We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Splurge”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the Splurge”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited in early May when The Wentworth was running a spring (i.e. mud season) special. We booked the package which included dinner and breakfast -- don't hesitate to go that route, the food and service are very good. A wedding had been scheduled the night before and were late in leaving the Amster building where we were booked, so they upgraded us to the Fairlawn. (thank you!) A steam shower, a private hot tub on the balcony, and a comfy terry robe that really does fit most - a review could really stop there, but the entire suite was well done. The photos from The Wentworth are accurate - the suite is decorated like one imagines an English manor house, there is a gas fireplace directly across from the bed, and the lighting takes the room from work friendly to romantic at the flick of a switch. There were three televisions (one on the deck with the hot tub), and a window seat tempted me to read if we had been there more than one night. The staff throughout the property are friendly. There was construction happening on Monday, but we were far enough away that it wasn't distracting. Walk the short distance to the falls on the river, it is worth the stroll. Without the leaves on the trees, the views along the length of the hill to the Upper Falls made up for it.

Room Tip: 707 has a view of the road through a charming town and the main Inn. Private hot tub on your balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermont19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your upgrade to the Fairlawn Hot Tub Suite. We are currently building twelve more hot tub suites due to be completed in July of this year and I am glad that the construction did not cause you any inconvenience.
Thank you again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    170
    50
    27
    17
See reviews for
103
556
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I have been going to The Wentworth for several years now and we just love it. I happened upon this beautiful country Inn when we were out sightseeing one day in NH. We were actually on our way to see another hotel when I spotted The Wentworth and told my husband to stop the car! I was in love! The epitome of a gracious old Victorian Country Inn. So romantic and so full of history. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The dining room is charming and the food delicious! We try to always reserve a room with an outdoor hot tub. The hot tub is actually situated on your own private balcony and it is divine! Wonderful to soak in first thing in the morning or after dinner looking at the stars. Do yourself a favor and go!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Holly G:

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Wentworth. We are always quite pleased to hear that we were able to make our guests' stay with us enjoyable. Our hot tub rooms are quite unique - and we are currently building 12 more hot tub suites, hopefully you can try them out during your next stay!

Looking forward to your next stay!
- Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Wentworth last weekend. We stayed 2 nights last year and we enjoyed it so much we had to add another night to our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the Fairlawn hot tub suite both times. The food at breakfast and dinner were excellent. My wife and I had dinner one night at the Wentworth. Usually at a fine dining restaurant, the food is very good but you leave still hungry - not here. My wife had the salmon and I enjoyed the lobster risotto. We are looking forward to going next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmac5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our Inn - we look forward to your return visit!
- Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just stayed at the Wentworth this past weekend. We had a hot tub room in the Arden and it was beautiful. The was for our 10th anniversary and we couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, the food excellent, the hot tub amazing. The only con to our trip was the bed was too hard for us since my husband has had 2 back surgeries. If the bed were softer it would have be great but that will not deter us from coming back again. Thank you for a great anniversary.

Room Tip: The Arden rooms with the outdoor hot tub are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Dan B:
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here at The Wentworth! It is an honor to have been a part of making your weekend special. I look forward to your next visit!
- Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Half way into the appetizer my friend and I were sharing on the evening of April 12, I had the crazed impulse to stand up and yell at the other diners: "Stop what you're eating -- GET THE PORK BELLY CONFIT (with Roasted Grapes, and Maple Bourbon Onion Jam!)" Pork belly? Who knew? I'd never had it before & wasn't sure I wanted to try it...but (as I told the waitress) they're always doing it on Top Chef, so why not take a chance. Well, we had to order a second plate of it.
And, yes, the rest of the meal was also great. A really lovely evening in a special place. Thanks, chef!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Barbara S:
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our Pork Belly Confit appetizer! We source as many of our ingredients from local suppliers as possible, the freshness of the ingredients makes all the difference (along with the talents of Chef Neal Myers, of course!). This is one of the new additions to our spring menu. Looking forward to hosting you for dinner again! - Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday overnight here. It's the second time we've been and it was even better than the first.
We stayed in the Fairlawn Cottages across the street in Room 705. Located on the 2nd floor we had a wonderful gas fireplace, a great steam shower and a full size hot tub in a separate room.
Our dinner was included and everything from the décor, to the service-(our waitress Rachel was outstanding. Very personable and pleasant to talk with.)to the meal were fantastic. The breakfast the next morning was also quite pleasant and very filling. Everything about this place says casual elegance and even the piano bar is a lot of fun for an after dinner drink. You won't find children running through the establishment, it's not really that type of place, but you will find a relaxed atmosphere where you can sit and have a drink, do some reading or try your luck at their pool table. We will definitely be going back. We've decided to make this one of our must visit places when we go up north.

Room Tip: If it's within your budget and you want something very romantic book a room with the full size h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Patty V:
Thank you for your great review of our Fairlawn Suites and our dining room. We look forward to your next birthday celebration with us!
- Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Rutland, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The dream stay. We were greeted at every turn by an incredible staff that were extremely hospitable. Our room the Arden King was absolutely the most comfortable room we have ever stayed in. Everything about the Wentworth was amazing. The dinner in the restaurant was above all a swim in heaven. The food was exquisite, our server was an exceptional young lady that put our dinner over the top. The bed was so comfortable it was difficult to not want to stay in. The room overall very clean, kudos to the staff behind the scenes. We thank everyone there for the most enjoyable, relaxing, and just purely serene time ever spent away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb A, Front Office Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear j a:
What a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - we do hope to see you again in the near future!
- Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
6.5 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson
The Wentworth Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing