley from the warmth and safety of the hotel. As mentioned in several other reviews, the hotel restaurant was not up to par. It was not open either night perhaps since there were so few clients in house (or lack of staff?) Breakfast both mornings was off the menu. The first morning, the service was extremely slow, the second, much faster. We chose to eat dinner off site the first night but since we were in the middle of a snow storm, stayed put and ate in the bar while the snow swirled right outside the windows. The food was good, not great. However, I would still give this hotel and excellent rating. You just can't beat the location, views, and old fashion ambience and charm. We do truly feel that we step back in time and enjoy the moments of simple pleasure every time we come here.

Room Tip: Go mid week for best deals and less crowds. It is less expensive to skip the bed & breakfast an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank druid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Eagle Mountain House is a classic old hotel in a spectacular location in Jackson, New Hampshire. You have to be ready for "old" and "classic"-- don't expect new, or fancy. If you're okay with this then you're in for a treat. The hotel is comfortable (there's a large public area on the first floor with a fireplace and easy chairs), the staff is super friendly, and the rooms are cozy. My room was on the third floor, under the eaves-- small, but fine, with a recently renovated bathroom. I was in Jackson for cross country skiing and the trails are right there in front of the hotel-- so no need to get in the car. Perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I have been visiting Eagle Mtn House for the last four years. We return every winter (or spring!) and always look forward to our stay. I felt compelled to write a review following our last visit because in a lot of ways the hotel was as great as ever but with one area that we feel needs improvement, especially because it used to be one of our favorite things about the hotel. On a positive note:

Property: historic, perfect location, with beautiful views of the White Mtns. We love that Eagle Mtn is tucked up a windy road - away from the highway but not a far drive from downtown North Conway. In front of the hotel is a golf course - in the winter it is home to amazing xcountry skiing and snowshoeing trails. In the spring, we've hiked around the trails and just walked around the course with our dog, Howie. It is absolutely beautiful, amazing view (I can imagine it's awesome in the Fall with the foliage as well!)

Lobby: welcoming and homey. We love that it hasn't changed very much over the years. It has authentic decorations

Rooms: they are simple, not fancy. Small TV, basic bathroom - but we love it. You truly feel like you're getting away when you stay here. The rooms are always clean but still have a bit of rustic, worn character. If you're looking for upscale, this is not the place. However, I consider myself a picky person, and I appreciate the charm of these rooms. And like I said, they're clean and the bed/bedding is always super comfy!

Other amenities: my husband and I always enjoy the old school game room with pacman and buck hunter machines. We love to bring a couple drinks downstairs and hang out after dinner. They also have pool and ping pong tables.

Although we've never used them, there is also a gym area and hot tub. Again, everything is a bit old, but we appreciate the charm and we think the owners keep things up well

This hotel is also pet friendly, we love that. We like to bring our small dogs - they love to hike with us (we typically find low-traffic trails because dogs aren't welcome on all xcountry trails, understandably). The cost is $35 extra a night for a pet

Our 1 gripe during our last visit was...the food! We have always LOVED Eagle Mtns breakfast. Amazing waffles, delicious hash. But for some reason, this time, they had a buffet-style breakfast - the food just wasn't the same. Additionally, we went to the pub for dinner...a place we usually love. I ordered a salad and soup. The soup came 30 mins late and was rather tasteless. In the past, we've been wowed with the food - even when the hotel wasn't busy (and you'd worry the kitchen was slow or perhaps the food wouldn't be as fresh), we have LOVED the food. Not this time though. I will say though, our waitress was nice and the drinks were great. And nothing beats the charm and coziness of the pub. We ended up venturing off property for breakfast on Sunday - to Yesterday's, it was delicious. The thing is though, it's nice to stay on property for meals, especially when it gets late in the day. We hope Eagle Mtn goes back to their old menu/style

We definitely recommend this Eagle Mtn - any season! But realize it is an older hotel - it's not trying to be fancy and we appreciate that. It's truly a getaway spot and it's affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaches1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was our first winter stay at Eagle Mountain House, and it made us realize just how important the hotel's front porch is! The indoor sitting areas just aren't as nice: the bar is crowded and overwhelmed by two TV screens; the few places to sit in the communal living rooms are quickly taken up; and the small sitting area in our room was without windows and a bit gloomy. Food service in both the dining room and bar was incredibly slow; one particular server in the bar was rude-bordering-on-nasty. Quality of the food in the dining room for both dinner and breakfast was no better than okay; the bar menu is your best shot. And there were little things about our room that eventually wore on our nerves: the humming bedside lamp, the noisy refrigerator. It's a wonderfully funky old hotel with great nooks and crannies, located in a fabulous part of the world, but I suggest staying when it's not winter and you can spend most of your time outdoors--especially on that great front porch!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here in October as part of a group. The hotel is set in a lovely area, and it made a refreshing change from staying in the usual chain hotels. The views from the verandah rocking chairs were beautiful. Some people complained that people moving about at night kept them awake because of the creaky floors - the whole building certainly creaked but it didn't give us a problem. The breakfast was wonderful, the evening meals were good too. A couple of things stop me from giving this a higher score. Firstly, on arrival we were offered tea, coffee and biscuits. We took our cases up to our room, when we got back five minutes later all the refreshments had gone and so had all the staff so there wasn't anyone to ask for replacements. Worse than that, though, was the deliberate rudeness of one of the bar staff. It wasn't just that it was difficult to get served even when we were the only people waiting, it was a truly hostile manner of serving and at one point we were told that 'it was not allowed' to take drinks out of the bar into the dining room. No explanation for this. We were not permitted to move a chair to another table when another of our group joined us (fire regulations apparently, although we were not near any doorways or blocking anyone's path). A shame because it detracted from a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennybEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing