We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife - the views from the hotel are stunning and the staff are very friendly. The hotel is very tired and dated which is part of its charm but also a little disappointing. The food was good in both the bar and the restaurant. Definite 10 out of 10 for the views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Had a wonderful weekend at Eagle Mountain House! We arrived after a day of skiing at Cranmore (about 15 minutes from hotel). Check-in was quick and smooth and by the time that we left the front desk, we were extremely well-informed about the hotel, its amenities and the restaurant.
Our room was VERY charming and extremely clean with all the amenities that you needed...probably THE BEST shower I've ever had! The bed was extremely comfortable and made for a terrific night's sleep.
Per the advice of the Front Office Team, we made reservations at their restaurant, Highfields. Service was quick and engaging by our server, Caine. We asked Caine what his favorite meal was and he was quick to reply that it was the Steak Frites...I can see why!!! We both ordered the Steak Frites and it was one of the best steaks I've ever had. Simply perfect! I highly recommend the crème brulee for dessert. Dinner was topped off by a visit from the General Manager to, "just check in".
Highly recommend Eagle Mountain House and Highfields!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Darrin:
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that were able to live up to your expectations. We try hard to do this for every guest.

I was nice to meet you at dinner as well.
See you again soon.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Inn is charming and classic. We checked in as a walk in on a Sunday afternoon. Very few guests that night. We were not offered any type of upgrade despite no one there. We also forgot ski poles so asked the evening front desk attendant if we could borrow some. The answer was "NO" -we don't. No eye contact, no suggestions, nothing. Nice Inn that needs some inservicing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devilsfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I am glad that you found our property charming and classic. We try to keep it as such.

I am sorry that our front desk was not able to offer your some suggestions. We certainly have discussed this and will have some ideas for guests in the future.

As for upgrades, we are not always available to upgrade, even in slower times. These are often when we can do some maintenance in our units.

Thanks again for your comments and for staying with us.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a ski weekend. It has a lot of historical architectural elements to it including beautiful woodwork, registration desk, and incredibly, its original (working) elevator. I only wish the guest rooms were more updated and the lobby fireplaces were actual working fireplaces and not gas. The wallpaper was peeling in my room as an example, and it just seemed like the whole place could use a refresh - though I can imagine It's tough to manage a historical building. But for us, the affordable price, convenience and friendly staff help make our getaway a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsKrisCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I am glad that you had a nice time with us.

We are a wooden building, and gas fireplaces are considerably more safe. So, some years ago, it was advised to make this change.

Please stay tuned, as we are getting close to some renovations that will include our guest rooms. Of course, the ambiance and historic aspects of the property will stay intact.

Thanks again.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed at the Eagle for five years now during NH's February vacation. When you pull up, you feel like you are stepping back in time as the hotel's architecture is beautifully done and it is situated on top of a mountain clearing. You can see Black Mtn Ski area and the surrounding areas. The golf course for sledding, cross country skiing, and snowshoeing in the winter is literally right across the street. The trails are part of the extensive Jackson Ski Touring trails, so you can ski for miles! The lobby is very nostalgic and relaxing; there is always a fire going in the fire place, there is a quaint board and card game room, which also has a fireplace. The bar is adorable and cozy and there is a huge dining room as well. Food is reasonable and great, staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit outdated, but spacious. The walls are a bit thin, but we just bring our portable white noise maker to block out early risers and late comers around us. There is a workout center, hot tub, changing rooms, arcade room with pool table and ping pong (free). There is also a place to do laundry if needed. Downtown Jackson is not far at all for other good restaurants and things to do. We love coming here every year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the first floor as there is a really old elevator, so it's easier to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CH4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian B, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for all your nice comments. We appreciate your continued business and am happy that we continue to provide you a nice play to spend some time away.

We agree that we are like stepping back in time. Our up coming renovations will keep this feeling while giving some areas an upgrade.

Thanks again.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked the Eagle Mountain House on expedia for a last minute overnight ski outing and could not have been happier! We arrived at the Eagle Mountain on a late cold snowy night and it was exactly everything we hoped for... Quaint and cozy and exuding old world charm. Enjoyed the snow covered resort in the mountains.
The fab: Great fireplace room for playing games and enjoying wine. Good selections of games as well. Cozy rooms. Close to the town of North Conway and ski resorts, great buffet breakfast. Wonderful friendly staff.

Not so Fab: historic property so don't expect Ritz accommodations.

Plan on visiting in the spring or summer to check out the local hiking.

Overall fab: great spot for a cozy weekend getaway in the mountains. Go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaboTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the historic Eagle Mountain House in Jackson NH for a few days last week and really enjoyed it. We love to cross country ski and knew that the Jackson ski trail system comes right up to the front porch. This grand old hotel is a touch worn and if you demand super posh look elsewhere. It is a comfortable old New England country resort that features true Yankee hospitality at a good value. The Eagle Mountain House is for practical people on an adventure. Order the great custom made omlets at the breakfast buffet!

Room Tip: The south end is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
861 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £67 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing